JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

code for diagnosis

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jr_G-man



Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:37 am    Post subject: code for diagnosis Reply with quote

I just tried to 'learn' the 'source' key on my Philips 5500 satellite receiver remote. When I upload it to IR and view the learned keys, I find this error message:

"This signal contains a section that IR doesn't know how to analyze. Please save this data and post it in the diagnostics sections of the jp1 group, and post a message indicating that you have done so."

So, the saved txt file is located at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/files/Diagnosis%20Area/error_message.txt

Let me know whatever you find. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think any of us know, nor are likely to figure out, why your 8811 learned that signal as three seperate copies of the repeating frame, rather than detecting the repeat pattern.

We do understand (though IR's message has not been updated accordingly) that a signal is stored in that strange way when it is too big to be stored the normal way. (And it is too big because it is three copies, rather than one copy flaged as repeating).

For your purposes, you should just get the Device number and either OBC or EFC from the decode (they are correct despite all the above issues). Use those in a KeyMove or Upgrade and delete the learned signal.

Even if an RC6 signal were learned perfectly, it wouldn't work perfectly, because RC6 has a toggle bit that can't work correctly in a learned signal. RC6 should always be converted to a KeyMove or part of an upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jr_G-man



Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll do that. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jr_G-man



Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As it turned out, the 'source' key was already defined and assigned on my remote to the 'TV/VCR' button. So, I created this headache over nothing. Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central