JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Cricket OARK02R notes

Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stu_Rock

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:46 pm    Post subject: Cricket OARK02R notes Reply with quote

I just got an OARK02R Cricket remote to use for controlling two projectors in a university classroom setting. I've been programming JP1 remotes for a few years and expected such a simple remote to be easy, but it wasn't. JP1 documentation for this unit seems to be lacking, so I thought I'd join the forum and post my findings so others can program them.

1. The Cricket is nominally a two-device remote. EDIT: You simply select which device is used for volume and which device is used for channels. See later posts for more. The following italicized text is incorrect. It is always in TV mode, and you cannot switch it to CBL, even if you assign a macro to a key that contains a "CBL" keypress. Volume punch-through governs which device is used for VOL+, VOL-, and MUTE, while "channel control lock" governs which device is used for CH+, CH-, and the number keys (on=CBL, off=TV).

2. There is a bug in the RDF file that needs to be fixed for homemade device upgrades to work. Add to the first block:
Code:
2BytePid=Yes

3. The number keys accept macros only. Device upgrades do not assign functions to them. Not only that, but when a number key is pressed, the remote control appends an ENTER command to the macro, provided that the selected device has an ENTER command. See (4) below.