JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

8910 + replay tv=insanity

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwbry@pacbell.net



Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: 8910 + replay tv=insanity Reply with quote

I'm trying to program my 8910 and have used 0614 as the code for my Replay TV. So far, so good.

But there are three functions I absolutely cannot get it to take via KeyMover:
339-Replay Guide (shows you what you've recorded)
515-Quick Skip (advances 30 seconds)
251-Instant Replay (backs up 30 seconds)

The lady at URC just says, "it won't work. We don't guarantee it will work with all codes," this, despite the fact that it was URC that sent the codes in the first place. Arrgh!

I have reprogrammed AUX as a VCR and have put the Replay there, but that shouldn't matter.

Any thoughts as to how to proceed? I'm out of ideas.

Thanks,
/john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herbie



Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What keys are you trying to assign these codes to.

If I remember correctly, for each device type (VCR, Cable, TV) there is a map of buttons which are available. For some devices certain buttons are NOT available because they don't make sense. (i.e. no Transport keys for a TV, etc.)

If you're trying to use buttons which don't make sense on a VCR, the keymover routine may reject them. Have you tried putting them elsewhere?

Assuming thats NOT the problem, then you start to run into more complex issues.

I just had a weird one where the built-in code controlled ALMOST everything on my DVD, but one advanced code did NOT work on a 2116 but DID work on a 1994. Turns out the protocols in the remotes were slightly different and I had to use IR/JP1 to specify a different sub-device for that one code...
_________________
TiVo FREAK!
Brutalizing my 15-1994 since 2000, thanks to JP1
Now abusing a 6131m, 2116, and 2104 too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say "URC" do you mean "UEI" (as in "Universal Electronics, Inc") ? "URC" (as in "Universal Remote Control") are the people who make the MX-500, etc.

Even though UEI has changed the VCR/0614 to be able to accept advanced codes, the new version hasn't found it's way into any remotes yet. The URC_8910 has the old version of the code that does NOT accept advanced codes.

What you need to do is switch to the VCR/0616 code and use the advanced codes that go with that code (which are DIFFERENT to the VCR/0614 codes).

Here's the VCR/0616 list:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/cgi-bin2/ueic.cgi?PVR_0616
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jwbry@pacbell.net



Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:


What you need to do is switch to the VCR/0616 code and use the advanced codes that go with that code (which are DIFFERENT to the VCR/0614 codes).

Here's the VCR/0616 list:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/cgi-bin2/ueic.cgi?PVR_0616


Thanks, I DO mean UEI, the ones who make One for All

Buttons I want to map:
From REPLAY Guide (shows that have been recorded) to FAV
From REPLAY QuickSkip to PREV
From REPLAY Instant Replay to ??? MUTE would be logical, but I want to keep it somewhere.

Can I switch to the 0614 code without a download from UEI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwbry@pacbell.net



Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thanks -- moving to 616 took care of that, and I've mapped keys as needed.


A followup question:

Is it possible to have, say the DVD recorder button BOTH turn the Receiver input to 2 and then access DVD codes? I know it can be done on a Macro key (rather, I think it can), but don't know if you can put a macro like that on non-macro key.

Furthermore, is it a good idea?

Thanks again,
/john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18101
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do that, but it would require JP1 to accomplish. You're in the right place for JP1 help! Smile
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central