JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

[SOLVED] No Remotes Found!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:53 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] No Remotes Found! Reply with quote

I have a dual boot system running Windows 10 and Linux Mint. I boot into Windows only when absolutely necessary, and have run RMIR under Linux for years. Recently I upgraded from Linux Mint 17.3 to 19.1 (I think I was one of the last holdouts). As part of the upgrade process I had to reinstall various programs, including RMIR. Previously I was running RMIR 2.03 build 14. With the reinstall I am now running RMIR 2.07 build 2.

I wanted to tweak the software in one of my remotes (I have three Atlas 1056B01 remotes that operate different hardware setups), so I launched RMIR and tried to download from the remote. That's when I got the "No Remotes Found!" error. I tried to download from a different Atlas remote ... same error message. I opened a saved RMIR file and tried uploading that ... same error message. So I pulled out an old URC 8820 and tried to download from it ... same error message again. Out of necessity, I rebooted into Windows and launched RMIR 2.03 build 14. Everything worked normally.

Clearly, I don't want to be rebooting into Windows every time I need to make any changes to any of my remotes. Does anyone have any ideas on trouble shooting/fixing this problem?

Thanks!
_________________
Jim


Last edited by Jim978 on Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4005

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In RMIR either set the interface detection to Auto, or select the appropriate port. The port could have changed when you upgraded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Likely, your new operating system does not alllow your user to access the needed devices (probably /dev/ttyUSB0 or something like that).

First try to run as root and see if that fixes the problem. Assuming so, you have to set up the system, in particular udev and the groups, to allow your normal user to access the device node. There is some documentation in the software forum (where this sort of post belongs...), search for udev and Linux.

The script Setup.sh in the RemoteMaster folder is supposed to do it for you. It adds your user to the "dialout" group, which may be enough.

Ask if you need more help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. They are always much appreciated. Unfortunately, I haven't made any progress so far. The remote interface is set to Auto-detect, I used the terminal function to add $user to the dialout group, and I launched the program from root (as I understand how that is done). I still get the "No Remotes Found!" error.

I'm wondering if this may be a driver issue and (if so) where I can go to download a driver for the new OS. Ideas?
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So running as root does not work. Then it is not a permission problem.

You have not told us the possibly most important information: the interface ("cable") you are using. Assuming for now that you are using a serial-over-USB thing like FTDI.

when you plut it in, it should create a device node, typically /dev/ttyUSB0. What do you get from
Code:

ls -l /dev/tty????
(exactly four question marks)

Also what does the output of lsusb look like?

Code:

# Without interface
lsusb > xxx
# With interface
lsusb | diff xxx -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for responding so quickly. The output from those terminal commands is as follows:

crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188, 0 Jul 18 05:18 /dev/ttyUSB0

and

Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0bda:0139 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTS5139 Card Reader Controller
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 1c7a:0603 LighTuning Technology Inc.
Bus 002 Device 006: ID 0403:6015 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd Bridge(I2C/SPI/UART/FIFO)
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0bda:58ea Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 8087:07d7 Intel Corp.
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 0e8f:0016 GreenAsia Inc. 4 port USB 1.1 hub UH-174
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0e8f:0016 GreenAsia Inc. 4 port USB 1.1 hub UH-174
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 248a:8367
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks all good. Looks like you have a cable that at least claims to be FTDI. So it "should" work. (If a driver was missing or could not be loaded there probably would not have been any /dev entry.)

Please unplug the cable, and plug it in again. Then do

Code:

dmesg | tail -20

and post the output. Also, to be sure, post output of

Code:

groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the output:

[54493.213521] usb 2-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[54493.213526] usb 2-1.2: Product: FT231X USB UART
[54493.213530] usb 2-1.2: Manufacturer: FTDI
[54493.213534] usb 2-1.2: SerialNumber: DN02SMDC
[54493.216991] ftdi_sio 2-1.2:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[54493.217151] usb 2-1.2: Detected FT-X
[54493.217840] usb 2-1.2: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[57727.029948] usb 2-1.6: reset high-speed USB device number 4 using ehci-pci
[60851.355531] usb 2-1.2: USB disconnect, device number 6
[60851.355918] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now disconnected from ttyUSB0
[60851.355977] ftdi_sio 2-1.2:1.0: device disconnected
[60854.394750] usb 2-1.2: new full-speed USB device number 7 using ehci-pci
[60854.511005] usb 2-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=0403, idProduct=6015
[60854.511012] usb 2-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[60854.511017] usb 2-1.2: Product: FT231X USB UART
[60854.511021] usb 2-1.2: Manufacturer: FTDI
[60854.511025] usb 2-1.2: SerialNumber: DN02SMDC
[60854.514393] ftdi_sio 2-1.2:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[60854.514484] usb 2-1.2: Detected FT-X
[60854.515145] usb 2-1.2: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0

and

family adm lp cdrom sudo dip plugdev lpadmin sambashare

FYI, since no dialout group is listed, I ran a command to see if a dialout group exists. Here's the output.

dialout:x:20:family

Not sure what all this means (if anything), but thought it might be helpful.
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your user-id "family"?

Code:

who am i

or
Code:

id
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please logout and login and repeat the groups command.
You say that it works with windows, rite?

Try again and then upload rmaster.err to the diagnosics area.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I logged out and then logged back in. Here's the output from groups. It appears to be the same as before.

family@family-Lenovo-V570:~$ groups
family adm lp cdrom sudo dip plugdev lpadmin sambashare

Yes, rm 2.03 build 14 (installed long ago) works as it should when I boot into Windows 10. This same RM release was working fine when running Linux Mint 17.3. It was only after I upgraded to LM 19.1 and installed a more recent RM release that I encountered this error. The new RM release appears to be functioning properly (I can load and edit old RMIR files without a problem) except for uploading and downloading to/from the remote.

I just uploaded rmaster.err.
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there something other, like a modem manager, that hangs around and grabs the serial devices? Possibly
Code:

lsof  /dev/ttyUSB0

gives a clue?

Try to select Remote -> Interface -> JP1.x Serial, and then select /dev/ttyUSB0 explicitly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jim978



Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Location: New England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES!!

I did as you suggested, and selected /dev/ttyUSB0 explicitly. That worked! Thanks a million!!

Here's the output from the lsof command you also suggested. Maybe there is something helpful there ... or maybe not. Regardless, I figured it can't hurt to send it along.

family@family-Lenovo-V570:~$ lsof /dev/ttyUSB0
lsof: status error on /dev/ttyUSB0: No such file or directory
lsof 4.89
latest revision: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/
latest FAQ: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/FAQ
latest man page: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/lsof_man
usage: [-?abhKlnNoOPRtUvVX] [+|-c c] [+|-d s] [+D D] [+|-E] [+|-e s] [+|-f[gG]]
[-F [f]] [-g [s]] [-i [i]] [+|-L [l]] [+m [m]] [+|-M] [-o [o]] [-p s]
[+|-r [t]] [-s [p:s]] [-S [t]] [-T [t]] [-u s] [+|-w] [-x [fl]] [--] [names]
Use the ``-h'' option to get more help information.

I am usually able to puzzle things out on my own (eventually), but when I can't (like this time), you folks working this forum have always been terrific. I can't thank you enough.
_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another happy customer! Very Happy Thanks for jumping in Barf.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central