JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Panasonic discrete component input

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jon63822



Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:00 pm    Post subject: Panasonic discrete component input Reply with quote

Searching for discrete component 1 & 2 for Panasonic Tau CT-36HX40B HDTV. Have searched main device 128 w/sub 0 thru 9 for all 255 EFC’s. About 2,550 tries.

These codes must me somewhere else. Hard to believe Panasonic would allow discrete video for all 4 inputs w/o any for the last two components.

I have searched all Yahoo/JP1 device files for an answer. As well as every forum I can get my hands on. I could spend the remainder of my life trying alternative code combinations.

Presently I am macroing with an extender. Working ok for me, but wife & kid get out of sync with incorrect aim.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uwereinert
Advanced Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 153
Location: Chemnitz

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At www.remotecentral.com the Panasonic HDTV discretes are:

On: Panasonic 128, OBC 62, EFC 22
Off: Panasonic 128, OBC 63, EFC 26
Tuner: Panasonic 128, OBC 0, EFC 181
Video 1: Panasonic 128, OBC 1, EFC 185
Video 2: Panasonic 128, OBC 2, EFC 183
Video 3: Panasonic 128, OBC 3, EFC 187
Video 4: Panasonic 128, OBC 4, EFC 180

Uwe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon63822



Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for the reply uwereinert.

I have those codes already. Thought I was clear on needing component 1 & 2 inputs. Perhaps not. I will keep searching.

BTW, tuner obc 0 does not work on my tv. Just thought worth mentioning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon_armstrong
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1238
Location: R.I.P. 3/25/2005

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On some models they are (and you will need a device upgrade for 128.4)

OBC EFC
124 004 Discrete Component 1 Input Select
125 008 Discrete Component 2 Input Select
_________________
-Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jon63822



Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the ".4" value in 128.4 the sub device number? As I said earlier, I have tried sub 0 thru 9. This was done in Panasonic non-upgrade.

Have also used byte column in Panasonic Combo2 upgrade protocol to enter sub numbers directly.

Thanks jon for the reply. Tried 004 & 008 w/o success. Am I on the right track?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon_armstrong
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1238
Location: R.I.P. 3/25/2005

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, in Panasonic the convention is if the sub-device = 0 then 128.0 is referred to as Panasonic:128 and if it is sub device 4 then 128.4. IIRC, the decoding done byJohn Fine's DecodeIR.dll that is used by the various decoding tools including IR will report it that way.

If you tested all 256 commands for 128.4 with no response then it may not respond to discrete input commands.

There have been a number of threads in the discrete forum at Remote Central about various Panasonic displays (Plasma's, HDTV's, RPTV's, LED displays) and it seems like Panasonic has been very fickle about including discrete inputs. Several people there have tried a number of sub-devices

So far it seems like component inputs are either 128.4:124/125 or 128:4 (video 4) or they don't exist.
_________________
-Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jon63822



Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bummer

now.............how do i hack the ir data in the tv?
(just kidding)

Thank you jon for all your input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e34m5



Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 675
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed the Panny does not respond to those codes. Tried all 255 EFC's with 128.4 (except 018..bad pooky).

Fortunately the Panny allows you to program which inputs are used and in which order so that traversing thru them isn't quite as tediuos.

The EFC's for the Video inputs work very nicely so that you can create a macro to select Video1 for instance followed by TV/VIDEO as required. I had to add a delay (use the VCR0039 trick) in between.

BTW..when using that philosophy in an extended remote switching to a desired input is almost instantaneous.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jon63822



Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ditto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central