JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Help - Dead RCA RCRP05B
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:07 pm    Post subject: Help - Dead RCA RCRP05B Reply with quote

I’m having trouble with an RCA RCRP05B I recently bought, it now won’t respond to anything.

Initially all was good, I used IR.exe to install a couple of devices without trouble. Then after a protocol upgrade (installing Emotiva UMC-1 receiver) the remote repeatedly flashed the CBL light and didn’t respond to key presses. After more playing the remote is now completely died, no flashing lights, doesn’t respond to any key presses (including holding setup).

The batteries are fresh. Removing the battery and pressing a key doesn’t help. The setup button does nothing so a 981 reset doesn’t work. The PC doesn’t find the remote any more.

Any hints how I might recover the remote, or do I toss it?

Both the remote and USB adapter are new. Is it possible/likely that the USB adapter (bought from www.diygadget.com) is faulty and killed the remote?

Here is what I have
• A New USB JP1.3 from www.diygadget.com
• Win7 (64bit) dell laptop
• IR v8.03
• RemoteMaster V1.98

Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Were you using an extender?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might help if you posted the IR image that you uploaded. It could be that you inadvertently copied a protocol written in the wrong language, and that could cause some problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I don't have a saved image, but I do suspect you are correct.

I do have an old image saved but IR.exe won't upload it because it fails to detect the remote.

jp1xtest reports "Version checksum mismatch!"

Debug_Tester reports "Original JP1.2 remote found!"

Are their any low level tools that can reload my image back into the remote.

Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first thing I would try is to blindly do a 981 reset. Just because the remote isn't responding with blinks doesn't necessarily mean that it can't listen.

In IR.exe, Advanced\Enable Unsafe Upload should allow you to try to load a saved image. It wil ignore the mismatch between the read signature and the signature that a RCRP05B should have.

Even before doing an unsafe upload, you may be able to do a raw download. Enable this also on the Advanced menu. If you get a raw download, you could compare it to this IR file, which I took from a RCRP05B following a 981 reset. But probably just doing an unsafe upload of the linked IR file will get the job done.

In any case make sure that your RDF file isn't corrupted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had tried a blind 981, it didn't work.

Thanks for the factory defaults file. I tried uploading it as you suggesting, using the "Unsafe Upload" button that appeared when I changed the advanced settings. I'm getting a "Failed to open JP1.x interface" message. I get the same message even if I rotate the JP1 connector.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3241

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you shut off Interface\AutoCheck? It may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am in over my head here. Hardware problems are beyond my abilities.

I only have one last suggestion. You said you have fresh batteries. Do you have a tester or another set of alkaline batteries. Bad/weak batteries would account for every symptom you are having. I have ruptured more batteries than I care to count in my uploading/downloading to remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3769

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PM sent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do appreciate both of your help!!

I tried the "AutoCheck" option last night, it didn't help.

My multimeter shows 1.5v for both batteries.

Are there other tools I could try instead of IR.exe?

Is IR source public? My day job is a programmer so it might help.

Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

awalls wrote:

My multimeter shows 1.5v for both batteries.


Again hardware is outside my area. I did buy a little battery tester to diagnose "hardware" problems. My hardware problems have ALWAYS been battery issues. On my tester a "fresh" battery reads about 1.8. When they get down to 1.5 I sometimes have trouble with communications with my JP1.2/3 cable, however I still have LED feedback on the remote until the battery test gets down to about 1.2. So its probably not battery issues, since you don't get any LED feedback when plugging in, unplugging the cable, or when removing the batteries, discharging the remote and reinstalling the batteries. But fresh alkaline batteries are still worth a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awalls



Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At this stage I need to try both the likely and unlikely.

Two new Duracell batteries made no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikek



Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bricked one of those remotes a couple of years ago. I accidentally flipped the JP1 interface around and it froze the remote. If I flipped it back the correct way it came back to life.

One of these remotes wouldn't come back to life no matter what I tried and I gave up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have bricked one RCRP05B today. I am not sure what I did. I might have plug the jp1 incorrectly. I also open the ir.exe and try download and upload the remote. Then the remote is bricked. I am sure the cable is working as I have a spare same remote which communicate to ir.exe without problem.

I tried to remove one battery and press one button for a few seconds as explained in the troubleshooting guide but it did not work. The jpxtest.bat reports that no jp1 compatible remote found. Anyway I can un-brick the remote?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central