JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

For old Slingboxes, does Sling only allow one BIN file now?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
78904321



Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:34 pm    Post subject: For old Slingboxes, does Sling only allow one BIN file now? Reply with quote

For legacy Slingboxes like Slingbox PRO HD, I used to be able to upload different BIN file for different video sources. Now, when I try to upload different BIN files through the desktop app, ALL of the video sources gets overridden by whichever the BIN file I uploaded last. In other words, I can only control one video source now. Is that how it works now? Did Sling stop supporting multiple input controls? Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18563
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you making sure to give them all unique names? Like C2000.bin, C2001.bin, etc

If you call them all C2000.bin then yeah, they will overlay each other.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
78904321



Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your reply. I did try giving the bin file a different name than the one before it. However, when I upload the bin with modified name, it gives me error message "Invalid custom bin file." I remember it used to work even with the same names. You can see in the linked img below. Thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3392
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know you have never been able to install multiple BIN files of the same code, and I have been involved since the Classic Very Happy And you can't just rename a BIN file as the code is also part of the file itself. You have to use RemoteMaster to compile the BIN file with a different setup code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central