JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

jp1.2/3 vs my usb hub did I break a port?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2302

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:26 pm    Post subject: jp1.2/3 vs my usb hub did I break a port? Reply with quote

I may have broken a port. Don't know if this off topic.
Normally I unplug IRwidget and JP1.2/3 cable before shutting down windows7.
I didn't unplug JP1.2/3 and shut off the laptop.
Next morning both green and red lights on the cable were on. Ooooops!
I pulled the cable. The cable is OK.
But the port in this powered 4-port USB3 hub is shot.
Did I break it?
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3952

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My cable lights come on if connected at boot up. No harm so far. But I've never connected to a USB 3 port. Maybe just a USB 3 compatibility thing. Try USB 2.0 or lower. I have lots of older devices that won't do squat on a USB 3 port for whatever reason even though 3 is supposedly backward compatible. I guess some companies didn't get the memo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2302

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've migrated JP1 stuff from XP and run in Window7. I didn't want to run in Windows10, too many constant changes.

On this newer laptop (6yrs old ThinkPad) the old USB2 hub works great for the camera and phones. It's hooked to a usb2 port which is always on, the kind that you can charge the phone with the laptop shut off. Perhaps that's the reason why IRwidget and JP1.2/3 cable didn't work in it. Surprised me.

So I tried the USB3 hub and both cables work great. Go figure.

Back to did I break a port. Both lights were on before bootup. Likely all night. That surprised and scared me. I don't care about a port. I do care about the cable, but it's ok.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central