JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-9811 IR Command center randomly turning on my TV

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Electronics Repair
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jhulbert



Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:26 am    Post subject: URC-9811 IR Command center randomly turning on my TV Reply with quote

I have the all for one 8 device remote control and it works great except the IR command console randomly turns on my TV without touching the remote. I searched the forums and there was talk of a hack to alleviate this problem but I cannot find it. I notice there is a red LED that does do a lot of blinking on it. Hard to see because of the red screen in front of it.

Is this a common fixable problem? I am pretty good with a soldering iron

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhulbert wrote:
I cannot find it.

I've no experience of this actual issue, never having personally used this unit, but, in case it saves you some searching time, these 2 threads seem to be ones which discuss the "random red flashes" and some related issues...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4213

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2935
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jhulbert



Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Number 2935 was the ticket. Sounds as simple as stacking another resistor.

Thanks a lot for the help!!

Once I apply the fix I'll reply with the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhulbert wrote:
Once I apply the fix I'll reply with the results.

Great - look forward to the results - feedback is very important to us here.
I hope it solves your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 682

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a neigbor has the same tv and IR repeater using the same frequency.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimdunn



Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 544
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaskedMan wrote:
Sounds like a neigbor has the same tv and IR repeater using the same frequency.

Great call that never occurred to me - I guess I'd maybe expect random "turning offs", "channel changes" and other stuff to perhaps also happen if that were the case.

But if it were just a similar TV, where just the "On" signal was common - or another TV/other device and signal close enough to cause problems through a similar repeater...

Or the neighbour just watches TV at different times...Smile

Hmm. Certainly worth investigation... Couldn't hurt to ask around.

Running with this lovely theory - the unexplained "blinks" on the unit that don't cause anything to happen to the OP's equipment, and aren't caused by his own remote, could, I guess, be the majority of the neighbour's commands that don't affect the OP's equipment in any way, but still get repeated?

...Regardless, that's all still "interference" - so, whatever the source, could still possibly be solved by reducing sensitivity...

I don't know if you can alter the channel/frequency of these gadgets - but if you can, I'd probably be considering that, if it's easy to test.

It'd be too simple a solution for there just to be a built in "unit id" which the user can set, I guess.
(I know very little about these "command centers", except that they repeat IR signals, so just throwing stuff out - one of our neighbours got the same cheap RF cordless doorbell as we have, and it was setting ours off - turned out there were 4 jumpers in the transmitter unit to set a unit ID (channel/frequency, I assume) - once we altered that, no more problems...)

Of course, in this case, the RF transmitter is the remote control itself, so altering channel/frequency for both that and its receiver may not be such an easy option, I haven't been able to do enough simple/lazy research to know the answer to that, sorry... Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zaphod7501



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 528
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Low batteries in a remote have also been known to cause them to send random commands without pressing buttons.
_________________
Just call me Zaphod (or Steve) --- I never should have started using numbers in a screen name but I just can't stop now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Electronics Repair All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central