JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Failed to open JP1.x interface but all debug tests pass!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Radagast_74

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:36 pm    Post subject: Failed to open JP1.x interface but all debug tests pass! Reply with quote

First of all, I am a Firmware Engineer and have access to quite a bit of advanced equipment. Just keep that in mind when suggesting things to try. I built the JP1.x interface from Tommys instructions. I am attempting to interface with a RadioShack 15-135. Since this is a JP1.3 remote, I ommited the extra parts when building the interface. On my laptop, using a direct serial cable, and running JP1xtest, I get "No JP1.x compatible remote found" and two quick blinks. I did the DTR test in Tommy's testing doc. I even hooked it up to an oscilloscope instead of a muli-meter to actually see the reset. It worked fine. Next I tried the loopback test. It passed no problem! "Testing 123" sent and recieved. I hooked it up to my desktop PC, direct serial as well, and upon running JP1xtest, I get "No JP1.x compatible remote found" and one long blink, then two quick blinks. I then tried a USB to serial converter with my JP1.x interface, and the results are the same as on the laptop with direct serial: "No JP1.x compatible remote found" and two quick blinks. Each time the JP1xtest is run, the remote is fully functional afterwards, no hang-ups. What do I do now? Thanks for any time spent attempting to help me, it is appreciated!
Capn Trips
Expert

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you plugging the cable in to your remote with the correct orientation?

Remotes: OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: LG 65" Smart LED TV; Samsung QN850BF Series - 8K UHD Neo QLED LCD TV