JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Packard Bell Digital Theater

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
prasadm



Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:35 am    Post subject: Packard Bell Digital Theater Reply with quote

Hi Forum members, my first post, hope someone can help. I have a Packard Bell digital theater unit, had it for nearly 16 years now, and a remote with kind of tactile touch switches. This unit seems very rare and the remote even so. So to save my remote I got myself a One4All 6440 and copied every key. The original remote had a problem with 2 keys (always been there); a "Bypass" key and a "Test" Key. On the remote when I press Test, it puts the unit into bypass mode, and when I press Test it does nothing. So the 6440 now mimics exactly the same behaviour.

There is a Test key on the actual unit itself, which test every channel with some noise signal (L/R and surround channels). So I do not know whether the issue is on the remote control itself or codes or the remote receiver circuitry in the unit. When I learned the codes on to 6440, the "TEST" & "Bypass" key also provided data and it works exactly as it is in the original remote.

Question now is does someone has the test key working from the remote ? If so can they post me the UEI codes (the HEX data) to see if I can get it to work from my remote ? In my case, it shows NEC1 protocol and sub device 239, Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're asking this in the Non-JP1 forum, yet you're able to read back the learned signals, so how are you doing this?

Could you please post the complete set of learns that you have captured? If you really are using JP1, please post the RMIR file.

Post it in the Diagnosis Area of the file section, then post a link to it here.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
prasadm



Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
You're asking this in the Non-JP1 forum, yet you're able to read back the learned signals, so how are you doing this?

Could you please post the complete set of learns that you have captured? If you really are using JP1, please post the RMIR file.

Post it in the Diagnosis Area of the file section, then post a link to it here.


Ok, not knowing much about JP1, I learned the remote keys onto the 6440, and imported the settings.bin into the Remote master tool and of course edited the HEX a bit to make all frequencies the same (found the actual HEX position by trial and error). The settings.bin can be copied onto the PC using the standard microUSB cable.

The following is the edited file. And the original learned file

I could not figure out how to get the url of the file. I copied the following from the browser. Hope this works.


file name : settings-final+test+freq.rmir

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25110

The original learned settings file in rmir format is below as well, just in case.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25111
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bottom line, you are a JP1 user. You don't need a dedicated JP1 cable with modern remotes that come with a USB cable.

So, I have converted your learned signals into an upgrade, the hex editing step that you did was not necessary.

The following zip file contains a new copy of your RMIR file with the learned signals deleted and the new upgrade added. I have also included the RMDU file which defines the upgrade itself.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25112

Assuming that all of the buttons use the same device codes as the buttons that you learned, you can experiment by adding new functions that use OBCs not currently accounted for to see if you can find the true OBCs for TEST and BYPASS, assuming that you somehow captured the wrong codes.

Another idea might be to do some learning experiments on those 2 buttons, try doing several different learns of each (to different buttons on the 6440), doing some short presses, some medium presses and some long presses to see if any of the captures replicate the original buttons. Then download using RMIR to see what the results look like.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
prasadm



Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Bottom line, you are a JP1 user. You don't need a dedicated JP1 cable with modern remotes that come with a USB cable
Thank you, I didn't realise. Smile

Thank you for your help. I will now however have to go and do 2 things. First, how to make the simpleset settings.bin file from what you gave me (off to do some research and reading up), and then trying out the OBCs to see if I can indeed get the right code for the TEST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave you an RMIR file, it's basically your RMIR file with some modifications. If you open that using RMIR and have your remote connected using the USB cable, you can just load it directly into the remote. RMIR will take care of creating the settings.bin file behind the scenes.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
prasadm



Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob

I tried the rmir file you sent me on the remote, and it works. Some keys (mute and the DSP down keys are remapped more sensibly - I could not load it into those keys when I learned it) so it works well.

One question, now that I have learned to update the rmir file onto the settings.bin, what would be the best way to test new OBCs ? I can add new OBC onto the .rmdu file you shared, but how would you convert that into an rmir file ? Can the Remotemaster tool do that ? Or do I use some other tool ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RM and RMIR are two sides of the same tool. You can save the RMDU file locally and edit it using RM if you like, or you can start with the RMIR file, then go to the Devices tab and edit the amp/2000 upgrade there.

I would suggest sorting the Functions tab by OBC so you can more clearly see what range of OBCs they are using and the gaps in the sequence will be more obvious. You can add new OBCs to the existing upgrade if you like, or you can create a new upgrade (using the same protocol and device codes) and add them there, either way is good. Then assign these new functions to buttons and test them. If you get a response from any of the new buttons, make a note of which button it is and then check your upgrade file to see what the OBC code is.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
prasadm



Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob,

I tried with different OBC codes, and didn't have to play around for long. The OBC=1 was generating the code for initiating the test function. I saved the file onto the remote and so now it has given me a fully functional remote.

Thank you so much for all the help.

Maybe this post needs to move to JP1 forum so someone else can also benefit.

Thanks Rob. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18356
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well done, I have added that code to the RM file and have loaded it into the regular file section here:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25112
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central