JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Feature request for RMIR (an will require an RDF change)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:01 am    Post subject: Feature request for RMIR (an will require an RDF change) Reply with quote

I'd like to have a way to have a pull down with a list of options that will then load a specific hex byte or bytes into one or more spots in memory. I think I asked this before when I want ed to have optional blinking behavior on the shift buttons in the extenders (i.e. blink, turn on until shift clears, nothing) but also wanted to do some other stuff as well.

Ideally it would have an address, a number of bytes and a numerated list of options to put in the UI and the bytes to put in those spots

for example:

$ 1234 = {on: 7B 02; Off: FF FF}

Selecting On would store $7B at $1234 and $02 at $1235

$0850 = {Blink: 45 32; On: 45 3D; None: 45 32}

Selecting Blink would store $45 $32 at $0850/851


the UI would show "On" and "Off" or "Blink, On, None"


Similar would be a way to have the shift key not be a hex value but a list of keys from the key list in the pick list.


Thoughts?
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've caught me at a good time Very Happy . Done, though needs more testing. Will be in next build. I've done it as an extension of [Settings], so it will appear in the Settings table with an RDF [Settings] entry like

Code:
UncleMiltieTest=$0031.0.0.0.0 ( Aa:$12 $34; Bb:$56 $78 )

The dot-separated values are ByteAddr, BitNo, NumBits, InitValue, Inverted. ByteAddr is the address, BitNo is ignored, NumBits must be 0 (this indicates the new syntax), InitValue is the index in the list of the initial value, and Inverted is ignored.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was fast!

Is the byte list an arbitrary length or is it fixed at 2 bytes. Right now it doesn't matter given what I'm trying to do but it would be great if it were arbitrary.

Guess I need to go fetch (when ready) and see if this works for me.

Thanks
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The byte length is arbitrary, and indeed need not even be the same for all the alternatives in a single setting.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for clarification: Does the index start at zero or one?
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zero.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For further clarification, since IR.exe would cry foul at such an entry, I have made RMIR accept multiple [Settings] sections, which are treated as concatenated, and treat [Settings+] as an equivalent name. So you can keep the existing [Settings] section and add a new [Settings+] section with any new entries, so making IR.exe ignore the new entries.

The next build will also include a revised addendum to the RDF Spec that documents this new addition. You will find it in the Docs subfolder of the installation folder.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This feature, and the revised RDF Spec Addendum, is now in RMIR v2.03 Alpha 28 build 13. Please test it and let me know if it meets your needs.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:27 pm    Post subject: Testing build 13 Reply with quote

Hi Graham,
I downloaded build 13 and have used it with my RCRP05B and RS15-100. Nothing broken as far as I have found. Eventually going to purchase another remote as we are upgrading some hardware and will be able to test a little more extensively.
Tom
_________________
Tom Carlson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't seem to work for me...


About says RemoteMaster v2.03 Alpha 28 build 13

MacOS X Yosemite



This is what my RDF says:

Code:

[Settings+]
Interruptable_Pause  =$08EF.0.0.0.0 (Enabled: $7B $02; Disabled: $FF $FF)


The element shows up in the settings pane, I can select the enable or disable but the data in the raw data tab doesn't seem to change
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unclemiltie wrote:
The element shows up in the settings pane, I can select the enable or disable but the data in the raw data tab doesn't seem to change

I suspect that something is overwriting the same bytes. Remember that RMIR parses the setup data and then reconstructs it from the parsed data. This complete reconstruction is repeated when anything is changed. The Settings data is written before almost everything else, so macros, keymoves, etc. and device and protocol upgrades would all overwrite settings data if they wrote to the same bytes.

Normally there is no overlap in the bytes written to by these various sets of data but I suspect you are trying to modify the data written by one of them. Could you explain in more detail what you are trying to achieve, and post a .rmir file that I can test it with?
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the LED behavior in the extender what I am doing is patching in the address of a subroutine the remote to change the behavior from "LED on after shift" to "NO LED after shift" to "blink after shift"

The extender has a CALL into the ROM to do this and the selection will change the address that the CALL goes to.

I don't think there is anything that would be overwriting this since the extender code isn't touched anywhere else

(Same goes for the interruptible pause)

I can send you an RMIR file as well as a RDF so you can test. PM me your email, I don't seem to have it anymore.
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3193
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unclemiltie wrote:
The element shows up in the settings pane, I can select the enable or disable but the data in the raw data tab doesn't seem to change

Bill, thanks for the actual files. The solution is simple. Like all addresses in an RDF, they are relative to the start of the E2 area, so $08EF should be $02EF etc. With this change, it all works.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1774
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grrrr.


I thought about that while I was driving the other day and then promptly forgot about it.


Thanks
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central