JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

bin file for bbtv(Taiwan cable box)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:10 pm    Post subject: bin file for bbtv(Taiwan cable box) Reply with quote

I am based in Taiwan and I need bin file for the remote
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2713/4247598667_a0911c4b8f.jpg
It is a digital cable stb.

On a side note, I read on a forum and some said they failed to learn the remote signal of this bbtv by using ofa remote and thus cannot generate bin file for this remote.

Is there some remote that the ofa remote cannot learn?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:54 pm    Post subject: Re: bin file for bbtv(Taiwan cable box) Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
I am based in Taiwan and I need bin file for the remote
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2713/4247598667_a0911c4b8f.jpg
It is a digital cable stb.

Unless there's an modern miracle in technology, I don't think it is possible to create BIN files from that picture of the remote. Does the actual set-top box have a manufacturer and model number that we can reference?
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It just says bbtv 7405.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6965
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Re: bin file for bbtv(Taiwan cable box) Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:

Is there some remote that the ofa remote cannot learn?


Some IR signals such as XMP signals are difficult to learn because of the complexity and the numerous timing pairs. Graham did some heavy duty correction to make sense of those signals, so that we can decode them and then create bin upgrades.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
It just says bbtv 7405.

There wasn't a match using the look-up tool for the Logitech Harmony Database (http://www.logitech.com/harmony/components). So, there's no way for me to access the IR signals without the OEM remote.

You can try teaching the IR codes using the (http://remotes.slingbox.com/) website then send us the XML links as explained in this guide (http://slingbox.wikia.com/wiki/How_to_use_Betaremotes_website.). This will allow us to create the necessary files. Otherwise, you're going to have to buy yourself an IR Widget to capture the signals from the original remote.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just learned that this particular stb is oem product by PRIME.
I also have tried the below bin file but in vain.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8398

the above file is suggested by someone from slingbox forum to use with stb made by PRIME.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
I just learned that this particular stb is oem product by PRIME.
I also have tried the below bin file but in vain.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8398

the above file is suggested by someone from slingbox forum to use with stb made by PRIME.

Would you mind pointing out where you've come upon this information? I looked up the technical support forums at answers.slingbox.com and only found two posts/threads relative to this file. Neither of them confirm your findings.
  1. http://answers.slingbox.com/message/2960#2960
  2. http://answers.slingbox.com/message/6944#6944
There hasn't been any activity in the respective threads in over six months. So, I can't tell if you're actually working with Alan Richey or your just grasping at straws. Also if this is your profile, "chuliu", there then it appears you haven't even posted anything since you joined on December 4th, 2010.

Anyways, I took another look at the Logitech Harmony Database. Apparently, there's a new profile "Yahoo BBTV" which might be related. So, I recorded the IR signals with the JP1 tools to create the respective files.
BIN file Instructions.
Customization instructions:
I hope it works out for you. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
the thread I referred to is the second link you found and is
http://answers.slingbox.com/message/6944

The stb in the thread is oem by PRIME, too.
But the bin suggested by alan is titled Kbro Hyundai Digital Technology digital set top box (DSTB)

But it is confirmed to work in the thread.

So I gave it a try but failed.

I do want to try remotes.slingbox.com but I currently do not have the remote on hand. I will definitely post the xml file if I get the remote.

Thanks for the bin file and I will try it later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
the thread I referred to is the second link you found and is
http://answers.slingbox.com/message/6944

The stb in the thread is oem by PRIME, too.
But the bin suggested by alan is titled Kbro Hyundai Digital Technology digital set top box (DSTB)

But it is confirmed to work in the thread.

So I gave it a try but failed.

Ah, okay. I understand now. It is possible that Prime Electronics & Satellitics (PESI) manufacturers many OEM set-top boxes but uses different IR profiles for each of them. Where exactly did you get the correlation that the BBTV box is made by Prime. I do not see that referenced anywhere.

chuliu wrote:
I do want to try remotes.slingbox.com but I currently do not have the remote on hand. I will definitely post the xml file if I get the remote.

If you do, I only need the GUID number not the file. I prefer to download it directly from Sling using the following URL, "https://secure.sling.com/irservices/rest/v1/learntremote/{guid}.xml". I use Firefox to connect to the respective URL and then use "File > Save Page As...". This allows me to open the downloaded file in RMIR and see your results in the "Learn Signals" tab.

chuliu wrote:
Thanks for the bin file and I will try it later.

You're welcome glad to help. I hope it works out for you, please give us feedback when you do.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's from a news dated 2009 but it is in chinese:
http://cbit.pixnet.net/blog/post/28933830-%E4%B8%AD%E5%98%89bb-tv%E9%96%8B%E6%92%AD-%E7%99%BE%E4%B8%80%E6%A8%82

It says that PRIME was the only stb provider for bbtv(cable tv company) and both hyundai and prime were providing stb for kbro(another cable tv company in Taiwan)

I see that I only need to post the url now. But judging from other people's post in chinese blog, the bbtv remote probably cannot be learned using remotes.slingbox.com because it is XMP protocol. I actually ordered an IR widget from Tommy at hifi-remotes the other day. Hopefully I can do it with the IR widget.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3388
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
But judging from other people's post in chinese blog, the bbtv remote probably cannot be learned using remotes.slingbox.com because it is XMP protocol.
The XMP protocol has now been built so you should be able to build it using RemoteMaster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi finally got the chance to use remotes.slingbox.com to learn the remote. however, i found that the site seems not able to learn the remote keys. for example, the numeric key would work individually but when i try to key in 54, it only turn the channel to 4 instead. also, the channel up and down will not be emulated. please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://secure.sling.com/irservices/rest/v1/member/1469966/learntremote/6971f2e2-a3c8-4ff6-8a0d-728a7cf92664/keys


here seems to be the xml file in my webslingplayer.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuliu wrote:
hi finally got the chance to use remotes.slingbox.com to learn the remote. however, i found that the site seems not able to learn the remote keys. for example, the numeric key would work individually but when i try to key in 54, it only turn the channel to 4 instead. also, the channel up and down will not be emulated. please help.
here seems to be the xml file in my webslingplayer.txt

https://secure.sling.com/irservices/rest/v1/member/1469966/learntremote/6971f2e2-a3c8-4ff6-8a0d-728a7cf92664/keys

Okay, from what you have so far it looks like this remote uses the MCE protocol and a toggle bit. This needs to be flipped any time a key is pressed. That explains why the learned signals aren't working after being pressed successively. Inside of a learned signal the toggle bit remains fixed and isn't being flipped appropriately.

Out of the twenty-three total commands; twelve were untested and four of them were malformed. But, at least I had enough to try and guess some of the commands. The number keys should work properly now. But, you'll need to reteach the keys which are missing or do not work.

Here are the commands that are included:
  • Back (untested)
  • ChannelUp/Page up (untested)
  • ChannelDown/PageUp (Untested)
  • DirectionDown (untested)
  • DirectionLeft (untested)
  • DirectionRight (untested)
  • DirectionUp (untested)
  • Guide (untested)
  • Mute (untested)
  • PowerToggle (untested)
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
I used the JP1 tools to create the respective files from the recorded the IR signals of your Guid.XML file.
BIN file Instructions.
Customization instructions:
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 311
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi the buttons now work flawlessly on my slingbox.
This is very impressive.
You guys are really helpful.

I will do the rest of the buttons once I have a chance again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central