JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

JP1.2/3 unable to open device-- check connection

View previous topic :: View next topic  
oldgrouch

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:44 pm    Post subject: JP1.2/3 unable to open device-- check connection Reply with quote

This is my first time on any forum so please bear with my mistakes.
Equipment JP1.2 206003 interface by Tommy Tyler,Comcast 3 device JP3 remote I.R. exe software.
I have passed all of the tests in trouble shooting a USB Jp1.2/3 interface.
Following is the read out from JP1.test program from Tommy Tyler.
found a JP1.X compatible remote on com3
signature = 30393039
memory address = $ 0600
memory size = $0600 (3072)
advanced settings for com3
transfer size 4096
bm options 16
time outs 00
misc. options serial emulator
I have tried using different drive software from FTDI CDM2.06.00.zip and 20600.exe
Also have tried changing to many different com ports all to no avail problem still there.
Could somebody please tell me what I am missing or not doing something correctly. Thanks
3FG
Expert

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange. It would appear that the interface is working when using jp1xtest. 30393039 is the signature of the Comcast 1067BX3 remote. That success also shows that the cable is plugged in corrrectly and is basically working.

I'm using IR version 8.01, and it gives this error message when the cable is disconnected from the remote or the computer: "Failed to open JP1.x interface." Are you getting a different message? Please quote it exactly, and check Help on the menu to find out the version number of IR that you're using.

I believe that 2.06.00 is the correct version of FTDI dirver
WagonMaster