JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Microsoft MCE Keyboard Remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I was able to capture these. They sure are easier to capture from a UEI sending the signals from an executor, vs the harmony!!!!

I grabbed the arrow keys Yours and the ones from original captures.
The final frame looks good, but no wonder the signals aren't working. These are unshifted keys.

I was thinking of redoing mine now that I don't have to use 4 bits and thinking of just using the 3 bits to select the byte from an array.
00000000, 00000001, 00000010, 00000100 or 00001000
I think I could do this in a lot less code than I have now, but probably a lot more than your efficient code.


Code:
LEARNED SIGNALS:
LEARNED RAW DATA:
#   Device Button   Key   Notes   Freq   Raw Timing Data
1   up Rob   36697   Repeat:   +2700;0010000000000000000000010100100001000 -71400
2   
3   Down Rob   36697   Repeat:   +2700;001001000000000000000001010000000101 +300 -71700;
4   
5   left left   36697   Repeat:   +2700;0010000000000000000000010100000000110 -71400
6
7   right Rob   36697   Repeat:   +2700;001001000000000000000001001110000100 +300 -71700;
8          36866   Once:   +2700;0010000000000000000000000000000000000 -131100


9   up   37558   Repeat:   +2700;0010000001000000000000101001000000000 -73200

14   down   38095   Once:   +2700;0010000001011000000000101000100000000 -73200
15
18   left   36529   Once:   +2700;0010000000110000000000101000000000000 -78300
19   
20   right   37037   Repeat:   +2700;0010000001001000000000100111100000000 -73200
21       36199   Once:   +2700;0010000000000000000000000000000000000 -131100

_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14693

Use the MCE.xls spreadsheet to calculate the codes to enter into KM. On the KM tab, you can enter the function name in column A, the OBC in column B and then enter a "1" in columns C-F if you want either of the cntl/shift/alt/windows modifiers to be active. Then copy the data from columns U-W into KM.

Just as an experiment for you, I created a code for CNTL+ALT+DELETE, which I assigned to the POWER button for you to test.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob, everything that was assigned worked, including CTRL+ALT+DELETE!!! I was wondering if your checksum was going to hold up for multiple modifier flags.

Very cool spreadsheet! Takes the tedium out of hand encoding.

I moved your file from the Diagnosis section to the keyboard section.

I was about to remove mine, but realized mine still has the mouse commands....
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated the zip file to include a new KM and PB file for a new mouse protocol. This one uses 3 variable bytes of data, which may seem bad, but it uses a lot less executor code.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14693

Basically, I set it to use an 8 bit device code and a 5-bit sub-device code, but I only provided 1 fixed byte. The checksum is the first variable byte, then in the executor, I increase the number of fixed bytes so it gets sent as a 5 bit code. The next 2 logical chunks of data are 7 bits each, so I tacked one of the "click" bits onto the front of each of them. Then in the executor, I copy the checksum data to the 3rd variable byte and complement it. Then I rotate the click bit out of each of the 1st two variable bytes and into the 2nd checksum byte.

Take a look at my PB files for each of the executors to see if you can follow what I did.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave it a try,
You might want to arrange the keys so it works out of the box.

0 Right Cick
1 Left UP 
2 UP 
3 Right Up 
4 Left 
5 Left Click 
6 Right 
7 Left Down 
8 Down 
9 Right Down

You also need to adjust the repeating. It only gives you 3 repeats when you hold the key and then it stops. Not cool for a mouse, especially when you are moving right to left and the increments are very small.

I'll study your PB when I do the JP1.2 version. Even studying the version that didn't work, I was able to cut 20 bytes form my SC380 version, so I know I'll learn a lot from your executor.

In the meantime I owe Graham some feedback, so that is going to be how I use my JP1 time.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
You might want to arrange the keys so it works out of the box.

My file is just in the Diagnosis Area for you to look at, you can re-package everything for an "official" release. Plus, of course, to make it official we really should get it added to protocols.ini so RMIR users can safely use it.

vickyg2003 wrote:
You also need to adjust the repeating. It only gives you 3 repeats when you hold the key and then it stops.

That's odd, I'm not controlling the repeating, I'm letting the IR engine do that. I'll have to check the settings.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky, can you double check that you're only seeing 3 repeats for the mouse buttons. I checked the protocol code and I don't see anything in there that limits the repeats. I'm used the main keyboard PB file as my starting point for this, so if the button-down portion of that repeats properly, this one should too.

Are you firing these directly from an upgrade with the functions assigned to buttons? You're not trying them from a macro or something?

And how are you judging that there's only 3 repeats? Are you observing it in how the device responds, or are you looking at it using IRScope or checking the flashes on a cell phone?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob I assume its 3, because if I right click anywhere, and then use the down arrow, it will go down once on a short press, if you hold it, it will go down 3 rows, and there appears to be a bit of a stutter in the movement that seems to indicate a break in the action. I used the PB from the KM sheet, I have not looked at the PB.txt file, so if you didn't copy your latest and greatest there, (that's what often happens to me), then I'm not using the correct protocol.

I thought I'd have a chance at this today, but I just got home after my DH forgot me at the autozone, with no purse, no phone. I walked 5 of the 6 miles home in the rain, before he came back and picked me up. Right now that D doesn't stand for dear, Mad. So needless to say I wasted a lot of time today.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
I thought I'd have a chance at this today, but I just got home after my DH forgot me at the autozone, with no purse, no phone. I walked 5 of the 6 miles home in the rain, before he came back and picked me up. Right now that D doesn't stand for dear, Mad. So needless to say I wasted a lot of time today.

OMG! He forgot you!!! I think it stands for deadmeat, lol!!!

So yeah, based on your description, I don't think it's the number of repeats, and you can verify that using IRScope if you like, I think it's probably the leadout time. Do you have an original remote that you can use to compare how that works?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only difference I can see between my executor and yours is a slight difference in the frequency, when you used your executor you didn't get that effect, right?

Here's a version with that corrected:

Upgrade protocol 0 = 01 01 (S3C8+) MCE Keyboard Mouse (PB v4.02)
47 90 13 8B 14 8E 85 10 08 07 00 96 00 82 00 96
00 82 15 18 05 46 00 00 05 20 10 E4 04 07 60 07
10 05 C0 07 10 06 C0 07 8D 01 46
End

I did have an old copy of the PB file in the zip, so I have replaced it:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14693
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The distance improved with the timing change, as well as the smoothness.

Something happens in IR after installing your device and protocol. I had problems with this yesterday, and just started over, but today I tried to put your device and protocol and then my device and protocol, and mine wouldn't work at all, until I did a 981 and then downloaded from the remote and reinstalled mine alone. And yes the protocols were different.

It appears my upgrade has the same problem as yours. It will move a ways, and then stop, until you press the button again.

I guess we would have needed more learns to figure out what is wrong with the mouse.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Signals shot directly from a harmony also have that short range of movement,
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed that the mouse protocol doesn't have an "up" portion sent after the main portion, you confirmed that that is correct, right?

Do we have any other source for learns of the mouse buttons?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I did the learns from the Harmony on the Mouse commands there were only these commands. There weren't any frame differences. The leadout time on the mouse clicks was different than the leadout time on the mouse movements, but the frames were the same in every other way. They are learns so if there is a toggle bit in there, it would be lost. Dave mentioned the BeverlyHoward did the original learns for Harmony, but I can't find any posts to support that in the forum. I did PM BeverlyHoward, but I don't know if he monitors is PM's in his emails or not. I know I don't, but then I'm here every day.


There are 5 bits that are comped in every frame.
lead in time +2700
lead out time -10800 on mouse movement
lead out time -74500 on mouse clicks.
zero -300, +300
one +300, -300

No up frames were observed
No toggles were observed.


00001000 01111 1111010 0000000 00 ~10000 ; UP
00001000 11110 0000110 0000000 00 ~00001 ; Down



Lefts
have 1111
00001000 01000 1111010 1111010 00 10111 ; Left UP
00001000 00001 0000000 1111011 00 11110 ; Left
00001000 10000 0000111 1111000 00 01111 ; Left Down

Rights have 0000
00001000 01110 1111011 0000101 00 10001 ; Right Up
00001000 01111 0000000 0000101 00 10000 ; Right
00001000 10000 0000101 0000101 00 01111 ; RightDown;

Ups have 1111s
00001000 01111 1111010 0000000 00 10000 ; UP
00001000 01000 1111010 1111010 00 10111 ; Left UP
00001000 01110 1111011 0000101 00 10001 ; Right Up

Downs have 0000s
00001000 11110 0000110 0000000 00 00001 ; Down
00001000 10000 0000111 1111000 00 01111 ; Left Down
00001000 10000 0000101 0000101 00 01111 ; RightDown;


Clicks With Mouse buttons
00001000 00011 0000000 0000000 01 11100 ; Left Click
00001000 00101 0000000 0000000 10 11010 ; Right Cick

There are 2 bits that appear to indicate which button are pressed.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Now with the Harmony the on times and off times are inconsistent, some times there are 10 sometimes 11 pulses in a 300 time. With a long press of the Right button on the harmony sometimes it moves .5cm, sometimes 1 cm sometimes 2 cm sometimes 3 cm.

On the other had with my protocol loaded, it moves a consistent 3 cm before it quits moving. I tried swapping the batteries, but that didn't make any difference. Perhaps those other bits need to change as the signal keeps going, or perhaps its just a matter of the leadout time not being correct.....
I've googled until my fingers want to fall off looking for something that explains the pattern I'm seeing, but so far nada.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: Florida

                    
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't read C but maybe this might have some useful info. It does refer to a media center mouse rc6-ish signal with a 5 bit header and 29 data bits. Maybe someone can read it.

https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/drivers/media/rc/ir-mce_kbd-decoder.c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Keyboards All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 9 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control