JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RMIR "Download from Remote" Error

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Humanist



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:50 am    Post subject: RMIR "Download from Remote" Error Reply with quote

I've recently purchased an URC-6440 R02 remote.

After a few days of using the built-in functionality and the simpleset.com website interface to arrive at a reasonably satisfactory configuration, I wanted to try RMIR and then the URC-6440 extender in order to go the extra mile.

Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to work for me. I'm using RMIR v2.06 buld 2. Initially "Download from Remote" works and I'm able to see the remote's configuration. However, once I do an "Upload to Remote", any subsequent "Download from Remote", whether I have or I haven't made any changes to the configuration, fails with an error message.

The error message prompts me to send a raw download of the remote, so here it is:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25079


When I copy to the remote the settings.bin file I had saved prior to using RMIR, the "Download from Remote" in RMIR works again, but after a subsequent "Upload to Remote", it fails again.

Thank you for your great work, which hopefully I will be able to enjoy as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2870
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that simpleset.com has created a device upgrade that RMIR could not handle. In technical terms the upgrade included a pointer to a protocol executor that actually was not present. This caused RMIR to crash. The remote presumably knows to ignore this situation but RMIR did not.

I have fixed RMIR so that it also recognises this situation and ignores the non-existent executor. I have uploaded your raw download to my URC-6440 and all appears to work correctly. I will post this tomorrow as a development version for you to test, and post a link to it in this thread. I would do so now, but don't have time today to do it, I'm afraid.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Humanist



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, thank you very much!

Second of all, I wanted to make sure you have the complete picture of the issue, so I uploaded another file:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25081

Inside the zip there are three files:

settings.SimpleSet.bin is the settings.bin I had in my remote before trying RMIR. When I choose "Download from Remote", RMIR actually reads it successfully in the sense than no errors are thrown and the configuration is displayed on screen.

SimpleSet.rmir is the file I get when I save the configuration to disk at this point.

When I subsequently choose "Upload to Remote", settings.RMIR.bin is the settings.bin file RMIR uploads to the remote. Again, the operation completes without any discernible errors.

Only when I try to "Download from Remote" after uploading, then I get an error.

If you haven't done so, you might also want to check the stages, namely the initial download and the upload, where currently RMIR actually does *not* err, but maybe should have (due to the fact that you found there were issues with the initial configuration).

Again, thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2870
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, I'll do further tests tomorrow before I post anything for testing.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2870
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for the extra files. They show that your problem lies not with RMIR itself, but with the RDF. Due to an error in the RDF, RMIR was creating a setup that it could not handle on download.

To resolve this for now, please use a text editor such as Notepad to edit the RDF file, which is 261202 (URC-6440 R02).rdf. Go down to the [Protocols] section and look at the line that starts with 015E. It reads:
Quote:
015E, 0161:5 016C:2, 0171, 0173:1, 0176, 017E, 0182:2, 0184:2 018C,

There should be a comma after each entry, so please add the two missing commas to make it be:
Quote:
015E, 0161:5, 016C:2, 0171, 0173:1, 0176, 017E, 0182:2, 0184:2, 018C,

All should then be well.

I will post a corrected RDF later, but your setup also shows something that is still puzzling me. It doesn't affect the devices you have set up, as it concerns the device PVR/3306 which you are not using. I need to investigate this further before I post any final amendments.

Edit: Further investigation has shown that the puzzling behaviour is a difference between Simpleset.com and RMIR that has no practical effect, so no further amendments are required. In particular, RMIR does not need updating.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Humanist



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
All should then be well.

Indeed. Thank you.

Quote:
I will post a corrected RDF later, but your setup also shows something that is still puzzling me. It doesn't affect the devices you have set up, as it concerns the device PVR/3306 which you are not using. I need to investigate this further before I post any final amendments.

For what it's worth, last week I used "Add a Device" at simpleset.com, and selected PVR -> Technicolor. I saved it to the remote, but eventually I didn't use it as I didn't know how to (no setup codes were given by simpleset.com). Eventually, I learned that my PVR was actually made by LG, who later sold its STB business to Technicolor. I found an LG PVR code in the URC-6440 manual which worked just fine and needed only a few tweaks.

Perhaps PVR/3306 is a Technicolor code from simpleset.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Humanist



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathdon wrote:
Edit: Further investigation has shown that the puzzling behaviour is a difference between Simpleset.com and RMIR that has no practical effect, so no further amendments are required. In particular, RMIR does not need updating.


Excellent. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2870
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to say that before you install the extender, you should make the same change to the RDF for the extender. All the RDFs for the 6440 have the same [Protocols] section that has been block copied from one to another, so they all have the same error. Corrected RDFs will be in the next build of RMIR.

For US readers, the RDFs for the US version, the OARUSB04G, do not have this error.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Humanist



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will do so. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central