JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Plex Player Remote
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:41 am    Post subject: Plex Player Remote Reply with quote

I have been asked to build a remote for the Plex Player as someone has uploaded it to the Harmony database.

IRSCOPE/DECODEIR don't understand it, and I must admit I have never seen a case like this where the OBC code is the same for multiple buttons.

I have uploaded the ICT for a number of buttons at http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9074 Before I spend a long time (there are lots of buttons) could someone take a look at them to see if they make any sort of sense ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When decodeIR doesn't recognize a protocol, its not that unusual for the OBC's to be miscalculated.

In this case, a quick look at the MISC column tells me that this protocol is not very simple.

Edit: I had an analasis of the Misc column here, but then I looked at the picture in IRScope, and I can see that the MISC column does not match the picture, so I need to use ROB's new tool to convert the IRScope UEI Learn format into an IR file so I can make use of the Timings Summary.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple of the learns were bad, they are missing the first part of the signal, but this is fixed data so we can assume that this will be the same in the other signals. Alan has explained to me before that the harmony database is made up of learns.

Code:
0   38461   Once:   +9000 -4500 01110111 11100001 1110 0000 0101 1001+550 -39150
1   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0101 0000 1110 1001+550 -39150
2   38461   Once:   +9000 -4500 01110111 11100001 0011 0000 1110 1001+550 -39150
3   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1001 0000 1110 1001+550 -39150
4   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0110 0000 1110 1001+550 -39150
5   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1001 0000 0001 1001+600 -41350
6   38277   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0110 0000 0001 1001+600 -41350
7   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0001 0000 1001 1001+600 -41350
8   38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1110 0000 1001 1001+550 -39150       
9   38277   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0001 0000 0101 1001+600 -41350
Up        38647   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1101 0000 0110 1001+550 -39150
Down      38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1011 0000 0110 1001+550 -39150
Left      38277   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0001 0000 0110 1001+600 -41350
Right     38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 1110 0000 0110 1001+550 -39150
Select    38461   Once:   +9000 -4450 01110111 11100001 0010 0000 0110 1001+550 -41350
Power     38461   Once:   +9000 -4500 01110111 11100001 1100 0000 1011 1001+550 -39150

_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18444
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky, could you post your IR file please, to save me having to re-create it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, here it is. Your tool really made this easy!

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9075
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18444
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give this a try...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9076
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob

No luck I'm afraid, user reports it didn't work. I got him to do some learns at http://remotes.slingbox.com using the original remote and analysed them, but they just confirmed the signals I was getting from my Harmony were correct.

I guess that's it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18444
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, it means I need to sample the signals generated by my protocol to confirm if they look like they are supposed to. If they don't, I'll fix them.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18444
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the problem, I had the wrong leadout selected. To fix it, select the protocol code and change "87 04" to "87 44"

43 89 41 8B 12 87 44 08 00 01 13 03 25 01 13 00 FF 4C 2C 11 94 08 B6 08 07 18 C0 F0 C1 56 C0 F0 56 C1 F0 44 C0 05 44 C1 06 8D 01 46
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was what it was already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

User has now lost interest as he has managed to get a fully working remote through http://remotes.slingbox.com. So if we carry on now it's purely for an intellectual exercise Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18444
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's wasn't, it was "04" before and it's "44" now. With the "04" value, you don't get an ON prefix to the leadout time, with the "44" value you do. That's what I had to fix to get the code working.

Please remind him that when he asks for help, and experts jump in and provides that help, the least he can do is complete the process by testing the upgrade.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I understand now. I hadn't realised you had changed the download link as well as describing the change. I'll tell him to try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3374
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, he reports back it still doesn't work. Any other thoughts ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6954
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is where my Etch A Sketch approach works so well.

The timings are a bit off as seen below.



The timings need a slight tweak so that the images look the same. Timings numbers don't have to be exact, but the picture needs to look the same for it to work.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central