JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Panasonic LX-H670 Laserdisc player, w/ Comcast remote

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:33 pm    Post subject: Panasonic LX-H670 Laserdisc player, w/ Comcast remote Reply with quote

Hi All, I've been spinning my wheels on this one, as I'm pretty inexperienced with remote programming. I recently got a secondhand Laserdisc player, a Panasonic LX-H670, without a remote. I have a Logitech Harmony that was able to pull most of the commands from the Logitech MyHarmony servers, but it's missing an audio toggle button that switches between CX analog and DTS/AC3 output modes.

Since my Harmony remote didn't work out with that button, I was hoping I could get something going with my old Comcast remote (silver with a red OK button, so JP1.3 I think). I've used 994 codes to program individual buttons on this in the past, but I can't figure out what device code or button code to use for that D/A-CX command. I've tried using the codes from this update file, with no luck:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=308

Is there any way to manually enter the D/A-CX button on my Comcast remote without a link cable? If I can't program it, is there a way to convert the info in that file to a single EFC code I can manually test-send using the method here?
https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/How_to_use_a_Motorola_DVR/Programming_the_Remote#Sending_an_EFC_code_manually

Thanks for your help!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While using EFCs usually works for most things, that player is so old that unfortunately it's not possible with your Comcast remote without a cable. It lacks a built in code with the parameters that match that device upgrade file.

The good news is you can simply email the pronto hex below to datasupport@logitech.com and ask them to add the command to your account:
Code:
Panasonic 144.64 F 208: D/A-CX
0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0ACD

By the way, there is no correlation between the setup codes in our upgrade files and the setup codes built in to a given remote. Our setup codes are completely arbitrary. We have to use other tools to find a matching built in setup code using details about the protocol, device and subdevices. In your case, using our Lookup Tool linked at the top of the page, and searching for Panasonic protocol, device 144, subdevice 64 gave no results for a Comcast remote. We'd need to at least get a match at that level for EFCs to work. We can, however, feed that data into IR Scrutinizer, along with the OBC, and generate pronto hex that Harmony support can load into your profile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh wow, thank you so much for all the great info! I emailed Logitech the hex you provided; fingers crossed. I don't know why, but I never even thought to contact them. Thanks again for not only the data but also telling me what to do with it.

I did try the lookup tool, but wasn't sure if the Comcast remote wasn't listed, or if I was just looking in the wrong place. The info is starting to make sense, but it's definitely a little daunting at first. I've got IRScrutinizer downloaded now and will follow your advice about the Pronto hex if I run into anything else. Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realize direct support from Logitech can take some time; it's been a week and I still haven't heard anything. Is there any way I can add the code myself? I found a few old defunct backdoor web tools hosted by Logitech that don't seem to be working anymore. Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learning is the only other way to get codes into Harmony. You'd have to get a JP1 cable for your current Comcast remote or get a different JP1 remote with cable included, like the OARUSB04G. JP1 cables are only $4 on ebay but take 3 weeks to get here from China.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Al Richey is our resident Harmony expert, he might be able to help.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again for the extra info. This is a left-turn from the methods we were talking about, but I did eventually get my computer to transmit that hex code through a Windows MCE IR blaster I had packed away from an older computer (that I didn't even think about until someone mentioned it in another old forum post). I used EventGhost's Transmit IR test page, which accepts Pronto hex codes. The code you gave me worked perfectly, and I was able to teach it to my Harmony 200 using the old-fashioned IR Learning method.

Thanks for your help! I feel like a dope for not asking about the IR blaster method first, I guess I was stuck on the idea of a more direct approach.

One more side question, I found this page on RemoteCentral with compatible codes, and the D/A button there also works with my LD player. It's different from the Pronto code you gave me, which again works just fine. Is there some wiggle room in the codes in general, or is it more likely that my player interprets the two separate commands as the same function?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

williamsdha wrote:
One more side question, I found this page on RemoteCentral with compatible codes, and the D/A button there also works with my LD player. It's different from the Pronto code you gave me, which again works just fine. Is there some wiggle room in the codes in general, or is it more likely that my player interprets the two separate commands as the same function?

Even though they're not identical, those 2 codes are in fact the same. Think of JP1 codes as being "digital" and think of Pronto hex codes as being "analog". When you enter JP1 codes, if you get even 1 number wrong, the signal won't work, but with Pronto hex codes, as long as they're close enough, it will probably work because the pronto codes are a "recording" of the signal.

If you compare the 2 hex codes side by side, and round each of them to the nearest 0x0010 you'll see that they're the same, every time one of them has a big burst (ie, 0030 rather than 0010), the other does too (even if that one's big burst is 002F rather than 0030, or if it's small burst is 0011 or 000F rather than 0010).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see, kind of like how a tape recording of a DTMF tone will work to dial a phone, even though the frequency might be off by a small amount. This is great stuff, thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18311
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're curious how IR signals work, they basically form a binary stream of 1s and 0s. In the case of the Panasonic signal, in Pronto hex, a 1 is "0010 0030" and a 0 is "0010 0010".

So, taking your D/A-CX signal as an example, you start with this:

Panasonic 144.64 F 208: D/A-CX
0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0ACD

then substituting for 1 and 0, you get this:
Panasonic 144.64 F 208: D/A-CX
0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0040 01000000 00000100 00001001 00000010 00001011 00000000 0010 0ACD
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
williamsdha



Joined: 02 Feb 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see; it's coming together a bit more now. I probably won't be cooking up my own codes anytime soon, but it feels great just knowing that there are databases of codes and ways to pump them into a Universal remote myself. I know that this is commonplace old-hat for you, but it's amazing to me that the data (when you think of it as granular as that) can make it across a well-lit room while barely even pointing the remote in the right direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central