JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Mark Levinson IR decodes
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:06 am    Post subject: Mark Levinson IR decodes Reply with quote

These signals from the Mark Levinson remote show up in irscope as "gap" signals, but I suspect, since similar Mark Levinsons use an Recs80(45) protocol, that these may be Recs80(45) as well. The learned signal DO work.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9918

And no, I can't afford any Mark Levinson gear. I'm helping a friend with HIS gear.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi jetstar52. These are definately not RECS80 signals. I don't think Rob has written an executor for this signal. I looked in the file section for a Mark Levinson upgrade with a custom protocol, but couldn't find any other Mark Levinson upgrades at all. The LookUp tool has a few codes that use the RECS80 setup, but this is not the similar to these signals.

I don't know what Mark Levinson equipment is, (I'm only a JP1er for the clean coffee table Rolling Eyes )

We need more information from you.

1) We need a complete list of functions. Rob prefers to work from learns in IR files, and I already have your ICT files for comparison. We need the functions names too. Please add the function names in the notes.

2) what is your target remote.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.


Last edited by vickyg2003 on Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I don't know what Mark Levinson equipment is, (I'm only a JP1er for the clean coffee table Rolling Eyes )

They're a high-end audio manufacturer who specializes on amplifiers, preamps, and digital audio processors. http://www.marklevinson.com/

It would also be nice to know exactly which model your "friend" has, that way we could pric... I mean, have other means of obtai... I mean, locate compatible IR codes.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18996
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a spreadsheet that converts ICT data into IR data, so here's an IR version of the learns...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9919
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18996
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what the data looks like...

+5950 -2500 010010001100010110 +310 -57000 - vol+
+5950 -2500 010010001100001111 +310 -56000 - vol-
+5950 -2500 010010001100100100 +310 -58000 - mute
+5950 -2500 010010000001010010 +310 -59000 - Toggle standby
+5950 -2500 010010001110010001 +310 -57000 - go
+5950 -2500 010010001110001000 +310 -58000 - exit
+5950 -2500 010010001110100011 +310 -56000 - input 1
+5950 -2500 010010001110111010 +310 -55000 - input 2
+5950 -2500 010010001111000111 +310 -55000 - input 3
+5950 -2500 010010001111011110 +310 -54000 - input 4
+5950 -2500 010010001111101100 +310 -55000 - input 5

Where
0 = +310 -1200
1 = +310 -2200
freq = 38k

I'd like to see the complete set, with the buttons properly labeled, before trying to determine which portion is the OBC and whether there's a checksum involved. If it wasn't for the 4th signal, I would have said that the last 8 bits where the OBC.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, everyone. The unit is a 383 integrated amplifier, and the target remote is either a 10820N or a RCRP05B. I don't have my notes with me now, so I'll post the list of commands for each signal in a few hours.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18996
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just FYI, there is an experimental version of IRScope that has a new Capture Wizard that might make capturing and notating the regular buttons easier.

More details here...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13373
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18996
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a picture of the remote here. It looks like there are just 11 buttons, so I'm guessing that we do have the complete set. The buttons are:

standby
setup
enter
select+
select-
volume+
volume-
polarity
balance
display
mute
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the remote, but the physical buttons call only a subset of the amp's possible ir commands. The ones in the file I posted include discrete commands for power and input selection. I've reposted the ICT file, this time with each command name in the notes:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9920

The original remote is housed in a sturdy block of machined aluminum, befitting the princely sum charged for the amp, but despite that, the remote is as vulnerable to leaky carbon-zinc batteries as the cheapest Coby brand DVD player's remote, and the original remote is corroded beyond repair. So how does one get the ir codes? One of the things one gets for one's $$$ in this amp is a "teach IR" function, which will blast the IR commands from the amp's front panel display for learning. Sweet.

If possible, I'd like to create a device upgrade for use in a 10820N and/or a RCP05B.

Thanks once more for all of your help.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I learned Volume Up and Volume Down from the Mark Levinson 383 amp. The learns are included in this 10820N IR file:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9921
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jetstar52 wrote:
T
The original remote is housed in a sturdy block of machined aluminum, befitting the princely sum charged for the amp, but despite that, the remote is as vulnerable to leaky carbon-zinc batteries as the cheapest Coby brand DVD player's remote, and the original remote is corroded beyond repair. So how does one get the ir codes? One of the things one gets for one's $$$ in this amp is a "teach IR" function, which will blast the IR commands from the amp's front panel display for learning. Sweet.
.



That's very interesting feature. I wonder if this sends out the same type of signals as the remote. I've had several pieces of equipment that respond to different types of signals. Did you try the RECS80 values?

It appears that the remote has signals that are not part of your capture.
enter
select+
select-
polarity
balance
display

I can't find any pattern to the binary. I do see that when conutned left to right the bits 9 and 10 are 11 unless unless bits 11 and 12 = 01.

I can write something to work like that for the signals given for the 10820n, but I have a feeling that its not that simple, and that this is going to come back and haunt me like the "Yamaha gap helper" did when more information is known.

Rob do you see any other pattern here?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Vicky. I captured only the signals I would need for macros and day-to-day operation. I guess I should have included everything. Unfortunately, the couple I'm doing this for, and their amp, are about three hours away, so I won't be getting access to the equipment for testing purposes.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18996
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jet, are you able to capture the 6 remaining buttons?

Here's an upgrade to try...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9924
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. I'll load the upgrade into a remote and ship off to my friend for testing. It may be a week or so before I'll know if it works. At that time, I may be able to get the other commands learned.

Thanks so much for your help!
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you test it with IRScope before you send it out. I'm having trouble with the upgrade on the 10820n. I'm not sure if something i'm doing wrong, or if there is something wrong with the upgrade itself.

Edit:

It looks a little better on the Atlas 3033, but looks like Rob has the zero's and one's reversed.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central