JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Remote for Albis Scenegate 8500
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:48 am    Post subject: Remote for Albis Scenegate 8500 Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I want to control my albis scenegate 8500 with my slingcathcer at my workplace. unfortunately there aren't any *.bin files yet.

I got a pdf file from the manufacturer listing the hex values of the buttons, e.g. Power button = 0x0008 etc....
Can I create with this information my own *.bin file with help of the remoteMaster?

Sorry abt this nooby question.

Thanks in advance

noclue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need more than just a keycode, you need protocol information and maybe device/fixed data, which could be supplied in a number of ways and may well be included in the pdf - easiest way for us to answer your question is if we can see the file the manufacturer supplied.

However, I can also download that device from the Harmony database, and learn the protocol/keys, so I'll do that, in the next couple of hours, and upload an rmdu you can check against the codes you have.


Last edited by jimdunn on Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:55 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:51 am    Post subject: Re: Remote for Albis Scenegate 8000 Reply with quote

 
Ok, I downloaded Albis scenegate 8000 from the Harmony database -
it decodes as: NEC1 ; Device 134 ; SubDevice 227

noclue wrote:

Can I create with this information my own *.bin file with help of the remoteMaster?

Instructions to create your own bin file(s) are here:
Wiki:Creating your own Binary files using RemoteMaster
Don't forget to upload the files you create, for others to share...

I uploaded a full rmdu here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9519
Power is OBC 8, which matches your post, so it might be easiest just to use the rmdu I uploaded if you check a few others and they match.

You may want to check/adjust button mappings before before generating your BIN file(s)...

If you get any problems, upload the pdf you got from the manufacturer here, and post a link to the file you upload back in this thread, telling us what went wrong, and we'll take a look.

enjoy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your support. I'll try my very best to get this done.
See you in a few weeks Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh damn it -.-
SceneGate 8500 is my box....I'm so sorry, I had 8000 in my head because this was my old box...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noclue wrote:
Oh damn it -.-
SceneGate 8500 is my box....I'm so sorry, I had 8000 in my head because this was my old box...

I'm afraid you're out of luck with Harmony's database on that one - it's not there - perhaps too new Crying or Very sad

Try what I posted for the 8000, it may work anyway - sometimes manufacturers use the same codes and protocols for different devices.
You can check the OBC numbers in the rmdu against the function/button codes you have.
If the protocol/device numbers are the same, and the OBCs match then you could get lucky. If not, we'll have to dig a bit deeper

I created the BIN files as well, in case you get stuck making your own:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9520

If it doesn't work, upload the pdf you got from the manufacturer here, and post a link to the file you upload back in this thread, telling us what went wrong, and we'll take a look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh thats too bad. I've already created my own *.bin file and uploaded it in the file section. But thanks for yours. It worked out for my old box. The 8500 will be connected tmrw so I can test it then.
Thank you very much for your help, I'll keep you posted if it works or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

noclue wrote:
I've already created my own *.bin file and uploaded it in the file section.
I missed that. Thanks for uploading the file Smile
noclue wrote:
But thanks for yours. It worked out for my old box.
Great - that confirms it is useful for scenegate 8000 users...
noclue wrote:
The 8500 will be connected tmrw so I can test it then.
Thank you very much for your help, I'll keep you posted if it works or not.
Cool - if it doesn't work then we can have a look at your pdf to see if it helps us work it out.
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys.
The codes of the SceneGate 8000 don't work for the 8500 Sad
Can somebody check the Harmony database if there are any updates?
Really want to get the Slingbox working...

Another idea:

I've got some good contacts to Albis (manufacturer of the Cable Box). Which information would be necessary for you in order to create a customized *.bin file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,
I uploaded the thing that I received from the manufacturer. Maybe it helps

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9546
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3482
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Afraid not. Doesn't mean a thing to me. I'm leaving Jim to run with this one, but if the device is not in the Harmony database there is nothing he can do.

Have you tried learning the buttons using http://remotes.slingbox.com ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19603
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noclue wrote:
Hey,
I uploaded the thing that I received from the manufacturer. Maybe it helps

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9546

Try this...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9547
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, first of all thank you!
Second: Can you tell me what I should do with you *.txt. Rolling Eyes
I'm a newbie here ... Confused

best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3482
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've packaged it up for you as a complete system, including instructions

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9549

Al
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noclue



Joined: 01 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

didn't workI'll post the log later

Last edited by noclue on Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:48 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central