JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Phone Upgrade mode UCR-9960?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
providers



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:45 am    Post subject: Phone Upgrade mode UCR-9960? Reply with quote

The remote can be upgraded by phone and I looked for the upgrade procedure everywhere, with no luck.

How do I enter upgrade mode???


Rgs.
.:: Providers ::.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daveoram



Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dont know if it uses the same procedure as on my one4all remote, but try holding down the SETUP key till you get the two flashes or the setup message and then press POWER. Its worth a try anyway.

Dave
_________________
I remember my wedding day like it was yesterday.
If it had been tomorrow I wouldn't have turned up!

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aberguerand
Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Lausanne, VD, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The phone upgrade procedure for the european Kameleon is described in this post.

Alain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
providers



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Dont know if it uses the same procedure as on my one4all remote, but try holding down the SETUP key till you get the two flashes or the setup message and then press POWER. Its worth a try anyway.


I dont think this is the way, the setup end befour it has recived the sounds



Quote:
The phone upgrade procedure for the european Kameleon is described in this post.


Yep, I have read the post.
But Im not sure it is right what is posted there.

I got a email from offasupport:
We do have codes for all five of the devices that you listed. Some of these codes may not be in the Kameleon remote control right away. If they are not, all you would need to do is call up customer support and they would add them for you right over the phone!

But im living in Denmark so it would be a little cheaper to download the codes from the internet. The Europe site has these codes and I would like to send them to my remote. (the codes has the same setup number as the support wrote to me)

But here comes the trouble, I cant enter Upgrade mode.
There must be one uot there who has tryed to upgrade there remote.
Eather from phone or the net.

Rgs.
.:: Providers ::.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silron1



Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 95
Location: Manchester - UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OFA will not upgrade a URC 9960 with European codes. They say the software is different. This remote is made for the American market. The URC 8060 is the European version.

However there is a simple answer - Buy or make a JP1 cable and with the learning facility you can do whatever you require.


Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
providers



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is wierd...

The Email says that they have European codes and thay can update my remote.

One of the codes I need is from a danish product (KISS DVD) it has only been sold in europa, and they claim to have the codes.

I think I have to call them.



btw. this JP1 cable, to use this I need my org. remote to learn the codes, right?
one of my remotes is broken so this isent possible or can I download codes and use the cable?


Rgs.
.:: Providers ::.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silron1



Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 95
Location: Manchester - UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you have JP1 and its associated free software you can always search the files at Yahoo to see if there is already an upgrade made by someone else.

There is always confusion between the European OFA support and the USA support. When you e-mailed them did you mail Europe or USA support. From your post I suggest you mailed Europe and of course they would have the codes you need but did you tell them it was for a URC 9960 Kameleon 8?.

I speak from personal experience because I bought a 9960 in USA and went through all this and in the end I sold it cheaply on e-bay because I could not get it correctly coded by OFA.

After I did this I discovered JP1 and have been crying about it ever since

Ron Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
providers



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not tell them that I come from Denmark, but I wrot this to them:

I am planning to buy the Kameleon - URC 9960 remote.
But I can't find my brand/models in the code index.

Can you tell me if the remote can control these brand/models?
And if it can control them, can you the send the codes?


TV (Nokia) FS71E1
TV (Philips) S GR2-1 AA
SAT (FORCE) 1122
DVD (Kiss) DP500 = (Philips) Remote RC5
Audio system (Denon) D-100

---------------------------------------------------------------------------


And got this anwser:


We do have codes for all five of the devices that you listed. Some of these codes may not be in the Kameleon remote control right away. If they are not, all you would need to do is call up customer support and they would add them for you right over the phone!


TVs ------------------ <TV Group>: Philips
0037, 0054, 0645, 0690, 1354, 1454


TVs ------------------ <TV Group>: Nokia

0606, 0607, 0631


Digital Video Disk -- <DVD Group>: Kiss
0665


Satellite Receivers - <SAT Group>: Force
1101, 1194


Audio Amp/Tuners ---- <TUN Group>: Denon
0004, 0273, 0386, 0771, 1104, 1142, 1311, 1360, 1660




One more question:

The thing I need is a pogo adaptor and a JP1 cable to this remote, right?


Rgs
.:: Providers ::.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

providers wrote:
call up customer support and they would add them for you right over the phone!

But im living in Denmark so it would be a little cheaper to download the codes from the internet. The Europe site has these codes and I would like to send them to my remote. (the codes has the same setup number as the support wrote to me)

But here comes the trouble, I cant enter Upgrade mode.


I'm pretty sure a 9960 can't use a .wav file upgrade made for another model remote (even a different model Kameleon).

I'm sure the method to enter upgrade mode is described for the 9960 somewhere in this forum, though I don't happen to know it. Also that upgrade mode in the remote acts the same whether the upgrade is arriving over a phone or from a .wav file. But, I think OFA has a policy of providing internet .wav upgrades only for the non USA models and providing only telephone upgrades for the USA models that could have used .wav files if they were provided.

You should use a pogo adapater to use a JP1 cable with the 9960, and a JP1 cable is certainly the easier and better way to upgrade the remote.

But, if you find (or have enough information to build) JP1 upgrade files for your devices, you don't absolutely need the cable. You can use some of the JP1 sostware to convert your upgrade files into a .wav file. It's a rarely used method since you need to understand JP1 software better to do that than to upgrade by cable and anyone who understands the software that well probably has the cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nils_Ekberg
Expert


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1689
Location: Near Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the modem download task is 997 from the setup mode. In the doc there is a picture of upgrading and how to hold the phone meaning where the modem is.
_________________
Nils
Files Section
Diagnosis File Section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18265
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

providers wrote:

DVD (Kiss) DP500 = (Philips) Remote RC5

Digital Video Disk -- <DVD Group>: Kiss
0665

I don't know if DVD/0665 is the right code for the Kiss because it's not an RC5 code, but if it is the right code, you can use the "Raite AV715" file in the DVD folder as it's the same as DVD/0665.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4767
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a CCF file for the Kiss DP-500, and it uses RC5 device 25. I think that whoever said it was DVD/0665 must have been mistaken.

I haven't noticed any UEI setup codes for RC5:25, and among the many CCF files I've downloaded for DVD players only Arcam and Kiss use RC5:25.

But an upgrade would be easy to create from the information in one of those Arcam or Kiss CCF files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
providers



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanks for all your help until now.



I cant reach the Support ;(


So Please help me out here.
What JP1 interface and cable do i need to build?

Can you plz. post a link to schematik, then I can make it myself Smile


I will start reading some off the guides and se if I can find out off this,
Im realy confused now, I thought that I bought a nice remote and the only thing I had to do was a easy upgrade, but it looks like it isent is so easy at all.

Rgs.
.:: Providers ::.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18265
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
There is a CCF file for the Kiss DP-500, and it uses RC5 device 25. I think that whoever said it was DVD/0665 must have been mistaken.

I haven't noticed any UEI setup codes for RC5:25, and among the many CCF files I've downloaded for DVD players only Arcam and Kiss use RC5:25.

But an upgrade would be easy to create from the information in one of those Arcam or Kiss CCF files.

There were a bunch of OEMs that would re-badge players and Kiss was one of them that re-badged the player that also surfaced as the Raite AV715, Yamakawa, Tokei, etc, so the DVD/0665 code will work some Kiss players, just not this one.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central