JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Kodak Ektapro

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:15 am    Post subject: Kodak Ektapro Reply with quote

Is this enough information to derive Pronto hex codes from, or will I need more?

This from the Kodak Manual
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10733

Not sure where to start with this.
cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you not have the original remote for this? If you do, I'd much rather see some captures from your IR widget.

Here are the OBCs at any rate...

16 - slide forward
08 - slide backward
04 - focus forward
02 - focus backward
01 - standby
20 - 0
21 - 1
22 - 2
23 - 3
24 - 4
25 - 5
26 - 6
27 - 7
28 - 8
29 - 9
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: Re: Kodak Ektapro Reply with quote

simonsezdothis wrote:
Is this enough information to derive Pronto hex codes from, or will I need more? Not sure where to start with this.

At most, I believe that tells us the Original Button Code (OBC) except in binary instead of decimal. Doesn't look like there's any way of knowing from the manual exactly how these are formatted in the IR signal though. Tried to find match from the usual suspects but was given Kodak Etkagraphic as a consolation result. Recorded its IR signals with the JP1 tools to create the respective file. Unfortunately, they came up as <unknown>, so I'm not exactly sure if they will help you. Perhaps a senior expert can assist further.

_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the actual Kodak device? And if so, do you still have your URC-8910 remote? If so, I can format some learned signals for you to test and if they work, we can either create a protocol upgrade or pronto hex, depending on which you really need.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:54 pm    Post subject: Original remote Reply with quote

Unfortunately no original IR remote.
(I'll keep enquiring about this)
The remote with it, is a cable remote.

The IR receiver and remote was an optional accessory I think. (I have the receiver which just plugs into the 'cable remote' port instead.)

I'll have a try with your Ektagraphic results too.
Still have an 8910, also an 8820, and a 7781 which I use most.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Ektagraphic file that eferz posted is just an ICT file (which you would view using IR Scope) it's not an upgrade file because it uses an unknown protocol.

If you had an OEM remote in your hands, would it work with the receiver that you have? If you think it would work, I could format an IR file for your 8910 that contains learned signals for you to test. Because there's no point in developing a new protocol and upgrade if you're not able to test it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having trouble reconciling the ICT with what I read about the timing of transmission and the little drawings after that


Timing of Tramission
a. Interrupt cycle: about 100 ms
b. Duration interrupt pulse: min. 0.75 Ás, max. 1 Ás later
c. Valid data: min. starting with interrupt edge, max. 8 Ás later
d. Data transmission time: min. 600 Ás, max. until the next interrupt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me too, but as there wasn't enough usable info in the PDF, I figured we'd see if Earl's learns were good and follow that route.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3255

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Page 3-20 of the repair manual makes clear (to me, at least) that the signals described are not IR signals.

The projector has an IR receivber interface with 5 parallel data lines and an interrupt line that plugs into the projector. The timing and data values refer to the state of those wired data lines. The IR signals are likely to be different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After doing a little more research on a very SLOW wi-fi connection, it looks like most of the Kodak "ekta" type projectors require a dongle like device to receive the IR signal. I wonder if this "Ektapro" module has a similar receiver.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:24 am    Post subject: Re: Original remote Reply with quote

simonsezdothis wrote:
The IR receiver and remote was an optional accessory I think. (I have the receiver which just plugs into the 'cable remote' port instead.)

_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are all the resources I'm using, sorry if I left something out.

Ektapro family general Info
http://slideprojector.kodak.com/plugins/acrobat/qrg_ektapro.pdf

Ektapro 5020 Manual
http://slideprojector.kodak.com/plugins/acrobat/ektapro_user_manual.pdf

Kodak Ektapro P-Com Manual
http://slideprojector.kodak.com/plugins/acrobat/p-com.pdf

As the IR receiver is with there, I figured I'd try and use it.
The P-Com (RS232) connector is available too for control, but on my first try with my laptop I couldn't get a response from the unit, so thought I'd try by IR instead.
I've just read that the "Standard 8 Pin Connector" (cable remote and IR receiver plug in here) also incorporates contact closure for Tray Forward and Back, which I'll try too, as this is possible all the functionality required.

I was going to take the ICT file and generate pronto hex from it, and fire it from my laptop and see what happened.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19072
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I mentioned earlier, I can easily make an IR file for your URC-8910 that includes learned signals replicated from eferz' ICT file, so you could use your 8910 to test.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central