JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

No-name Chinese 5 port HDMI switch

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MikeBear



Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:36 am    Post subject: No-name Chinese 5 port HDMI switch Reply with quote

1. Device: Noname Chinese 5 port HDMI switch
2. Type of device: 5 port mini hdmi switch
3. Year: 2011
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: 15-133 OR 15-135
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? No
7. Checked the file section? Yes
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? Yes, Nec1
10. Learning remote question? N/A
11. Have you tried the JP1 Lookup Tool? Yes

HDMI switch looks like this, but the def file I found for this doesn't control it:
http://enjoygadgets.com/5-Port-HDMI-Switch-with-Remote-Control.html

Original tiny credit card 5 button remote (1 through 5) sat on and crushed by wife. Unable to repair. Button 4 only one that still works. Learned that, and it decoded as:

NEC1 dev 0, OBC 13

Forgive me if I'm not quite asking or formatting this correctly, I've been cramming this into my brain over the last 24 hours. I have never programmed a jp1.3 remote before this, and am trying to learn. My brain is swimming, as I'm doing this right after hernia surgery, and it's a good distraction due to pain. I'm trying to figure out the relationship in the pulled codes above, and try to extrapolate what buttons 1, 2, 3, and 5 should be programmed as. I haven't been able to figure it out as of yet.

Can anybody help?

Thanks, I really appreciate it! Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mike,

It sounds like you've jumped into this with both feet. There is certainly enough to keep your mind off your pain!

You are lucky that you could capture a key. That is going to make this a piece of cake.

You need to create a Nec 1 upgrade. The Device is 0, the subdevice is EMPTY. Then you test the 0BCs. I would suggest you start with 4, 8 and 10 for 1, 2, and 3. Otherwise you methodically start with OBC's 0 and test through 255 until you find a match....

You can use either RM or KM to create your upgrade.

Good Luck
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18452
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked all the NEC1 dev 0 files that we have for switches to see if any of them use OBC 13 for the #4 button and came up empty, so I don't have OBCs to give you for the other buttons. So, I have created some test upgrades that include all the OBCs, except 13, so you can test them. I have added these upgrades to an IR file for the 15-133 remote ready for you.

So, download the zip file below and load the IR file into your 15-133 remote (remembering to save your current configuration first, so you can reload it afterwards). Then try each device button, starting with the TV button, and try each button on the remote. When you find a button that does something, make a note of it, so when you're done you should have something like this:

input 1 = TV, #3 button
input 2 = DVD, PLAY button
etc

With that info, I can build a proper upgrade file for you.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11453
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

see this thread:

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/oem/thread.cgi?keywords=79
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeBear



Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I checked all the NEC1 dev 0 files that we have for switches to see if any of them use OBC 13 for the #4 button and came up empty, so I don't have OBCs to give you for the other buttons. So, I have created some test upgrades that include all the OBCs, except 13, so you can test them. I have added these upgrades to an IR file for the 15-133 remote ready for you.

So, download the zip file below and load the IR file into your 15-133 remote (remembering to save your current configuration first, so you can reload it afterwards). Then try each device button, starting with the TV button, and try each button on the remote. When you find a button that does something, make a note of it, so when you're done you should have something like this:

input 1 = TV, #3 button
input 2 = DVD, PLAY button
etc

With that info, I can build a proper upgrade file for you.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11453


Thanks guys, I REALLY appreciate it!

"The Robman" here's what I found when I loaded your "test file.ir":

input 1 = TV, "Up Arrow" button
input 2 = TV, "Down Arrow" button
input 3 = TV, "Exit" button
input 5 = TV, "Right Arrow" button

I'm looking forward to getting this going, since it's a bitch to get up and down off the couch right now! Good thing I had a usb/ttl device: http://www.ebay.com/itm/150838663524?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649 That I was able to mod by tapping and additional line for the "RTS" signal. All I had to do was solder a wire to pin #3 of the PL2303HX IC chip for RTS. Just thought I'd let people know that device works, but you'll need a very fine soldering iron, and one of those microscope head pieces over your eyes to solder that wire.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18452
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is "Edit button" a typo for "Exit button"? Based on that assumption I created the following upgrade file for you:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11454
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MikeBear



Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Is "Edit button" a typo for "Exit button"? Based on that assumption I created the following upgrade file for you:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11454


Yup, I typo'ed it, and changed it a bit later when I realized it. Sorry about that.

Thanks, I'm going to try this right now, and let you know.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeBear



Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works!!! I have now programmed my RS 15-133 and 15-135 remote with the added HDMI switch codes.

Thanks so much. I don't understand yet how these work, and how the relationship of figuring out and creating the new device works, but I'll leave that to another time when I can concentrate better.

We had turkey for dinner last night, and something (maybe pepper?) created an asthma attack coughing fit. OMG, did my gut hurt from coughing! I had to hold myself in tight, and even so, I tore a steri-strip a tiny bit that's holding the long surgery cut closed. That pain makes things even harder right now.

Thank-you again, you have made my day! I spent 3 days trying to repair that little crushed remote before this, and you just can't get solder to stick to any of the traces on it.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18452
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MikeBear wrote:
I spent 3 days trying to repair that little crushed remote before this, and you just can't get solder to stick to any of the traces on it.

Are you using flux? When I've done repairs like this, first I scrape the surface of the trace to remove any plastic-like coating that might be there, then I apply some flux and then I use some really fine wire, and of course, a delicate touch! Smile
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cauer29



Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MikeBear wrote:
It works!!! I have now programmed my RS 15-133 and 15-135 remote with the added HDMI switch codes.

Thanks so much. I don't understand yet how these work, and how the relationship of figuring out and creating the new device works, but I'll leave that to another time when I can concentrate better.

We had turkey for dinner last night, and something (maybe pepper?) created an asthma attack coughing fit. OMG, did my gut hurt from coughing! I had to hold myself in tight, and even so, I tore a steri-strip a tiny bit that's holding the long surgery cut closed. That pain makes things even harder right now.

Thank-you again, you have made my day! I spent 3 days trying to repair that little crushed remote before this, and you just can't get solder to stick to any of the traces on it.

Mike


When solder won't stick or the heat is likely to cause damage (flex circuit), you can use silver conductive paint. It is sold in auto parts stores for repairing rear window defoggers. It comes with a tiny brush for application, but I usually use a toothpick to apply it. Works a treat.

A.A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeBear



Joined: 29 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, yeah. I've been an electronics tech for 45 years. I can still solder the wings back on a mosquito, and make them stick. I don't have any way at present to get the paint silver stuff, as I'm on sick leave and not legal to drive for the week from the surgery. Oh, and I didn't think of that stuff either, lol. I bet it would have worked.

The boards on these junky little remotes are not normal boards with normal circuit traces. I'm not sure what they are, but they are printed multi-level, very thin, and even if you scrape the coating off of the traces, solder just doesn't easily stick to them. It's not the normal reasons why either with old-school electronics. There's something about the metal that doesn't let solder stick to the pass-through "rivets" that carry the trace through the board. See, even they couldn't solder to them, they use these pop-rivet things that are stamped/squashed against both sides of the board to pass the circuit through from one level to another.

Anyway, I don't need that remote anymore thanks to you guys, and figuring out enough of the jp1.3 stuff to program my remote.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18452
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MikeBear wrote:
I can still solder the wings back on a mosquito, and make them stick.

I think we're gonna need to see pics!!! Wink
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central