JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Anthem AVM-20 Remote

View previous topic :: View next topic  
rexxe

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 3:32 pm    Post subject: Anthem AVM-20 Remote Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm a newbie here. My Anthem AVM-20 remote is no longer functioning. I opened it up to remove the film that allows it to light up as it was making an obnoxious buzzing sound and no longer lighting up. However, once I removed the film and then put the remote back together, it no longer controlled my AVM-20. I wondered whether Anthem added some sort of tamper protection whereby it would wipe out the EEPROM when opened. So, currently, the remote still seems to work as I see the light go on that it is sending a signal.

It does have a JP1 connector, but I'm hesitant to get a cable for fear that I won't be able to program it due to the tamper protection or that the EEPROM is ruined (is this possible?). Anyone know anything about this? I'm also a bit confused on what cable I need to purchase as it seems like the links for the seller everyone uses are dead. I literally just want to bring the remote back to life so it can control my AVM-20 again.

Thanks for your help!

Andrew
The Robman
Site Owner

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are links to various ebay sellers here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16360

The cables on ebay come with 6 individual connectors, rather than the 2*3 single connector that would be preferable, so you would either need to replace the connectors, or just connect them manually, as detailed in that thread.

If you'd rather just get a ready-made cable, rather than the cheaper ones on ebay, there is this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/283058032000