JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

METechs Drapery Control
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
So the duration of the 1 bits is slightly shorter than standard F12.


3FG, in the jp1 world, those numbers are identical, its only this drapery device that this EXTREME precision was needed. If electronics normally needed this close a timing none of our upgrades would ever work. The timings from a widget, an RCA remote, or a URC-8811 will all be slightly different from each other. When working on this upgrade, I tried to capture the signals with my "bench" RCA, but the learns were about 4u different from the learns kkl was showing us, so I had to grab one of my working 8811's to get a learn with the same timings as kkl's 8811. If kkl hadn't had two learning remotes, we never would have been able to get this to work because every capture device is slightly different.

Quote:
But I'm curious: The format of the open/close/stop signals is not standard F12. For example, Open is function 8.1 sent as a pair followed by the signal in a second pair. But the 4th signal is device 0.0, function 0. This is not a legal F12 signal, because it imples that none of the 3 groups of buttons was pressed.


In the upgrade that worked, the device 0.0, function 0 signal was not included. It was the precise timing along with using only a 2 frame or 2 frame space 2 frame style that did the trick.
--
-- --
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3251

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, Vicky, I know all of that. I'm curious why kkl's Pronto Hex had that "extra" signal included, and why it had differences in timing compared to the Pronto Hex that would be generated by the F12.irp file which is distributed with MakeHex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kkl, the pronto code that you posted is slightly different than the code that's generated from the learns in the IR file. I'm curious, how did you generate those codes? Could you do me a favor and see if the codes below also work.

OPEN
0000 006D 0030 0000 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43

CLOSE
0000 006D 0030 0000 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43

STOP
0000 006D 0030 0000 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0D43

8
0000 006D 0018 0000 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0538 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0030 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 1368
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
kkl, the pronto code that you posted is slightly different than the code that's generated from the learns in the IR file. I'm curious, how did you generate those codes? Could you do me a favor and see if the codes below also work.


Absolutely. That's the least I can do.

To my surprise, they don't work; none of them. The learns I posted probably weren't very clean. I was just happy they worked. I've recaptured the original remote buttons (via EventGhost and MCE Vista/Win7 Plug-in). I presume these are cleaner because they're shorter, and these work.

OPEN
0000 0072 0000 0018 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 04F5 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 0E34

CLOSE
0000 0072 0000 0018 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 0E34

STOP
0000 0072 0000 0018 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 04F5 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 0E34
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because I figure that someone will be curious, I'll also post the captures from the new upgraded protocol in the 15-2117. I couldn't get a "short" learn from the JP1 remote, except for '8'. These all work.

OPEN
0000 0072 0000 0030 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 002D 0010 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 04F5 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 0C9D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 0E34

CLOSE
0000 0072 0000 0030 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 002F 000F 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 0C9F 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 0E34

STOP
0000 0072 0000 0030 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 002F 000F 0010 002D 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 0C9F 000F 002D 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000F 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 04F3 0010 002D 0010 002D 000F 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 002F 000F 0010 002C 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002C 0010 0E34

8
0000 0073 0000 0018 0010 002B 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002B 0010 002D 002F 000E 0010 002B 002F 000E 0010 002D 0010 002B 0010 002D 0010 04E8 0010 002D 0010 002D 0010 002B 0010 002D 0010 002D 002D 000E 0010 002D 002F 000E 000E 002D 0010 002D 0010 002D 000E 0E14
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that, and your results are interesting. The reason that you couldn't get a short learn from the upgrade is because I forced it to send the signal twice. The reason I say it's interesting is because all of the signals that you posted repeat, which is something that we thought needed to be avoided. Also, your short signals don't have anything in them to ensure that you get at least 2 repeats.

This has me re-thinking the whole approach that we took earlier. I am now thinking that the only problem was the timing difference. I will come up with a new upgrade later which uses the standard F12 executor, except with the modified timings to see if that also works.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if this remote isn't the same as the Kallox posted about here, at least it looks very similar.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13140
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's the same signal! Good find.

Stand by for a new upgrade file either later today or tomorrow.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As further confirmation of this, I found a Kallox device to load into my Monster AVL-300 (equivalent to Logitech Harmony). It does control the METechs device. I found the Kallox website and the drapery controller looks exactly like what I have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here goes, this file has two upgrades in it, one on CBL and one on SAT. The CBL one uses an exact copy of the F12 executor with just the burst times changed. And just in case that doesn't work, the SAT version has both the burst times changed and the carrier frequency.

(Save your current file so you can quickly restore afterwards)

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9835
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about that? Both actually work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it was just the burst times after all. Well, we got there in the end.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you going to post a revised protocol upgrade or just leave it as is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18995
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will probably update it, just for the sake of completion.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kkl



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I don't know how to read the EventGhost/TIRA code so I don't know what effect the differences would have. Do you know how to read it, or is it documented somewhere.


In case someone Google's this thread, I'm adding this info provided to me by TIRA's developer:
"The data that you see is an internal encoded, it is not directly related to the serial protocol.

Where you see the alternating 01 and 00, that is the actual IR code.
Each byte has two fields. upper 4 bits represent the burst, lower -
space. So in the byte 01 "zero" is burst, and "1" is the space. The
duration of those is taken from an array. The first entry of which is
00 00 00 35, 4 bytes per entry. To get the time in uS you need to
multiply that value by 8.

We have a better way to capture and analyze IR codes, the attached
program TiraCMD.

It saves codes in CCF format that are easier to read. "

I've uploaded the program here - TiraCMD: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9856
Sample command line: tiracmd.exe -verbose -remote=Test -capture -port=COM9

The learns seem to be very inconsistent. I finally got a reproducible OPEN button:

Code:

IR Code captured,size = 501 bytes!
Data 0000 006D 0030 0000 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 051D 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 0010 0D01 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 051D 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010 002F 0010 002F 002F 0010 0010 002F 0010
002F 0010 002F 0010 0005


Unfortunately, I still don't know how to get Pronto codes back into an EventGhost TIRA Plug-in format.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 6 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central