JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Phantom 2/20 collision: RCRP05B w/ JP1.3 Ext v3.04

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
R2-M0



Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:01 pm    Post subject: Phantom 2/20 collision: RCRP05B w/ JP1.3 Ext v3.04 Reply with quote

I just switched from using the older dedicated RCRP05B extender to the newer JP1.3 common extender, but I ran into one little bit of awkwardness. It looks like both Phantom2 & Phantom20 are mapped to the same key code.

From the 3X793X79 RDF:

Code:
Phantom2=$68:Shift+Xshift,Phantom3,Phantom4,Phantom5,Phantom6,Phantom7,Phantom8,Phantom9,Phantom10,
Phantom11=$5F:Shift+XShift,Phantom12,Phantom13,Phantom14,Phantom15,Phantom16,Phantom17,Phantom18,Phantom19,Phantom20


The first line clearly maps Phantom2 to $68. The second starts with Phantom11 on $5F then follows up with 9 additional buttons (Phantoms 12-20). $5F + 9 = $68.

Can one of these offsets be adjusted to avoid this collision? And if so, which one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears that the Atlas URC-1056 has the same problem (I am
upgrading from 3.03 to 3.04).

My workaround was to substitute replace all references to phantom 2 with
phantom 4.

My educated guess is that if you removed phantom 20 from the second line
phantom 2 would work correctly. However, you would no longer see/be able to
use phatom 20.
Sad
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19592
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have mapped out the button codes for all 9 remotes that use the common extender and I see that this overlap occurs in 3 of them (Atlas 1055, Atlas 1056 and RCRP05B) and there is another clash in the RadioShack 15-133 between Phantom15 and the EXIT button.

It appears that they tried to avoid this clash by having Phantom11 use $5d in some remotes. In addition to the 15-133 using $61 for EXIT, there is a note in the JP1.3 Keys.xls spreadsheet about a DASH key on the 15-134 and 15-135 using $62.

Therefore, my recommendation for all remotes, except for the 15-133, is to use the following code for Phantoms 11 thru 20

Phantom11=$5c:Shift+XShift,Phantom12,Phantom13,Phantom14,Phantom15,Phantom16,Phantom17,Phantom18,Phantom19,Phantom20

For the 15-133 only, the code should be:

Phantom11=$5c:Shift+XShift,Phantom12,Phantom13,Phantom14,Phantom15
Phantom16=$63:Shift+XShift,Phantom17,Phantom18,Phantom19,Phantom20


This relates to the JP1.3 Common extender V3.04 found here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25088
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I clearly missed when I coded up the RDF's because the key map spreadsheet that I use to keep track of stuff didn't have the clobbered keys.

Rob's solution for all of the remotes with the exception of the 15-13x will be fine. I had intended to start at $5E in my sheet but moving those up 2 makes really no difference.

Same with his solution for the 15-13x remotes, this is exactly how I had intended to lay those keys out.

When I get a minute I'll make an updated 3.05 extender release and make those changes to all of the RDF's. In the mean time if you're having this issue you can make the changes yourself.
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I couldn't sit still so I just did it. 3.05 is now on the site. no code changes, only updates to the RDFs and matching changes to ensure that all of the version checking works properly.

Also includes an updated EXCEL file that has all of the keys and their values
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the procedure to upgrade from 3.04 to 3.05?

Question
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19592
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No upgrade necessary, he just changed the RDFs, so just replace your RDFs with the ones in the new release.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, there's a bit more.

The RDF and the extender do a bit of version checking so you will have the change the fixed data that is stored at $1FE in the remote file. you can do this one of two ways:

"re-install" the extender using RMIR, it will load the right hex value into that file to change the version to 3.05 ($03 $05 stored at $1FE and $1FF)

go to the raw data tab in RMIR on your existing extender configuration and change those two values to $03 $05 to reflect the version change.

Otherwise you will get a "fixed data" mismatch error because the RDF is telling RMIR that it expects to see those values at that spot.
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central