JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Trouble decoding IO-Data HVT-BCT300 in IRScope 2.01
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Trouble decoding IO-Data HVT-BCT300 in IRScope 2.01 Reply with quote

Protocol shows up as Gap-etc. Device/subdevice and data seem to be coming through OK. I have some other I-O Data remotes I've captured with the same setup that get decoded properly as I-O Data protocol.

Here is the ICT file:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9755

Thanks!

DL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well its a very simple MSB protocol.

What's your target remote?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vicky, my target remote is the Vulkano Gondar UEI chip. What protocol should I use in RM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18828
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The learns appear to be a variation of the NEC format, except that the first three bytes are fixed and the 4th byte varies.

Here's the data for the 2nd set:
10100001 11000111 11100100 10111000 power
10100001 11000111 11100100 11011000 reverse
10100001 11000111 11100100 11010100 play
10100001 11000111 11100100 01110100 Fast forward
10100001 11000111 11100100 11010100 pause
10100001 11000111 11100100 11001100 Back
10100001 11000111 11100100 10101100 Stop
10100001 11000111 11100100 10011100 Next
10100001 11000111 11100100 10110100 info / display
10100001 11000111 11100100 01001011 Menu
10100001 11000111 11100100 00111100 Exit
10100001 11000111 11100100 01110010 Guide
10100001 11000111 11100100 01101100 Menu Up
10100001 11000111 11100100 10010011 Menu Down
10100001 11000111 11100100 00111010 Menu Left
10100001 11000111 11100100 10101001 Menu Right
10100001 11000111 11100100 11000110 Menu Select
10100001 11000111 11100100 11100010 Channel Up (Avel)
10100001 11000111 11100100 11010010 channnel Down (TV)
10100001 11000111 11100100 11001010 Last Channel (DATA)
10100001 11000111 11100100 10100110 Digit1
10100001 11000111 11100100 01100110 Digit2
10100001 11000111 11100100 10010110 Digit3
10100001 11000111 11100100 01010110 Digit4
10100001 11000111 11100100 00110110 Digit5
10100001 11000111 11100100 10001110 Digit6
10100001 11000111 11100100 01001110 Digit7
10100001 11000111 11100100 00101110 Digit8
10100001 11000111 11100100 11010001 Digit9
10100001 11000111 11100100 01110001 Digit0 (11/0)
10100001 11000111 11100100 01011010 Channel Enter,100 (Number Direct)
10100001 11000111 11100100 01101010 Title
10100001 11000111 11100100 10011010 Audio Language
10100001 11000111 11100100 10110001 Custom 38 (10)
10100001 11000111 11100100 11001001 Custom 39 (12)
10100001 11000111 11100100 11101000 Custom 40 (display Change)
10100001 11000111 11100100 01101001 Custom 41 (Blue)
10100001 11000111 11100100 10011001 Custom 42 (Green)
10100001 11000111 11100100 00111001 Custom 43 (Yellow)
10100001 11000111 11100100 01011100 Custom 44 (Home)
10100001 11000111 11100100 10110010 Page Up (Channel Up)
10100001 11000111 11100100 10101010 Page Down (Channel Down)
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
The first set of learns appear to be the same protocol as those used for the Samsung DCB i560G:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12816


Rob, what first set of learns? I've had a few mai tai's while sitting in the house avoiding HEAT, so I may be very far offbase here, but I only see one simple protocol with 3 fixed bytes and 1 variable byte of data. Timings are similar to the IODATA timings but its a 32 bit instead of 40 bit protocol.

Did you perhaps have IRSCope already open with a different ICT file? Or should I boot down the computer and stay off line until the alcohol is out of my system?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18828
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
Rob, what first set of learns? I've had a few mai tai's while sitting in the house avoiding HEAT, so I may be very far offbase here, but I only see one simple protocol with 3 fixed bytes and 1 variable byte of data. Timings are similar to the IODATA timings but its a 32 bit instead of 40 bit protocol.

Did you perhaps have IRSCope already open with a different ICT file? Or should I boot down the computer and stay off line until the alcohol is out of my system?

This isn't the first time I've been burned by the way that IRScope exports codes, the problem was there was already something in the export file, so that was the first set.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I had a problem with that too. Graham finally put in the "common Output folder", a.k.a the "vicky option", to make me a happy camper. It is easier for me to work with. With the common output folder I start out by changing the folder to my protocol project folder, then all the files (ICT, Summary.RTF, and Exportxxx files) all are collected together in my project folder.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky's been gently prodding me to release a newer version of DecodeIR.dll with e.g. the Apple IR protocol included, and I'm working on it.

But I am a little disappointed that the version 2.42 Beta that I uploaded last December was apparently not used here, by either Vicky or Rob. It reports the decodes as NEC1-f16, and lists (in hexadecimal format) all of the function codes.

I've reached the conclusion that a beta of this sort of utility isn't workable: only Alan Richey provided any feedback, and I guess it isn't reasonable to expect folks to replace the currently working DecodeIR.dll with one which may have errors. After all, one doesn't really need a new version until encountering an IR signal that isn't decoded correctly by a previous version.

DecodeIR.dll impacts IRScope, IR.exe, RMIR, IRTool, and--in some instances--MakeHex. I don't see how we can get a new version incorporated into all of these programs more or less simultaneously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Digital Larry wrote:
Hi Vicky, my target remote is the Vulkano Gondar UEI chip. What protocol should I use in RM?


Well, I think you need a custom protocol, although I might not have up to date tools. I have attempted to create a custom protocol, but I haven't tested it. I'll test it tomorrow, but I know you are in a different time zone, so I posted a work in process for you to try out .

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9756

3FG wrote:
But I am a little disappointed that the version 2.42 Beta that I uploaded last December was apparently not used here, by either Vicky or Rob. It reports the decodes as NEC1-f16, and lists (in hexadecimal format) all of the function codes.

I've reached the conclusion that a beta of this sort of utility isn't workable: only Alan Richey provided any feedback, and I guess it isn't reasonable to expect folks to replace the currently working DecodeIR.dll with one which may have errors. After all, one doesn't really need a new version until encountering an IR signal that isn't decoded correctly by a previous version.



Well, I totally missed your post last December, I had a houseful of company. I know you had something in the works, but I didn't realize it was available to me.

Two things you can do when something isn't getting the attention (in this case download count) 1, bump the thread, and 2 PM some of the heavy hitters.

I'll download this tomorrow and update my tools.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed Oops, I should have waited until I tested. I had all the bits reveresed. I updated the link.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9756

I'd like to move this to the appropriate file area. Exactly what is this iodata thing?
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18828
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
But I am a little disappointed that the version 2.42 Beta that I uploaded last December was apparently not used here, by either Vicky or Rob. It reports the decodes as NEC1-f16, and lists (in hexadecimal format) all of the function codes.

I didn't know there was a new version, or if I did I have forgotten. I really don't have much free time for JP1 these days, so I only tend to browse and not get involved too much, especially if I see that somebody else is already helping.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3144
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
I've reached the conclusion that a beta of this sort of utility isn't workable: only Alan Richey provided any feedback, and I guess it isn't reasonable to expect folks to replace the currently working DecodeIR.dll with one which may have errors.

Dave, probably all the JP1 software has bugs. I know for certain that I have been guilty of issuing new versions in which something previously working is no longer doing so, and have had to fix it in a later release. Obviously we don't want reckless untested revisions but our software won't advance unless we issue our best shot at things and then deal with any issues that emerge from users.

3FG wrote:
DecodeIR.dll impacts IRScope, IR.exe, RMIR, IRTool, and--in some instances--MakeHex. I don't see how we can get a new version incorporated into all of these programs more or less simultaneously.

I see no need for simultaneous new releases to deal with the update of a utility like DecodeIR.dll. Users are often very slow to adopt new versions in any case. so even if it were to be done, it would only percolate slowly through the user base. What I do think is necessary, though, is for any new "official" (as distinct from beta) release of DecodeIR.dll to have compiled versions for Windows, Linux and Mac OS X all included. I imagine Greg would be willing to compile the Linux version, as he has done in the past. The Mac OS X version for DecodeIR v2.41 was compiled by alex750. I haven't checked to see if he is still active.

I encourage you to make an official release of DecodeIR.dll v2.42 and to make an announcement in the Software forum. Remove the announcement status from my announcement of v2.41, so that it reverts to an ordinary post, and put a link that post in your new announcement. That way there is an easy back trail if there are any issues with v2.42 and someone wants to go back to v2.41.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thanks for all the updates. I was on vacation last week and didn't see this until today.

http://www.iodata.jp/product/av/tuner/hvt-bct300/

Google Language Tools will translate it for you.

The I-O Data thing is a terrestrial HDTV tuner sold in Japan. I-O Data is distributing the Monsoon Vulkano Flow over there.

Cheers,

DL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info. I moved the file from the diagnosis area into the digital STB area. Same link.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, just to follow up here,

#1 I loaded the TXT file that Vicky posted into RM, reassigned the keys to buttons for the UEI Gondar chip, etc. and loaded it up to my Vulkano. When playing back into IR Scope, I am just getting "unknown protocol",

#2 HOWEVER - IR Scope itself seems a bit squirrely now as I am getting the same result for every remote I try.

#3 Furthermore, the manufacturer of the remote sent me some information confirming that this is an NEC protocol. Each button has what is called the "Custom code": 85 E3. Following that, each button has 2 more bytes, the first of which is always 27 and then the final one is unique per button.

I am going through the NEC protocols in Remote Master to see which one would possibly allow me to enter the data in such a way. I'm a "paint by numbers" guy as far as this IR stuff goes so I could easily be overlooking something the rest of you find incredibly obvious.

Thanks,

DL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central