JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Please educate a newbie
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benkeser



Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 10:08 pm    Post subject: Discrete ON/OFF EFCs for Motorola QIP-6416 DVR Reply with quote

OK, I have success with Discrete ON/OFF with my Samsung TV and my ONKYO
receiver.

Now, does anybody have the Discrete ON and OFF EFCs for the Verizon CHS435HDC? (FIOS Box)

I have tried the device code 0476/CBL and it works as a remote for the
device, but the remote only has a Power Toggle button.

Thoughts? Answers?

Thank you again!!

Don
_________________
DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6952
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may not be a discrete on/off for this unit. I have not seen any discrete on off for this box.

if you read down this thread they suggest a workaround but that might be your box
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-custom/thread.cgi?15229

Vbova27 suggests
Check the cable box settings menu. Check for "Power On" option. Set it to POWER AND NUMERIC. This will allow the power button AND any number on the keypad to turn the box on. SO.....

0, 0 - Turn the power on
0, 0, Power - Turn the power off

Someone else suggested
0
0, Power
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benkeser



Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:50 am    Post subject: No cookie Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I don't have that option. It looks like I am out of luck.

Thank you for the response.

Don
_________________
DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6952
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does "play" wake your device?

You can try all the unused obcs efcs to see if a discrete exists. I believe mdavej walked you through that procedure when I had on/off bacwabackwards before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3654

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I've never seen discrete on/off on a cable box of any kind. One of the workarounds above is probably your best bet. In cases like this I just leave the box on all the time since the power consumption is the same for on and standby.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benkeser



Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:04 pm    Post subject: Workaround Reply with quote

Well, I have discovered that "Menu" turns the FIOS CHS box "ON".

So, to turn the FIOS ON, I press "Menu, Exit"
.. if FIOS is ON already, the Menu pops up and then exits quickly
.. if FIOS is OFF, it powers on and the exit does nothing

And for OFF, I press "Menu, Power".
.. if FIOS is ON, the Menu pops up and then it quickly powers off
.. if FIOS is OFF, it powers up and quickly turns off

A bit awkward, but worthy of posting
_________________
DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benkeser



Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:01 pm    Post subject: Device Code for Sony CDP CE275 - 5 CD Changer Reply with quote

Anybody have one of these?

Know the device code?

D
_________________
DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6952
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone had one of these, there would/should be an upgrade in our file section, which there isn't.

I take it that none of the Cisco options is working, ie CBL/1877,1982,0877

So the only course of action would be the 991 Searching for your code , as outlined in you manual.

Turn the box on
On the Remote press CBL
The Press and HOLD setup until it blinks twice
Tap 9 9 1 and CBL should blink twice
Press POWER once,
Then Press CH+ until the unit turns off
Press Power and the unit should turn back on and led will blink 2x

Now use the checking your code 990 instructions shown in your instructions to let us know what the code is. We'll try to help you find a better fit if necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3654

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the thread below, it should use CBL 0476.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/complete/thread.cgi?4150

There are no discretes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central