JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RTI Trigger Codes - won't decode.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URC-8820s are $19 each, domestic shipping within the US is $5, but as I suspect you're actually in the UK, international shipping is $12.50.

Full payment details are in my "for sale" thread.

If you'd like me to pre-load the upgrade into the remotes for you, could you first figure out what a good button layout would be, because I have no idea.

Here's the KM file:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6744
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Rob. Actually no .. wrong end of the globe - I'm in New Zealand!
You have helped me in the past and I have bought a few 8910's off you.
Is the shipping the same for NZ? Can you get two in the same envelope?

Don't worry about preloading an upgrade, I've bought a DVD/HDD recorder which I need to add to the system so it's time to rip it apart and start again with it.


Cheers
P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

simonsezdothis wrote:

Don't worry about preloading an upgrade, I've bought a DVD/HDD recorder which I need to add to the system so it's time to rip it apart and start again with it.

Cheers
P.
Yeah, but it's an upgrade that you need anyways, and you cannot create it, nor do you have it (until Rob posts the manual setting upgrade Wink) so he might as well preload it, and it'll already be there for you.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

simonsezdothis wrote:
Don't worry about preloading an upgrade

I hope you understood that the 8820's need a completely different type of cable for JP1 programming than the 8910's use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the $12.50 international shipping charge is good for anywhere on the globe. And like John said, the URC-8820 requires a JP1 (Flash) cable, which is different to the JP1 (EEPROM) cable that you use on your URC-8910 remote.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
No I wasn't aware a different cable was required - no problem, I'll do some more reading about making one, although if you have one of those for sale too let me know in the next day or so before I transfer some money.
Is the 8810 a JP1.2.device then?

As far as an upgrade button layout goes it's awkward as these codes get split across a whole bunch of devices. But to get me started (if I can't upload things initially) you could just put the following on the number keys of any device, and I'll use both remotes until I can re-program the whole thing.

Macro 32 SAT Select 1
Macro 33 DVD Select 2
Macro 34 VCR Select 3
Macro 46 DVDR/HDD Select 4
Macro 45 Prime Select 5
Macro 35 SAT/VCR Amp On 6
Macro 47 DVDR/HDD Amp On 7
Macro 38 System Off 8

Thanks again
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URC-8820 is a JP1.2 remote, which if you recall was the whole point. The JP1.2 remotes use the HCS08 processor which is the only one that supports a signal this long (though I may eventually try formatting the signal manually for the S3C8 remotes).

I don't have any JP1.2 cables. If you decide against making one, I recommend that you get a JP1.2/3 USB cable from Tommy Tyler.

When you send the finda via Paypal, please add a note reminding me to add the code or I will forget.

I'll add those functions to the numeric buttons, but just FYI, even before you get a JP1.2 cable, you will be able to program any additional buttons that you like using advanced codes. You can get the list from the KM file, or I can post them later if you like.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for everything Rob ... I've transferred the funds to you yesterday.
I've also bought one of Tommy's cables to go with it, so I'm all set to get on and upgrade my whole system!
Looking forward to it.
Thanks again
Cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Peter,
Sorry for the delay in responding, I was out of town for the holiday weekend. It appears that you sent a credit card payment to my "bank" Paypal account, so I had to deny the payment. Please re-read the payment instructions in my "for sale" thread (link in my sig).

Thanks,
Rob
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very sorry Rob - I have processed it again for you.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:11 am    Post subject: RTI Codes with 8820 Reply with quote

Hi Again.
I've recieved the URC-8820, (Thanks) and also the Interface cable and IR Widget I bought from Tommy.

Some problems though.

I began by loading a simple upgrade file for my TV, which worked perfectly with my URC-8910.
I opened the file in RM and coverted it to a URC-8820 file and uploaded to the remote.
First thing I noticed was it acted as though there were some keymoves somewhere. i.e - codes OK but not all on correct keys.
No keymoves were programmed in IR.
I reset the 8820 (with the 980 code) and uploaded again.
No change.
I then used the remotes set function to program the TV device to the number I allocated in IR.
Bingo - all codes on correct buttons.
I have repeated this several times and the same thing happens each time.

Any ideas why that might happening?


THE RTI PROTOCOL

The RTI protocol upgrade I then loaded was the one posted here.
(RTI Trigger numbers = OBC numbers)
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6744
This is not working though.
I notice the transmitted codes are very short (once and not repeating?)
Is this correct?
I have tried learning one of these codes generated from th URC-8820 (System Off Macro 38)
IR Widget won't register anything. (tested and works well with other codes)
My USBUIRT http://www.usbuirt.com/ will register a short burst. If I accept this burst as a learn, the resulting code wont decode with IR Tool.

(this has been a great little learner for me)

0000 006A 0000 0044 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0020 0011 0010 0011 0010 0011 0010 0021 0010 0011 0010 0011 0020 0FFA
(I dont know what the USBUIRT does when it accepts a short burst, so I dont know if this will help at all)


Here's what I get if I learn the same thing into my URC-8910

Phase encoded RC type
65 bits, MSB value = 000000000000000000000000000000001
Sent once when a key is pressed
+412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -824 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -824 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -824 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -824 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -824 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410
Sent once upon completion of other bursts
+412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -824 +824 -412 +412 -410 +412 -410 +412 -824 +412 -410 +412 -410 +824 -824


The RTI Learns file you sent me to try, which worked with my URC- 8910 looked like this.
65 bits, MSB value = 0000000000000000000000000000000011111111111000010000111011110000
Sent repeatedly while key is being held
+428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +832 -402 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -806 +832 -402 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -806 +428 -394 +428 -394 +832 -814 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +832 -402 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -806 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +832 -402 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -806 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +428 -394 +832 -814 +428 -394 +832 -402 +428 -806 +832 -402 +428 -806 +832 -402 +428 -806 +428 -394 +832 -814 +428 -394 +428 -20510

Any ideas what might be going on here?
Hope I've been doing things the right way
Cheers for now ...
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I pre-loaded the RTI upgrade into the remote for you, did you try that before loading your own upgrade?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonsezdothis



Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes ... but I didn't rigorously test it. I tried it briefly and when I couldn't get anything out of it I decided to start with some basic stuff first to make sure the remote itself was operating and I could communicate with it etc.

I did notice the short length of the transmission immediatly though.
Appologies if I should have persevered for a bit longer with the installed upgrade first.
I was expecting the upgrade you loaded was probably the one you posted?
cheers
P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
First thing I noticed was it acted as though there were some keymoves somewhere. i.e - codes OK but not all on correct keys.

Make sure the keymap is set to STANDARD in the General Tab. If this setting is missing from your general tab, download the corrected RDF from the RDF development area. If the keymap is set to alternate then all the functions in upgrades scramble, and the scrambling is dependent on the device number, so it can seem like the remote has gone completely bonkers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18840
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears the KM file had an out of date copy of the protocol, so I've just updated it.

I've also loaded the IR file which has the code pre-loaded on the AUD button:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6829
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central