JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Q: DecodeIR license terms?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
leamas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:49 am    Post subject: Q: DecodeIR license terms? Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm a newbie and have probably missed a lot of things. That said: While I understand that DecodeIR is free to use in a broad sense(?), I'm wondering about the more exact conditions. Is this in public domain (anyone can do anything with it), or is it distributed with some kind of license such as MIT or GPL?

This is important if someone wants to make DecodeIR part of Linux distributions such as Debian or Fedora.
mathdon
Expert

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DecodeIR was originally developed by John S Fine (johnsfine) and all versions up to 2.36 of Apr 15, 2007 were due to him. Modifications and extensions to produce versions up to 2.41 of May 25, 2010 were due to me (mathdon) and subsequent versions to date by Dave Reed (3FG), the latest of which is 2.44 of Oct 7, 2012.

John Fine never specified the terms under which the binary or its source code were made available. I think this means that a definitive answer to your question would have to come from him. If it were up to me, I would say that it is available under GPL, and am happy for my contributions to be treated as such. I don't think it can be taken as fully public domain. Perhaps John and Dave can give their views also. It would be good to have a definitive answer to the question.
3FG
Expert

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barf had raised this issue earlier, but received no comment.

I'm not an attorney, but I think the following is true in the USA.