JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Smallest JP1 remote?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:17 pm    Post subject: Smallest JP1 remote? Reply with quote

I'm looking for a JP1 remote around the size of a Roku remote. Anybody know of one?

I need minimal buttons and JP1 or Macro capability.

Something like the Philips SRU4002 would be ideal.


_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out the URC 6820Z and CM-7500XRC2. The latter is larger than a Roku remote, but not much. I'm guessing the simpler 6810 is probably JP1-able too, but we don't have an RDF yet since nobody has asked.
https://www.oneforall.com/remotes/urc6820-zapper-plus.html
https://www.channelmaster.com/DVR_Replacement_Remote_p/cm-7500xrc2.htm

(If you want the CM remote above, you can have mine cheap. Just PM me).

EDIT: Turns out the CM is larger than I remembered: 4.5 cm longer and 2 cm wider than a Roku remote, but still smaller than most JP1 remotes. So looks like the URCs are your best bet after all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought and returned the O4A URC 6810, it was huge. Misleading proportions. Volume wise it was more like 3x Roku, and it had very sharp square edges, not ergonomic at all.

The CM is not much different to my current remote. Too many unused buttons for my current setup.

Thanks the the suggestions though!
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's too bad. I don't know of anything else that comes closer JP1-wise. But you could certainly use a JP1 remote to teach something like these:
https://www.amazon.com/CHUNGHOP-Learning-Control-Samsung-Philips/dp/B06ZZRPZH6
https://www.amazon.com/Learning-Remote-Control-RM-L7-Universal/dp/B00LGBMF3W

Chunghop apparently makes several cheap, tiny learning remotes that work pretty well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are on the same wavelength.

I am currently trying out two Chunghop remotes.

The L7 you linked to above (buttons are really stiff)
And the L181 (quite nice)

The issue is I need to use Macro mode.
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What used to work with Harmony was to send a fast macro from JP1 and learn it in one shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 692

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the URC mx-200 remote, you can get the software from remote central, under NXG.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/153064684806
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
What used to work with Harmony was to send a fast macro from JP1 and learn it in one shot.

I have tried that, but I was not aware macros could be different speeds? Maybe I should try a "fast" macro? How?

MaskedMan wrote:
Try the URC mx-200 remote, you can get the software from remote central, under NXG.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MX-200-Remote-Control-Home-Theater-Master-Custom-Program-WORKS-Batteries/153064684806?hash=item23a35dbd06:g:-HYAAOSw1m5bJcmg

That looks like just the ticket, will see if I cab get it for a reasonable price in, or shipped to, the UK.
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18539
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

matt wrote:
mdavej wrote:
What used to work with Harmony was to send a fast macro from JP1 and learn it in one shot.

I have tried that, but I was not aware macros could be different speeds? Maybe I should try a "fast" macro? How?

You would need to be using an extender, which JP1 remotes do you have?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

matt wrote:

I have tried that, but I was not aware macros could be different speeds? Maybe I should try a "fast" macro? How?

Any JP1 remote running an extender will execute macros several times faster than an unextended remote, perhaps fast enough to appear as a single IR signal to another learning remote. A few unextended JP1 remotes can also run a "fast macros" patch. So it depends on what model JP1 remote you have.

In the old days when Harmony couldn't run long macros, I could teach a 20 step macro to it from a JP1 remote in a single learn for a total duration of under 2 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My daily driver JP1 is an Insignia NS-RC05A-11
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18539
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you can use the JP1.3 common extender with the 31473147 Insignia remote.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25088
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
unclemiltie
Expert


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 1753
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IF that remote is signature 31473147 then the common extender will work. you may have to edit the button names in the 3X47 RDF file to match the buttons that are on your remote, but otherwise every remote I've seen with the 3147 signature has had the same basic firmware load and the extender will work.
_________________
this JP1 stuff is a sickness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll give that a go this weekend! Many thanks
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
matt



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Location: Cornwall, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got around to trying this... it *almost* works!

Macro on JP1 is: Input;Up;Right
(this opens input menu, moves from top to bottom of list, confirms selection)
I have confirmed the Macro works from my JP1 remote.

Chunghop appears to learn Macro from JP1 remote.

But results are not as expected:

- TV responds to Input and Up (menu appears, cursor moves)
- No response to Right (input does not change)
- OSD displays current aspect ratio setting, as if Up key alone had been pressed

Any ideas?

Kind of feels like Up and Right are being combined somehow?

FWIW remote for this TV sends alternating signals
_________________
Insignia NS-RC05A-11


Last edited by matt on Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:38 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central