JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-7960
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3582
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know where you got that protocol from, but it is for the wrong processor. You have used a protocol for the HCS08 processor in a remote that uses the S3F8 processor, which is why it locks up. As the error message says, the code is not consistent with the remote.

As far as the shift key is concerned, I too have found that doesn't work. I have been unable to find a shift facility on the URC-7960 and note that it is not mentioned anywhere in the UEI documentation. I have come sadly to the conclusion that it is not implemented in this remote,
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
I don't know where you got that protocol from, but it is for the wrong processor. You have used a protocol for the HCS08 processor in a remote that uses the S3F8 processor, which is why it locks up. As the error message says, the code is not consistent with the remote.

I just opened up the "Windows Media Center v2 para URC-7960" RMDU file which he included in his upload and it appears this manual protocol does in fact have a translation for both HCS08 and S3C80. In fact, the S3C80 information is duplicated in the notes section of the upgrade.
Quote:
Code.HCS08=20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F
Code.S3C80=20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F
Notes=Upgrade Protocol 0 \= 01 2A (S3C8+)\n47 93 81 8B 09 00 05 37 01 A4 00 DE 00 CE 08 00 58 04 37 50 06 37 00 03 B6 04 F0 37 52 06 37 00 03 B6 09 C0 2C 08 38 0B CF 10 0C 10 0B DF 10 0C 10 0B 90 C3 FB 03 B6 0C 03 2A ED 1C 12 F6 01 4C 77 71 38 03 F6 FF 6B 38 04 F6 FF 67 B0 C6 87 36 05 F6 FF 6B 6E 37 66 F6 77 70 C6 F8 87 FF F6 01 58 F6 01 0A 7B D5 AF 4C 04 8B 02 4C 08 90 C3 7B 09 77 70 1C 18 F6 01 6D 8B 07 1C 16 F6 01 64 77 71 4A EA AF\nEnd\n\nUpgrade Protocol 0 \= 01 2A (S3C8+)\n20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F\nEnd

So, it could be a possible bug somewhere if Remote Master or the RDF if it is assigning the wrong processor version of the manual protocol to the URC-7960.

regne v wrote:
When I try to edit back the Media Center code I get a "The code for the protocol for this device ugrade is not consistent..." message and if It press the "Edit Protocol" button nothing happens.

I just uploaded your upgrade into one of my remotes and it appears it's using the MCE protocol with Device = 4 and OEM2 = 15. This protocol is now well defined and no longer needs a manual protocol to address it. Go ahead and change protocol in RM or DUE from "Manual Settings" to "MCE" with the aforementioned parameters and it will use the built-in protocol which is built-into the protocol.ini of RM/RMIR.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eferz wrote:
I just opened up the "Windows Media Center v2 para URC-7960" RMDU file which he included in his upload and it appears this manual protocol does in fact have a translation for both HCS08 and S3C80. In fact, the S3C80 information is duplicated in the notes section of the upgrade.
Quote:
Code.HCS08=20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F
Code.S3C80=20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F
Notes=Upgrade Protocol 0 \= 01 2A (S3C8+)\n47 93 81 8B 09 00 05 37 01 A4 00 DE 00 CE 08 00 58 04 37 50 06 37 00 03 B6 04 F0 37 52 06 37 00 03 B6 09 C0 2C 08 38 0B CF 10 0C 10 0B DF 10 0C 10 0B 90 C3 FB 03 B6 0C 03 2A ED 1C 12 F6 01 4C 77 71 38 03 F6 FF 6B 38 04 F6 FF 67 B0 C6 87 36 05 F6 FF 6B 6E 37 66 F6 77 70 C6 F8 87 FF F6 01 58 F6 01 0A 7B D5 AF 4C 04 8B 02 4C 08 90 C3 7B 09 77 70 1C 18 F6 01 6D 8B 07 1C 16 F6 01 64 77 71 4A EA AF\nEnd\n\nUpgrade Protocol 0 \= 01 2A (S3C8+)\n20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F\nEnd

Okay after further examination of the upgrade, it seems that the code for the S3C80 and HCS08 is the exactly the same. Even someone with my limited intelligence knows that it is impossible for the assembly instructions for two different processor architectures to be the equal. I also noticed that it is very similar to the code documented in the protocol.ini section for the MCE variant 2. That stands to reason why Mathodon believes that it was specifically meant for an HCS08 remote.

Quote:
Code.HCS08=20 16 24 4B 81 CE 05 08 08 00 DD 00 00 00 00 00 DE D0 12 05 36 01 BB 04 01 B3 12 01 61 06 B6 61 A8 F0 B7 61 03 61 06 B6 66 A8 C0 B7 66 B6 68 AE 08 CD FF 8C BF 68 B7 69 6E 02 A9 6E 08 AA CC FF 5F

I do think though it is funny that whomever wrote the notes for that upgrade probably included the proper S3C80 assembly but failed to actually implement it into the upgrade. Then they misnamed the second upgrade protocol's compatibility in the notes since that duplicates the entry of the HCS08 assembly. Oi vey, so mashugana! In any case as suggested earlier, the MCE protocol is now well defined and there's no longer a reason to use the manual protocol for pid "01 2A" which is currently mis-defined in the upgrade to represent it on anything but a HCS08 remote.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3582
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eferz wrote:
That stands to reason why Mathodon believes that it was specifically meant for an HCS08 remote.

The actual reason I said it was meant for an HCS08 remote is that it disassembles sensibly in RM when copied into the HCS08 line of a new manual protocol, but crashes the disassembler when in the S3C80 line.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spalter3



Joined: 15 Feb 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shift keys work fine on my 7960 BUT they are inaccessible from the watchtv/movie/music modes, just like macros are inaccessible. in device modes they work fine and also inside macros
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
regne v



Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
I don't know where you got that protocol from, but it is for the wrong processor.


I've just realized that it was an outdated version of Rob's Media Center upgrade. However I've tried the newest version and it's still not working. I've recorded the MCE sent signals into an URC-7552 and RM IR can't recognize them.

I've uploaded a dump with the recorded signals and the RM IR file with the latest version of Rob's MCE here.

mathdon wrote:
As far as the shift key is concerned, I too have found that doesn't work. I have been unable to find a shift facility on the URC-7960 and note that it is not mentioned anywhere in the UEI documentation. I have come sadly to the conclusion that it is not implemented in this remote,

This will be no problem as the remote has tons of hidden keys but maybe RM IR shuldn't be offering shifted keys for this remote.

Thanks a lot.

Edit: I've just read spalter3 post about being able to use shifted keys. I'll test it thoroughly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
regne v



Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

regne v wrote:
However I've tried the newest version and it's still not working.

I've just seen that if I try to download the remote's memory just after uploading the file with Rob's new MCE code I get this message:
Code:
Error in RDF. Wrong variant specified for PID = 01 2A. Number of fixed/command bytes sgould be 4/1, for specified variant is 1/8.

Now the "Devices" tab shows this device protocol as pid 01 2A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

regne v wrote:
I've just realized that it was an outdated version of Rob's Media Center upgrade. However I've tried the newest version and it's still not working. I've recorded the MCE sent signals into an URC-7552 and RM IR can't recognize them.

I've uploaded the a dump with the recorded signals and the RM IR file with the latest version of Rob's MCE here.

I uploaded the aforementioned KM device upgrade for "Microsoft Model 1039 Media Centre" aka Rob's "Windows_Media_Center_v2" into my OARI06G. Most of the keys needed to be manually reassigned. For example, Button "0" was matched to Rewind and "Vol+" was matched to DVD Menu. The only keys which were set appropriately was "Power", "Pause", "Record", and "Guide". Not even the digit buttons matched until I removed the assignments and used "Auto assign"

Just as regne's example, it does not fire the appropriate MCE signals. Although, I don't know whether or not mine matches hers since they do come up as unknown. I downloaded the image back down and received the following error message, "Protocol Variant Error: Error in RDF. Wrong variant specified for PID = 01 2A. Number of fixed/command bytes should be 4/1, for specified variant is 1/8." Also, the Device Upgrade Editor is not indicating it is using the MCE protocol but in fact the "pid: 01 2A" protocol with a bunch of parameters. The only values which I recognized were OBC2 = 15 which was presented as "Device 2" and Device = 4 as "Device 3" in RMIR's Device Upgrade Editor.

I've uploaded a zip file here (http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10746). This archive contains: KM Text File for "Windows_Media_Center_v2" which was used in this example, two RMIR files one before uploading and the other after downloading, also the ICT file of most of the keys recorded. Another issue is that I am unable to reopen the RMIR files, it pretends to load but then does nothing when trying even while using the "File | Open..." command.

P.s., do we have map/img files for the OARI06G/URC-7960? I cannot seem to locate one.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3280

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Protocols.ini is incorrectly set up to handle WindowsMCE (OrtekMCE) in remotes that have 01 2A built in. I don't have time to work on this now, but I should be able to provide a section for protocols.ini tonight. I also suspect that we'll need to deal with a variant, base on the Lookup Tool mentioning V2.

Also, the section for OrtekMCE that is in protocols.ini uses a fairly complicated executor, which apparently doesn't work in all S3C80/S3F80 remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4135

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eferz wrote:
do we have map/img files for the OARI06G/URC-7960? I cannot seem to locate one.
HERE's one I did early on. Not sure if anyone is using it or has kept it in sync with the latest RDF. In case they haven't, just change the button names in the map to match the RDF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
HERE's one I did early on. Not sure if anyone is using it or has kept it in sync with the latest RDF. In case they haven't, just change the button names in the map to match the RDF.

Heh, heh. I went ahead and created IMG & MAP files for both the OARI06G & URC-7960.

While doing so, I also found what appears to be a typo in the included RDFs of the RM/RMIR Prototypes for these remotes.
Bad wrote:
"prev ch";Last=$1B:group8,
Good wrote:
"prev ch":Last=$1B:group8,

It's not a big deal, just there's a semicolon where a colon should be otherwise the "Last" button will not associate in the Layout Tab. Also, there's an issue with the 16:9 button with the URC-7960 for some reason it wants to be associated with the FastFwd instead.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)


Last edited by eferz on Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:55 am    Post subject: Re: RDF for URC7960? Reply with quote

fonyosz wrote:
Hi, will there be an RDF file for URC7960? If there is a guide how to create one, I could try...

So, I'm a little jealous. It looks like the from this video, the URC-7962 version has motion sensor controls.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3280

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

regne v,
Now perhaps I understand a little better. I think you're looking for Microsoft MCE, which is described in RMIR as MCE, and in the Lookup Tool as Windows MCE. It is a variant of RC6-6-32, with Device= 4 and OEM = 15. If you have the original remote, of course you could learn some keys, and be sure of the device and OEM numbers, or if in fact you're trying to send some other IR protocol.

The URC-7960 has PID 012A (MCE) built in, and setup codes Cable 1447, 2150, 2165, and 2569, plus Video 1708, 1972, and 2083 shoot MCE. So you should be able to build an upgrade without uploading an executor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
regne v



Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
regne v,
I think you're looking for Microsoft MCE, which is described in RMIR as MCE, and in the Lookup Tool as Windows MCE. It is a variant of RC6-6-32, with Device= 4 and OEM = 15.

That's OK.
3FG wrote:
If you have the original remote, of course you could learn some keys, and be sure of the device and OEM numbers, or if in fact you're trying to send some other IR protocol.

Yes. I did check with the original remote and Rob's upgrade file. They were the very same.
3FG wrote:
The URC-7960 has PID 012A (MCE) built in, and setup codes Cable 1447, 2150, 2165, and 2569, plus Video 1708, 1972, and 2083 shoot MCE. So you should be able to build an upgrade without uploading an executor.

DVD/1972 did the trick and now I can control XBMC from the remote.

However there's still the problem that Rob's media center upgrade is not working and if you download the remote's memory just after flashing you get the "Error in RDF. Wrong variant specified for PID = 01 2A..." message as eferz also said.

Also if you check the availability for the MCE code in One for all official support you get a message stating:
Code:
Result:
( OFA Smart Control 6 (7960 R00) )
Media Center Controller: Microsoft mediacenter (Device Key: STB)

We have found the correct code for your device, but it is not in the memory of your remote.
You can:

    Contact our Customer Service by e-mail or phone. For contact information, please refer to your user manual.
Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3280

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We know which executors are present in the 7960, but we don't know which variants it has. Actually we can make good guesses, but those good guesses haven't been included in the currently circulating RDF for the 7960. In the particular case of 012A, I know the variant is 012A:2, and that should be entered into your copy of the RDF (until we can provide a better RDF to distribute.) I think mathdon has been distributing the 7960 RDF, and he and I had an exchange about how to guess the variants, but apparently that hasn't filtered out yet.

Tonight, I will attempt to do as complete a job as I can at guessing the variants, and post a revised RDF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central