JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

K-Box Prodigy & ReplayTV... need Pronto codes?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:55 am    Post subject: K-Box Prodigy & ReplayTV... need Pronto codes? Reply with quote

1. Device: K-Box Prodigy
2. Type of device: Satellite Receiver
3. Year: 2009
4. JP1/UEI Remote model: ReplayTV
5. Do you have a JP1 cable? Yes
6. Still have original remote? Yes
7. Checked the file section? Yes found this
8. Checked Pronto file section (at R/C)? Yes
9. Partially working setup code? No
10. Learning remote question? No

I've been trying to make a RID file for the KBox Prodigy but I have been unsuccessful. I have made files for several devices using either existing codes or learning them with my remote and I've never ran into this problem before.

There is an rmdu file online that I took the OBC values from. Using these values, I can make a file that works on my remote control but the RID I generate won't work on the ReplayTV.

I have also tried learing the codes with the remote but the values are exactly the same as those in the rmdu file.

I saw this thread http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8764 in which they had similar issues with a similar device (Conaxsat receiver). Their problems were solved by finding the pronto hex codes for their reciever. So does anyone have the pronto codes for the KBox Prodigy?

I compared the working RID file from that thread to the ones I have been trying and I did notice one difference... the KBox is supposed to be Device 2, Sub-Device 249. When I open the RID file and choose DecodeIR, the sub-device doesn't decode. I can fill the box in with 249 and re-save the file but it doesn't matter, when I re-open the RID file and reselect DecodeIR, no sub-device.

On the Conaxsat RID file, I can open it and select DecodeIR and the Sub-Device IS defined. I think this may have something to do with my problem.... Any feedback on this problem would be appreciated.

thanks!

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does your pronto hex look like? Here's the code that I get for "POWER", give this a try...

0000 006D 0022 0002 0157 00AC 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0689 0157 0056 0015 0E94
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok I pasted the code u supplied into RidGen under power and hit hex. It generated the hex code and I hit DecodeIR. It showed values of 55 EFC & 10 OBC, the same values as what I was using before. I generated a new RID file with NEC1, Device 2, SubDevice 249.

I loaded it on the ReplayTV and the only way I could figure to test the power button was to scroll to the menu where you select the codes and hit the > arrow... that is supposed to turn the box off if the code works. But it didn't turn the box off. None of the learned codes would work on the ReplayTV but they do work on the remote control.

My learning remote is a URC-8910 (that I bought from u!) and I have been getting the codes by using IR.exe (ver 7.03) & a JP1 cable (also from u).

BTW... when I reopen that RID file I just made in RidGen and hit DecodeIR, it still does not show a SubDevice value, is that normal? I noticed in the thread I mentioned that his file DOES generate a SubDevice value.

In that thread I mentioned, they indicated that they had gone through the same processes that I have with my unit and couldn't get the resulting RID file to work, even though all the numbers seemed correct. Same as my situation...

then usctrojan1 reported:
usctrojan1 wrote:
success> use the pronto ir learns rather than the uei/rm upgrade file to create the RID.


So I am curious about that. Do you think that there is any relevance there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18351
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fired up RIDGen myself so I could see for myself what's going on and you're right, MakeHex is not recognizing the sub-device code. So here's what I did, after running Makehex to generate the binary, I edited it to the correct value. Then I clicked DecodeIR to verify that it's good.

The binary without the sub-device code is:
=01000000101111110000100011110111+

And the same binary with the sub-device code is:
=01000000100111110000100011110111+

Here's the RID file that I generated.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7886
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoot13



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob you are smart! That RID file works like a charm!! I really appreciate you doing that, especially so quickly! It works scary good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central