JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Converting RMDU to RID

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pluto30306



Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Converting RMDU to RID Reply with quote

re: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8436

Would you have any additional instructions? I tried following the instructions, but from step 4 on, the RemoteMaster program was looking for some type of file, which was not listed in the step-by-step.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3006
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Converting RMDU to RID Reply with quote

pluto30306 wrote:
from step 4 on, the RemoteMaster program was looking for some type of file, which was not listed in your step-by-step.
The file in step 4 is the one downloaded in step 3... did you do that?

Did you also download and install the RDF's and tell RM where to find them?

It might also be helpful to know what, if any, messages you're getting from RM.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pluto30306



Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for jumping in to help.

I installed all the programs from step 1 and 2.

When RemoteMaster (RM) loads it says in a box - RDF Files Were Not Found. I click OK and then it asked me for the directory. I go to the directory and then I type in the file name SonicView SV-360 Elite.rmdu. I don't know if this is the RDF file it is looking for, but it's the only file I could find for my project.

RM doesn't do anything once I type in the file name and hit OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RDFs are NOT a RMDU file.

When RM asks for you to point to the directory where RDF's are, then you need to navigate the pop-up box NOT to the directory where your RMDU files are, but to the directory where your RDF files are.

I believe that you did not download the RDF.zip file and unzip it to an RDF directory. You have to do so, or RM will not work (nor IR for that matter).
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pluto30306



Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank You! That make total sense.

I pointed the RM to my RDF fold, and typed in the file and hit OK... nothing happend..... I'm wonder what I'm doing wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, you need to step back.

The upgrade file you are trying to use is a RMDU file. It is written with a specific remote in mind. It does not matter that YOU do not care what remote that is, but for RM to open the file, it must recognize the remote for which it was written.

That remote is "defined" by a "remote definition file" (RDF). When you attempt to open a RMDU file, the RM program looks for the matching RDF file, but it only looks in the directory to which you pointed it. At no time do you "type in the file" as you state, so I'm not sure what you did, but it's wrong.

When you open RM, it asks for you to point it to the RDF folder if it can not find any RDFs. At that point, do just that. Navigate to the RDF folder (presuming you have downloaded and unzipped the RDF.zip file as I described above) and when you have found it, DOUBLE CLICK on it, and RM will continue starting up. THERE IS NO TYPING OF FILE NAMES HERE.

Once RM is open, go to file>open and THEN navigate to your RMDU file and open it.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pluto30306



Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again.. Thank You!! Smile

I directed the RM to my RDF folder, then the next pop up box, which wanted to know where the Library was. I found that in the RM folder a couple levels down the directory tree....then RM opened up and I directed RM to my rmdu file.

I copied my protocol - RC5 and Device - 15 from RM to RIDGen and the EFC code for "0" as noted in step 6. As in step 7, I hit MakeHex button and I got info for "Repeated bits" and "OBC" info. But no "Initial bits" or "final bits" info.

Any suggestions?


Last edited by pluto30306 on Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pluto30306 wrote:
...
I directed the RM to my RID folder, ...
I hope you mean RDF forlder and not RID folder, but anyways....

pluto30306 wrote:
...Any suggestions?
Nope. I know how to use RM, but not RID Gen. You need somebody else to step in from here on in.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pluto30306



Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, sorry -- I meant to say RDF folder. Thank you for all your help! I'll ask around for the RIDGen experts.

Again Thank You!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> ReplayTV All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central