JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Aris VIP4242 cable box (VIVO)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cerkeira



Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:48 pm    Post subject: Aris VIP4242 cable box (VIVO) Reply with quote

Hello friends!

My folks back in Brazil recently switched to a new cable box provider, and unfortunately I have not found a model for it in the SlingBox 500 configuration.

The cable provider is VIVO and the cable box model is VIP4242H (IPTV). It is made by Arris.

Is this enough information for one of you kind souls to put together a .BIN file for me?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Victor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3412
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All Arris boxes are 'badged' Motorola boxes so get them to check the Motorola VIP boxes first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cerkeira



Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alan,

Thanks for the fast reply. We've tried all 4 VIP Motorola boxes available from the Slingbox configuration application, plus a number of "Other" configurations (labelled "Code 0" to "Code 21"). Unfortunately, no cigar. I even had my folks put the SlingBox unit "face-to-face" with the cable box to make sure it had "line of sight". For every remote I picked, pressing the various buttons (on/off, channel up/down, etc.) just caused the streamed video to pause for a couple of seconds, but I think that was just due to the network command going over the wire.

Any other suggestions from the experts?

Thanks again for taking the time to help out!

Victor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3412
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pity. I'm not sure if I can help, as I get the IR Codes from the Logitech Harmony IR database and unfortunately the VIP 4242H has not made it on the database. There are 10 Motorola VIP boxes in the File Section and 2 Arris VIP boxes, Have you tried those ? If you do, the installation instructions are probably out-of-date so use the ones at http://www.rmrsoft.com/how_to_install_a_custom_remote_onto_the_slingbox.html

Or if you can pick up a cheap Logitech Harmony Remote off EBay we could use that to figure out the codes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skhantom



Joined: 02 Feb 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, has anyone found a solution to this remote. I am too struggling in finding a compatible BIN file for Arris VIP4242H. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Leonardo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 855

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a VIP4242H at GlobalCache's Control Tower.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18640
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the VIP4242H codes from GlobalCache and they appear to match the SagemCom DSTIH78 upgrade that we have here (ie, MCE protocol, device code 38.112), so try this file...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10768
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18640
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skhantom wrote:
Hi, has anyone found a solution to this remote. I am too struggling in finding a compatible BIN file for Arris VIP4242H. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Leonardo

Any luck with the file posted above?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central