JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Philips SRP5004 "Perfect replacement" is UEI-like
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:28 pm    Post subject: Philips SRP5004 "Perfect replacement" is UEI-like Reply with quote

I've been a member on here for some time, but my interest in JP1 faded a few years ago after I'd managed to setup a remote that worked well for some years.

Now I have made a discovery that the Philips SRP5004 (and most likely other remotes in their range) is a UEI-like remote.

It's not JP1, but read on to see what/how/why it's UEI-like...


Product page: http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?slg=en&scy=gb&ctn=SRP5004/86

The back story:
I recently bought a new Philips SRP5004 universal remote control to replace a remote of the same type I've been using for a couple of years. The new version contains more up-to-date codes for new brands and devices, and works with my TVonics DTR-HD500. My old version of the remote was not able to learn signals to operate that device.

This remote is almost perfect for me, and here's why:
- just enough buttons, but not too many
- proper chunky rubber buttons, not a touch screen
- buttons have individual shapes and textures for easy operation without looking
- buttons grouped into sections: navigation/menu, playback/transport, numeric pad
- for Freeview the coloured buttons are located with the navigation/menu controls
- supports lots of devices
- learning function, for extra/unsupported devices or just perfecting your setup
- backlit function

I have the remote setup as follows:
TV: Philips 37PFL9603D, worked immediately.
STB: TVonics DTR-HD500, worked with setup code 3080
DVD: Topfield 5800 (all buttons learned from original remote)
VCR: Onkyo HTX-22HD amp, OpenELEC XBMC media centre (buttons from two original remotes learned onto one layout)

Whilst learning commands into the remote it became full, and it occurred to me that it had probably been used prior to me buying it. So, I tried to reset each individual device button - as described in the manual - but failed. At this point it became clear I should do a factory reset, but for some reason the process is not covered in the manual for the SRP5004. After some searching I found information about the factory reset process in the manual for the SRP5107, the 7-device USA version of the remote.

What I describe below is the process described in the USA manual, but with changes to how the SRP5004 European remote behaves during the process. I hope that is useful to somebody else.

Quote:
RESETTING THE ORIGINAL FUNCTIONS OF THE REMOTE CONTROL (FACTORY RESET)
In some cases it may be useful to reset the original functions of the remote control.
E.g. if the remote control memory is full while you wish to set it up for a specific device or learn an extra function to it.
The remote control will then be reset to the default factory settings and all user settings will be deleted.

1. In the current device mode, keep digit buttons 1 and 6 pressed simultaneously for 5 seconds, until the red Setup light lights up.
- The remote control is now in setup mode.
2. Press digit buttons 9, 8 and 1, in that order:
- After each button press the active device light blinks once.
- Nothing will happen for short while as the remote is reset.
- Finally, the TV device button will light up to confirm that the original functions of the remote control were successfully reset. Any extra functions have been deleted.


Somebody going by the name Jezz on Amazon.co.uk commented that the 981 code is used by UEI/JP1 remotes to do a factory/manufacturer reset. Which was enough for me to try a few more things...


Last edited by matt on Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:50 pm; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(992) Mode Map - Re-define a Device Button
This also works, slightly differently to the usual UEI method.

1. Switch to device you would like to remap (eg. VCR)
2. Hold 1 and 6 for a few seconds until the Setup light comes on
3. Type 9,9,2 in that order
4. Press the device button you would like to copy (eg. TV), which will flash to confirm

Then you can use codes for the mapped device (eg. TV) on the remapped button (eg. VCR).

I'll be investigating more functions as I go on.

If anybody has any tips of how to crack the case on this thing open, please let me know.

Thanks,
matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delete Learned Function (996)
(This is usually 976 on UEI remotes)
1. Switch to device you would like to remap (eg. VCR)
2. Hold 1 and 6 for a few seconds until the Setup light comes on
3. Type 9,9,6 in that order
4. Press the button you would like to delete twice. Two blinks of the device key will confirm.


Last edited by matt on Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:48 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll update the google spreadsheet soon.

Recognised
(980) OPS Reset - Clear User Programming
(981) MFR Reset - Restore Factory Defaults
(983) Remote Signature Blink Back
(990) Code Blink Back
(992) Mode Map
(993) Volume Punch Through
(996) Delete Learned Function

Unrecognised
(972) Device Power
(973) Channel Lock
(975) Learning from other remotes
(977) Restore Configuration
(978) Device Specific Macro
(979) Program Home Theater Button
(982) Cable mode lock
(984) Punch Through
(985) CBL Device Multiplexor
(986) Save Configuration
(991) Code Search
(994) Key Mover
(995) Macros
(997) Modem upgrade procedure
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OPENING THE REMOTE CONTROL
You will need:
1. a small philips/cross head screw driver
2. a piece of thin, hard plastic (an old credit/debit/store/points card or guitar pick)
3. some time and patience

Important: you will not need to use your hands to separate the halves until the very end of the process.

Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/emsef/sets/72157632071625779/detail/

1. Remove the battery cover
2. Remove the two batteries
3. Remove the small philips screw
4. Store all four items safely together
5. Hold the remote with the buttons facing you, looking at the bottom/battery end
6. Insert the corner of your plastic into the gap between halves of the remote and push
7. Work your way around the corner of the remote
8. Work your way down one side of the remote, stop at the front
9. Work your way down the other side of the remote, stop at the front
10. Gently separate the two halves where they are joined at the front
11. Remove the back of the remote
12. Remove the circuit board
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cauer29



Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

matt wrote:
OPENING THE REMOTE CONTROL
You will need:
1. a small philips/cross head screw driver
2. a piece of thin, hard plastic (an old credit/debit/store/points card or guitar pick)
3. some time and patience

Important: you will not need to use your hands to separate the halves until the very end of the process.

Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/emsef/sets/72157632071625779/detail/

1. Remove the battery cover
2. Remove the two batteries
3. Remove the small philips screw
4. Store all four items safely together
5. Hold the remote with the buttons facing you, looking at the bottom/battery end
6. Insert the corner of your plastic into the gap between halves of the remote and push
7. Work your way around the corner of the remote
8. Work your way down one side of the remote, stop at the front
9. Work your way down the other side of the remote, stop at the front
10. Gently separate the two halves where they are joined at the front
11. Remove the back of the remote
12. Remove the circuit board


Just out of curiousity, what signature does this remote blink back? It may be a moot point since there doesn't seem to be any obvious JP1 connector on the PCBA.

A.A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cauer29 wrote:
Just out of curiousity, what signature does this remote blink back? It may be a moot point since there doesn't seem to be any obvious JP1 connector on the PCBA.

Hey, of course. I have two of this remote - one from 2009 and one from 2011 - each having different setup codes and supported devices.

On 983 gives the following signature blink backs:

'09 version: 0206
'11 version: 0100
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a feeling that the blink backs work slightly differently on this remote (as do factory reset, etc.) as I am getting odd results when doing 990 code blink back - the remotes don't blink back the codes I have entered onto each device. Should they?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CHIP MARKINGS
The remote has two chips:
1. larger chip
2. smaller chip (EEPROM)

'09 version
larger chip:
Quote:
3139 237
07981 R564K
0946 DR

smaller chip, EEPROM:
Quote:
24C64RP
K950P


'11 version
larger chip:
Quote:
B00
1062

smaller chip, EEPROM:
Quote:
24C64RP
K041P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@cauer29: could the signature of the older model be 3139? (see above) although it does not blink this back in the expected way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18515
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

990 blinks back the setup code:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual_Programming_-_9xx_Commands#.28990.29_Code_Blink_Back_-_Find_current_device_code.

983 blinks back the signature:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual_Programming_-_9xx_Commands#.28983.29_Remote_Signature_Blink_Back
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@TheRobman see above

I am not seeing the expected behaviour from 990, or 983
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mmkk777



Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When holding 1 and 3 for a few seconds the Setup light comes on.

Does anybody know something about this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmkk777 wrote:
When holding 1 and 3 for a few seconds the Setup light comes on.

Does anybody know something about this?

Good spot. No idea.

Only 1+4 and 1+6 are mentioned in the manuals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mmkk777



Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have programmed the remote with the TV Philips 42PFL8404H.
Can I delete the EXIT button to not transmit? (When I press it I donít want to light the red led.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central