JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Topline 5 and RCU 810 - one contribution? and a few quest...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MJ



Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:20 pm    Post subject: Topline 5 and RCU 810 - one contribution? and a few quest... Reply with quote

I was excited to learn about the JP1 forum and supporters. I'm not sure that the two remotes belong in the same sentence above.

I live in Toronto (in Canada Smile ) and an trying to simplify and foolproof a theatre system for my parents.

I have the RCU 810 and was reluctant to open it to solder a JP1/IDE connector to it. I scavenged 6 pins from a 9 "springy-pin" male Monitor socket from an old video board and pressed them into a scavenged IDE male connector. This connects directly to the simple JP1 cable. I plugged this directly into the JP1 holes on the remote and the interface worked on the first try without having to hold the connector. Now I am tackling the IRxxx.exe. I have been unable to locate the Devices4 spreadsheet on the JP1 group page. Any hints?

Regarding the Topline remote, I love the look and layout. Will it work on North American devices? If so, where can I get pricing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rickety



Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can find devices4.zip here
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/files/2.%20Tools/

hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Topline series remotes are only available in Europe (if indeed they haven't been discontinued already). However, with the use of JP1 they can be made to control most US devices.

If it's just the look of the Toplines that you like, you will probably find the old Producer 8 series just as appealing. The P8s have been discontinued but they still pop up on ebay occassionally and I have some myself that I'd be willing to sell if you want them.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
leesweet



Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, I had the same (oriignal) problem. Some of the files discussed in the Beginners' JP1 doc are not where they are said to be. So, for the next edition...Smile
_________________
-Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central