JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Discrete codes for Pioneer receiver
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:27 am    Post subject: Discrete codes for Pioneer receiver Reply with quote

I found the following discrete codes for a Pioneer receiver, and I want to try them with my HTS-GS1:

Power On
Code:
0000 006d 0000 0022 0155 00ac 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0594

Power Off
Code:
0000 006d 0000 0022 0155 00ac 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0594


I figured out how to decode these via IRTool, and discovered the following:

Protocol: NEC2
Device: 165

...and then the EFC's for the two codes above, which are 247 and 251, respectively.

I have a URC 6131. Can someone direct me to or help me find out how I can find an audio device code compatible with the above protocol and device so I can try these EFC's?

Thanks much!

--Chris
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The correct setup code for Pioneer 165 is audio/0013, but that code isn't in your URC-6131, so you would need to add it as an upgrade. The correct setup code for your receiver is probably audio/1023, which includes functions from Pioneer 162, 165 and 164.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know whether the 6131 takes 3 or 5-digit EFCs but for that setup code (audio/1023), the EFCs shohuld be:

Discrete off: 5-digit EFC=01157; 3-digit EFC=204
Discrete on: 5-digit EFC=02181; 3-digit EFC=208
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
The correct setup code for Pioneer 165 is audio/0013, but that code isn't in your URC-6131, so you would need to add it as an upgrade. The correct setup code for your receiver is probably audio/1023, which includes functions from Pioneer 162, 165 and 164.
I'll give that a shot. Thanks, Rob!

(Hmm. Doesn't seem to work. But really, I have all of the other commands because the One knows the HTS-GS1...getting discretes is just bonus. Would it be worth trying the aforementioned EFC's on either that or audio/0013? Nothing to lose, I suppose, right? Would there be a way to figure out if this device even *has* discretes?)
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
I don't know whether the 6131 takes 3 or 5-digit EFCs but for that setup code (audio/1023), the EFCs shohuld be:

Discrete off: 5-digit EFC=01157; 3-digit EFC=204
Discrete on: 5-digit EFC=02181; 3-digit EFC=208

Ooh, thanks, Cap'n. I'll try these too, later tonight. Smile
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 5 digit EFCs that the Capn posted won't work with the URC-6131.

You can't try using EFCs with audio/0013 when that setup code doesn't exist in the URC-6131.

When you say "it doesn't seem to work" what did you try exactly? In order to program those two codes, you would need to create an upgrade that uses the Pioneer protocol with a device code of 165, and you might as well call it audio/0013 just for the sake of consistency. The upgrade doesn't even need to have any buttons included in it. Then, you could program the two keymoves that you desire.

Here's just such an upgrade...

Upgrade Code 0 = 30 0D (Amp/0013)
E2 00 01 5A
End
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
You can't try using EFCs with audio/0013 when that setup code doesn't exist in the URC-6131.

Oops, sorry. I meant that audio/1023 didn't work on it's own; i.e. the Power toggle button in 1023 didn't turn my stereo on. Yes, I will use your upgrade (if I can remember how to do it...the last time I used RM to make an upgrade was for my Xbox remote some time ago Smile) to make audio/0013 for my 6131, and see if I have any better luck. 'Cuz, yeah, exactly, it only has to be good enough to produce those two working IR signals (if in fact they do) that I can learn into the One.

Side question: if I picked up an inexpensive IR receiver for my PC, would it be useful for creating upgrades from an unknown remote? Will IRTool (or something else) take an IR blast from a remote and say "yeah, that's protocol X, device Y, and here's the EFC?" All I used it for was to dump the Pronto information above into it.
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

clemon79 wrote:
Yes, I will use your upgrade (if I can remember how to do it...the last time I used RM to make an upgrade was for my Xbox remote some time ago Smile) to make audio/0013 for my 6131

You don't need to use RM in this case as I've already made the upgrade for you, all you need to do is cut paste it into IR.exe

clemon79 wrote:
Side question: if I picked up an inexpensive IR receiver for my PC, would it be useful for creating upgrades from an unknown remote? Will IRTool (or something else) take an IR blast from a remote and say "yeah, that's protocol X, device Y, and here's the EFC?" All I used it for was to dump the Pronto information above into it.

The hardware isn't as important as the software that you would use. If the software could re-produce the signal in Pronto format, then yes, you could use IRTool to decode it and then use that info to build a JP1 upgrade, but by the sounds of your earlier responses, I think you would need a major refresher course in JP1 first.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
You don't need to use RM in this case as I've already made the upgrade for you, all you need to do is cut paste it into IR.exe
Ah, sweet. Thanks! Smile

clemon79 wrote:
but by the sounds of your earlier responses, I think you would need a major refresher course in JP1 first.
Oh, no question. Smile I think you'd know better than I if the software existed, though...but maybe I'm also not understanding how a USB IR receiver works on a PC.

Maybe I need to rephrase the question: Let's assume that I have a USB IrDA adapter connected to my PC, running whatever driver Windows installs when you plug an IR receiver into it, and I'm holding a remote in my hand that I want to build an upgrade for that I otherwise know NOTHING about. Do tools exist now that I could use to point the remote at the adapter, push a button, and the tool would then tell me what IRTool did when I pasted the Pronto code in?

I was more wondering if it was worth looking into so I don't have to keep bugging people when I need this information.
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't know. Personally, I've always used either a Pronto or a JP1 remote to learn signals and then decode them. However, Tommy has invented an IR gadget that you can use to capture signals directly and Kevin has written some software that works with it. Now, does Kevin's software work with the hardware that you described, that I don't know.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tommy Tyler
Expert


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 405
Location: Denver mountains

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to set the record straight, Tommy did invent several IR gadgets in years past to capture remote signals, but the device Rob is referring to here was invented by Kevin Timmerman. I wish I could take credit for inventing it, but it's far better than any of my designs.

Tommy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sadly, neither audio/0013 (via Rob's upgrade) with 241/257, nor audio/1023 with 204/208, had any effect. But I appreciate the efforts.

If someone needed to make a doohickey than I'm gonna guess my idea doesn't work like I thought it might. It sounds like, if I was going to do that, the more useful tool would be some kind of inexpensive JP1 learning remote. I have three universal remotes around here now: the hacked 6131, which doesn't learn, a Philips SRU8010 which learns, but doesn't have JP1, and the One, which is...the One.

Let me throw one more thing out there that I just discovered now: when going through the setup on the SRU8010, the final of seven Pioneer codes, which it shows as "0498" at the bottom of the screen when I tell it to save it, did successfully toggle the power and control volume, but other functionality was minimal. Does that tell you guys *anything* useful?
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've spent so much time answering the question that you actually asked that I forgot to determine if you were asking the correct question. You started this by asking how to use the two snippets of Pronto hex that you posted, which lead me to believe that you were simply looking for discrete codes to complement a remote that was otherwise controlling your device just fine, but now, reading between the lines, it sounds like the question that you actually asked is not the question that you meant to ask.

Would I be correct in now assuming that your question should have been...

"I'd like to control my Pioneer HTS-GS1 using my URC-6131 remote, how can I make that happen?"

To which my first question would have been, have you tried any of the Pioneer codes in either the HT Systems or Audio folders? Did you try any of the Pioneer audio codes that are pre-loaded into the remote (ie, 1023, 0014, 0150, 0531, 0630, 1384)?

For the experts, here's the tech data for the 6 Pioneer audio codes in the URC-6131:

1023 = Pioneer 3DEV; 162,165,164
0014 = Pioneer; 164
0150 = Sony 12/15; 1,0
0531 = Aiwa; 258
0630 = Pioneer; 173
1384 = Pioneer MIX 4-Cmd; 166,175,161,160
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clemon79



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the question seems to have morphed a little bit as I've tried your helpful suggestions. So let me take it from the top and make sure we deal with one thing at a time. Here's the ultimate question:

I'd like to teach my Harmony One the discrete on/off codes for my Pioneer HTS-GS1, if they exist. Can someone help me find out if they exist and what they might be?

The tools and information that I have to do this: a 6131 with JP1 that I can program, but no known working code for the stereo (none of those above six codes work), an SRU8010 that has confirmed to at least control power-toggle and volume with code "0498", and the aforementioned Harmony One, which does have a working HTS-GS1 profile, but no knowledge of discrete codes.

I apologize: originally my question was more specific because I thought I had a plan of attack and just needed some more specific tidbits to put it together myself. But apparently I don't, so a full reboot is probably wiser.
_________________
Chris Lemon
clemon79@comcast.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18516
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If we knew what codeset the Pioneer uses, we could probably make some educated guesses as to what the discrete power codes might be, but as we don't know what code it uses, we can't.

I don't have a Philips SRU8010, so I can't learn the buttons from one of those and I don't know how to get the code information out of a Harmony.

If you had a JP1 learning remote, like a URC-8910 or URC-8811, you could learn the buttons from either the Pioneer, Philips or Harmony remotes, which would give us the codeset.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central