JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Ortek VRC-1100 / Adesso ARC-1100 protocol needed
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:44 am    Post subject: Ortek VRC-1100 / Adesso ARC-1100 protocol needed Reply with quote

Need help with a protocol for THIS. It's an MCE remote that decodes mostly as Ortek protocol. But when I make an upgrade, the device won't respond to any of the commands. So I suspect the timing isn't quite the same as the built-in Ortek protocol on my RCRP05B. Also included are some mouse commands that use an entirely different protocol than all the other commands. I don't really care about those, but it would be nice to know that protocol for completeness.

There is a similar upgrade already posted HERE and discussed in THIS thread, but like mine, the device will not respond to it. So it doesn't work either. Maybe the protocol has changed in later models.

HERE's what the remote looks like. If anyone is looking for a good cheap MCE remote, I highly recommend it because it has a lot more functionality than some of the other cheap Chinese no-name remotes. They run about $15 on newegg and amazon.

I'm not sure about the make or model. It could be the Adesso ARC-1100 or the Ortek VRC-1100. All the label on the remote itself says is VRC-1100 Vista MCE Remote Control.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Dave,
Could you update your zip file, with a comparrison of an ICT from the original, and the same key from your upgrade, and the RDMU or KM file that you used.

It would help with the tweaking, otherwise who ever works on this needs to make up an upgrade, load and shoot to compare.

Quote:
OrtekMCE
UEI protocol: not known.
IRP notation: {38.6k,480}<1,-1|-1,1>(4,-1,D:5,P:2,F:6,C:4,-48m)+
EFC translation: 6-bit LSB comp
The repeat frames are not all identical. P is a position code: 0 for the start frame of a repeat sequence, 2 for the end frame and 1 for all frames in between. C is a checksum, 3 more than the number of 1 bits in D, P, F together. DecodeIR v2.37 and later check P and will report in the Misc field if either the start or end frame, or both, is/are missing.

These definately look like an ortek, but the timing is a smidgen off. Most equipment is pretty tolerant, but we've worked with a few where the timing was very, very exacting. (Those stupid drapes!!)
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I've updated the file with 2 new "Compare" files. It's very interesting. My upgrade signals decode as Pioneer. I also used a built-in code that's supposedly Ortek, and it decodes as Pioneer as well. So the RCRP05B's Ortek protocol (01ED) is different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Thanks. I've updated the file with 2 new "Compare" files. It's very interesting. My upgrade signals decode as Pioneer. I also used a built-in code that's supposedly Ortek, and it decodes as Pioneer as well. So the RCRP05B's Ortek protocol (01ED) is different.

Ah, the RCRP05B was one of the first remotes that had a bunch of PID conflicts with "our" protocols. There is a conflict with the Pause protocol as well.

Edit your RDF, and change the Protocol to something like "01ED:uei" and then the OreckMCE codes should work.

As for your mouse stuff, you'll have to wait for someone with a clearer head than I have to figure out all the P and C stuff and how this doesn't conform. Perhaps Vyrolan's new RMIR will give you some clue into what these signals are saying. I'm still on Graham's alpha, so I haven't had a chance to use the new version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome. That worked great. If the mouse stuff is a big deal, don't worry about it. I'll probably never use it.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Awesome. That worked great. If the mouse stuff is a big deal, don't worry about it. I'll probably never use it.

Thanks

Glad this part worked.

I suspect that the people that decode these, enjoy doing it. Kind of like working the crossword puzzle on Sunday morning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vyrolan



Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 167
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:

I suspect that the people that decode these, enjoy doing it. Kind of like working the crossword puzzle on Sunday morning.


It's fun! ...and since you're playing with remotes at almost 3am your time, you clearly enjoy it too. =p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vyrolan wrote:
vickyg2003 wrote:

I suspect that the people that decode these, enjoy doing it. Kind of like working the crossword puzzle on Sunday morning.


It's fun! ...and since you're playing with remotes at almost 3am your time, you clearly enjoy it too. =p


Ah, but I'm not decoding, I'm debugging. BIG difference. Decoding is very stressful for me, debugging is kind of fun. Its like playing with an etch a sketch. Make the pictures look right. Have I said lately that I LOVE my widget.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 5 mouse commands all have a structure very similar to OrtekMCE, except the bit stream has one less bit and no position code:
Code:
{38.6k,480}<1,-1|-1,1>([P=0][P=1][P=2],4,-1,D:5,P:2,F:6,C:4,-48m)+{C=3+#D+#P+#F}  OrtekMCE
{38.6k,480}<1,-1|-1,1>(                4,-1,D:5,    F:8,C:4,-48m)+{C=3+#D   +#F}  Mouse protocol
Here, I've simply taken the OBCs to be 8 bits, but perhaps if we had a more complete set, some additional pattern might become apparent. Using this latter IRP, we have Device = 20 and OBCs of:
Mouse Up: 112
Mouse Left: 1
Mouse Up-Left: 2
Mouse Left Click: 88
Mouse Right Click: 64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I just updated the file with a full set of mouse commands in the ict and rft files named ortek mouse.

On the off chance Orteck, device 20 might work, I tried a couple of them but no success. And I couldn't enter any OBC > 63 in RM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave, FYI, ICT files tend to collapse if there isn't enough dead time between the various keys. This is never a problem for me, but for those with quick hands, this can be a problem. It will appear that you missed some signals. You can recover the missing notes easily. Open the ICT with notepad, and do a search for "note". I'm not sure what the time tolerance is, but I updated the times before the notes to be more than 140,000 and all the mouse keys can be seen in IRScope.

Looks like you are missing "Down Left".

--------------------------------

So what do you want? A helper protocol or an all inclusive?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I can't seem to get more that 4 commands to show up when I open the file. I tried all my captures again going very slowly and got the same result.

A helper protocol will be fine for me.

Here's Down Left from the summary:
Code:

+1984 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -995 +1005 -495 +505 -495 +478 -996 +1004 -996 +504 -496 +1004 -496 +504 -496 +478 -995 +505 -48622 +2004 -496 +504 -496 +504 -996 +1004 -996 +978 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -995 +484 -490 +1010 -490 +510 -490 +510 -990 +510 -48616 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -969 +1010 -490 +510 -490 +510 -969 +1005 -995 +505 -495 +1005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +478 -48643 +2010 -490 +510 -490 +484 -995 +1005 -995 +1005 -495 +505 -495 +478 -996 +1004 -996 +504 -496 +1004 -496 +504 -496 +478 -995 +505 -9595 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -969 +1010 -990 +1010 -490 +510 -969 +505 -495 +1005 -995 +505 -495 +505 -495 +978 -496 +504 -996 +504 -48622 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -969 +1004 -496 +504 -996 +504 -496 +1004 -969 +505 -495 +505 -495 +1005 -495 +505 -995 +484 -48616 +2031 -496 +504 -469 +505 -995 +1005 -995 +1005 -495 +505 -969 +510 -490 +1010 -990 +510 -490 +510 -490 +984 -495 +505 -995 +505 -48616 +2010 -490 +510 -490 +510 -990 +1010 -990 +984 -495 +505 -995 +505 -495 +1005 -995 +478 -496 +504 -496 +1004 -496 +504 -996 +504 -48622 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -969 +1004 -996 +1004 -496 +504 -996 +478 -495 +1005 -995 +505 -495 +505 -495 +1005 -469 +510 -990 +510 -48616 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -969 +1010 -490 +510 -969 +505 -495 +1005 -995 +505 -495 +505 -495 +978 -496 +504 -996 +504 -48622 +2005 -495 +505 -495 +505 -995 +1005 -995 +1005 -495 +478 -996 +504 -496 +1004 -996 +504 -496 +478 -495 +1005 -495 +505 -995 +505 -48622

DownLeft : Protocol=<unknown>
   IRP form:   Undetermined
   Repeat:   +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +503 -494 +501 -990 +501 -45074
   Extra:   +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074 +2006 -494 +503 -494 +501 -990 +1005 -990 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +503 -494 +1005 -990 +503 -494 +503 -494 +1000 -493 +501 -990 +501 -45074
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Sorry, but I can't seem to get more that 4 commands to show up when I open the file. I tried all my captures again going very slowly and got the same result.


Edit the ICT in notepad. Just change the time before each word "note" ti be greater than 140,000 and they all show up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3976

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I updated my file with those changes, but I still can't get one of the commands to show up (Right Click). So it is what it is, I'm afraid. Hope it's enough to work with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave give these a try.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11382
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central