JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Driver installation for JP1.2 1.3 interface
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's what we know about interfaces, I think.

Some Prolific based USB to RS-232 cables don't work with JP1.2 and JP1.3 remotes, because some Prolific chips (or their drivers) don't allow RTS to be manipulated while a Break is being sent. This issue only affects JP1.2 and JP1.3 remotes.

The DIY Gadget Flash cable appears to not work with JP2 (MAXQ610 processor) remotes. See also http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=110741. We don't know why this happens. However, the URC-7960 is a JP1.4 remote which uses the same processor as JP1.3 remotes. User spalter3 had success using a Prolific chipset with the 7960, which tends to suggest that the DIY Gadget cable should work with JP1.4 remotes.

All in all, I'd be inclined to think that Ube_Astard's particular interface is defective. In any case, my opinion is that FTDI based cables are the ones to get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your replies and help guys. I am off work from tomorrow onwards so will post back with any checks and responses as per last few posts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
The one in this post is a good one:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=108649#108649


I have ordered the cable and block as linked by you and await their arrival. However I cant see discussion as to which colour cable goes where in the block. Will this all come clearer and more obvious when they arrive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3575

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wire according to this post:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=108684#108684
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Wire according to this post:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=108684#108684


Thanks. I was hoping for some suggestions as to arranging the pins in the little connector as I cant see pin numbers inside the remote.

Many thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3575

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just find pin 1 (usually marked), and the rest will follow. I don't have a 7960 to look at, but here's one possibility:

Code:

1 2
3 4
5 6


You had to know where pin 1 was to plug in your old cable, so how did you manage that before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would just try the cable both ways till it worked lol.
Sorry for my ignorance but I wasnt sure how the small connector was numbered.

Thanks

mdavej wrote:
Just find pin 1 (usually marked), and the rest will follow. I don't have a 7960 to look at, but here's one possibility:

Code:

1 2
3 4
5 6


You had to know where pin 1 was to plug in your old cable, so how did you manage that before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still need some further help guys as I am unable to confirm my wiring is correct in realterm.
I have tried the wiring as per nejpski and per Revwillie as in my picture


1 2yellow
3black 4green
6white

I have followed the realterm instructions carefully and am able to switch the remote in and out of normal operation, however am getting no further response in the test.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3575

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never used realterm, sorry. Were you able to find pin 1 on your remote? If that's correct, then your connector looks right to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this the cable you bought? Then,
Code:
Black:GND
Red:5V
Green:TXD
White:RXD
Yellow:RTS


The attachment to the cable should be:
Code:
1 - (empty)
2 - RTS-- Yellow
3 - ground --  Black
4 - Rx -- White
5 - (empty)
6 - Tx --Green


So I suspect your green and white wires are reversed. Please be careful to attach no wire to pin 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG I have changed to your suggested as I can confirm that is my cable. Same crap in the test and also in IR the same 'JP12 read failed 0'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
Is this the cable you bought? Then,
Code:
Black:GND
Red:5V
Green:TXD
White:RXD
Yellow:RTS


The attachment to the cable should be:
Code:
1 - (empty)
2 - RTS-- Yellow
3 - ground --  Black
4 - Rx -- White
5 - (empty)
6 - Tx --Green


So I suspect your green and white wires are reversed. Please be careful to attach no wire to pin 5.
Revwillie wrote:
nejpski wrote:
Wire Number \ USE \ OLD COLOR \ NEW COLOR

[1] Ground \ Black \ BLACK

[2] CTS \ Brown \ BLUE (Not connected)

[3] VCC \ Red \ RED (Not connected) 5V

[4] TXD \ Orange \ GREEN

[5] RXD \ Yellow \ WHITE

[6] RTS \ Green \ YELLOW

I'm sorry nejpski, but I found that a little confusing (I'm old, but talk to me like I'm five...)
The JP1.3 pinout by color is:
[1] Empty
[2] Yellow (Yellow)
[3] Black(Black)
[4] Green(Green)
[5] Empty
[6] White(White)



Everyone of these wiring suggestions are different. I have tried them all and I still havent resolved this so firstly I need to know which one is correct for my cable so I am working from a correct start.
I there anyone who can offer suggestions as to what is wrong when I do have the correct cable.
Would help if there was someone nearby I could get help with. I did message a member from Salford which isnt far from me but I got no response back plus he has removed the location from his sig.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3575

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have your cable and successfully used the last pinout (2-Yellow, 3-Black, 4-Green, 6-White). My numbering of your pins was an educated guess. You'll still have to confirm the correct pin numbers. Can you post a picture of the pins on your remote?

Do you have any JP1.3 remotes you can test your cable with?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Stockport UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Here is the pins. This is my first JP1.3, I have a JP1 USB flash cable for 2 older remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3575

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think pin 1 is on the bottom right. So you wiring looks correct to me.

6 5
4 3
2 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central