JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

IR8.01 Beta posted
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When adding the 7940 to IRTool, I used IR to look up the signature, and I got my elusive "Access Violation @ 0045870C in module ir.exe 00000048" IR 8.01 RC6. Again I have no idea where I was in IR, it was just open so I went over an did a select. Ususally I get my Access Violation when downloading.

Interesting, this time, I only had 1 copy of IR open, and even though it LOOKS like its changed remotes, all the key codes are screwed up. I'll download the latest and greatest, and keep looking for the cause.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded the new IR8 and have beat on it and finally I found a way to reproduce the error! Open an IR file that has a device upgrade. Switch to the DEVICE Tab. Move the cursor on the device layout down to about key 8, then do a FILE->NEW->Select and change remotes. You'll get the error and then IR will start to misbehave.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3182
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Vicky. Now that it is reproducible I should be able to crack it. I'll look into it.
______________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3182
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I downloaded the new IR8 and have beat on it and finally I found a way to reproduce the error! Open an IR file that has a device upgrade. Switch to the DEVICE Tab. Move the cursor on the device layout down to about key 8, then do a FILE->NEW->Select and change remotes. You'll get the error and then IR will start to misbehave.

I have tracked the source of this Access Violation error. I hope it is the only one! Smile

The root cause is selecting a row on the KeyMap grid on the Devices tab. I seem to have accidentally changed the MouseDown event handler for that grid to the wrong one. As a result, this corrupts the internal data arrays that hold information about the ToolBar. Any following action that causes the ToolBar to be reset, such as doing a File->New, will cause the error. Making any change of options that cause buttons to be added or removed from the ToolBar, such as selecting Advanced/Enable Raw Download, will also cause it.

It seems to happen only if you select row 3 or higher on the KeyMap grid, selecting rows 1 or 2 seem to cause an oddity in the selection process itself.

Since this is an unusual combination of circumstances, I intend to wait until there is greater need for a revised version. Now that IR 8.01 is fully released, other bugs may also be found that need fixing.
________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Page 10 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central