JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Edit an RDF file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
petehouk



Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 7:58 am    Post subject: Edit an RDF file Reply with quote

I am trying to load the Ortev VRC-1100 upgrade to my RCA RCRP05B. There's a note on the page for the file download that says that I need to edit the RDF.

How do I edit that? I opened the file with Remotemaster and all of the fields that show "01ED" are grayed out and can't be edited.

Link to upgrade file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10469
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4085

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Notepad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petehouk



Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did try opening it in notepad. I didn't see "01ED" in there. I did see "01 ED".

So should I replace "01 ED" with "01 ED:uei"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petehouk



Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried changing this line

Protocol=01 ED

to

Protocol=01ED:uei

and then to

Protocol=01 ED:uei

But it didn't work either way. I modified the file, then went to the "devices" tab of RMIR and then pressed the "open" button. I loaded the modified RDMU file, but it never loads the data into the device upgrade editor window. If I use the original line

Protocol=01 ED

then it will load into the upgrade editor window but when I upload to my remote the functions don't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3272

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect you are trying to modify the RMDU file. Instead you should modify the RDF file: 31793179 (RCA RCRP05B black).rdf, which will be located in your RDF file folder. If you are using RMIR 2.03 Alpha 28, the RDF folder is a subfolder of the main installation folder. Older instances of RMIR allowed you to put the RDFs anywhere.

Note that this renaming may be a temporary "fix", because the issue actually also affects
11781178 (URC-6820N_8820N_10820N).rdf
201009 (Atlas 1056 B03).rdf
202608 (Charter OCAP C4000 URC-1060BC2).rdf
31473147 (Insignia Remote 67100).rdf
329801 (OARI06G One For All 6+3).rdf
USB8011 (ARRX12G XSight 12).rdf
and the extender RDFs associated with these remotes.

The issue is caused by us-- we used PID 01ED for this OrtekMCE protocol executor, and now UEI has begun using it for a 40KHz NEC1-rnc IR protocol. That leads to a conflict. As a community, we may end up modifying protocols.ini instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petehouk



Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, 3FG! That fixed it. Thanks for being patient on this. One other thing I noticed is that I had to shut down RemoteMaster and restart it before the change to the rdf file took effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central