JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Looking for suggestions for a beginner
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
GTTech

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2023 5:46 pm    Post subject: Looking for suggestions for a beginner Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

I'm new to this but have been looking for a solution to my smart home video distribution setup for a while that doesn't involve buying a Harmony from a scalper or teaching the older generation how to drive a mobile app.

In short, I'm looking for a simple traditional style remote that has device selection buttons that can fire off short macros or even just single commands while also changing the device selection of the remote.

I have a HDMI distribution matrix system throughout the house with 8 sources (each zone only needs a subset of 4 devices 99% of the time) and 8 zones, it has IR receivers in every zone that are connected to the matrix to pass on commands to the selected source that is active in that zone and also to respond to IR commands to switch the source for that zone. I have those codes in pronto format. Currently this all works fine with multiple remotes, and I did get an IR learning remote from aliexpress that worked really well but didn't have enough buttons or any device switching so I couldn't fully control each source as it was just one static layout for everything.

Currently I have a URC1240 and URC7935, but it seems from some browsing that the 1240 might not be able to send an IR command when it changes device, which would then require multiple button presses to change to source x, then change the remote to device x, that is not an option for me.