JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Problem with Atlas OCAP 1056 jp1.3 remote

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dominoman



Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:09 pm    Post subject: Problem with Atlas OCAP 1056 jp1.3 remote Reply with quote

Strange one if anybody has any suggestions. I have a few Atlas OCAP 1056 jp1.3 remotes. One has died for all intents and purposes. However if I plug the dead one into an FTDI cable I can upload and download to the remote. Also when it is connected to the PC and JP1 cable I can use the remote as normal no problem. As soon as I unplug it is unresponsive again. I have tried new batteries etc but onto no avail. Anybody any ideas as to what could be wrong with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:09 pm    Post subject: $8 what is your time worth? Reply with quote

$8 what is your time worth?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Time-Warner-Cable-Universal-Remote-5-DEVICE-TWC-ALAS-OCAP-1056B03/161935416459 Question
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominoman



Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:29 am    Post subject: Re: $8 what is your time worth? Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
$8 what is your time worth?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Time-Warner-Cable-Universal-Remote-5-DEVICE-TWC-ALAS-OCAP-1056B03/161935416459 Question


Unfortunately its the shipping of $24 to Europe that kills the $8 price making them $32 each!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 260
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:56 pm    Post subject: 20 Reply with quote

The fact that the remote works connected to the cable suggests
it doesnít get power from the batteries.
If the battery contacts arenít corroded you probably have a wire or circuit board trace damaged.
If you can find the damage you might be able to solder it.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 97
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if very old batteries were left in the remote for a long period of time it is possible that the battery terminals have corroded.

Try using a metal file to clean the connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central