JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Power punch through for STB control
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3659

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just replaced the RDF with a zip of revised RDF, map and image.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14573

Quick question, what color is each of the ABCD buttons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3239

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To expand on mdavej's question, we need to know, in order from left to right, the colors of the colored buttons, and if they have any label like "A". The more recent manual shows them in order RGYB, but that doesn't match the button numbers I was expecting. csete, please record a macro on the "#" button with the 4 colored buttons again in order from left to right. I suspect these are the only buttons which have confused button numbers.

I've edited the RDF file to straighten out the Device Button numbers. We will need to edit the map file file or the RDF file depending on the results of the above requested macro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The color is RGYB left to right... I will put together a new RMIR with a macro as well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

csete wrote:
The color is RGYB left to right... I will put together a new RMIR with a macro as well...


Actually, my last RMIR file already has a macro with those buttons in order from left to right. It was STB, RGYB. I can create another if necessary, but let me know if the current RMIR fills the need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3239

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I want the additional macro, partly to confirm the button number of the "#" button. The main issue is that the macros assigned to the Macro1 and Macro2 buttons showed up as a Type 2 segment (multimacro), and I want to know if all buttons are capable of multimacros or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
Yes, I want the additional macro, partly to confirm the button number of the "#" button. The main issue is that the macros assigned to the Macro1 and Macro2 buttons showed up as a Type 2 segment (multimacro), and I want to know if all buttons are capable of multimacros or not.


Latest update with requested macro is at http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3659

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Map has A=red, B=green, C=yellow, D=blue, so it should be ok as is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Map has A=red, B=green, C=yellow, D=blue, so it should be ok as is.


So it is "done" at this point? Or are there more things you need to do consider it "done"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3659

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I consider the map and image to be done (the part you see on the Layout tab of RM when editing a Device). If all 3FG's concerns have been addressed, then the RDF is done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming the RDF is all ready to go... what is the best/easiest way to do what was my original goal? I want to make it so that while in STB device mode that the power button turns the TV on/off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3659

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to make a new Key Move on Power, STB mode for TV Power. Some remotes don't allow keymoves on Power though. Not sure if yours is like that or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csete



Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Try to make a new Key Move on Power, STB mode for TV Power. Some remotes don't allow keymoves on Power though. Not sure if yours is like that or not.


What happens if it isn't allowed? Just won't work or will I get some kind of warning or error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3659

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Won't work. Sanity check would be to also make the same key move to a different button we know should work for sure, like A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18278
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sometimes there are things that the remote won't let you do, which you can do using RMIR. In this case, we don't know if your remote supports keymoves at all, all we do know is that it doesn't appear to support them on the POWER button.

So, try a keymove using buttons other than the POWER button (eg, keymove the LEFT button to the RIGHT button, something like that) and then do a download. If that works, it confirms that keymoves work and then we can try programming one on the POWER button using RMIR.

Even if it doesn't work, we can still try programming a keymove using RMIR, as we have seen remotes that only support keymoves via RMIR, not via the remote.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3239

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we now have a working RDF/map file. I did add a line to the RDF to say that the remote supports Device Specific Macros because previous version did support DSMs. Anyway, I think it should be OK to upload to the remote.

Besides using a keymove, you may also try the Master Power Button function. If I read the manual correctly, assigning a macro to the Power button which contains only a press of the TV device button should cause the remote to send just TV Power On when the Power button is pressed in STB mode. If you do end up successfully doing this, I'd like to see the resulting RMIR file to see if this function involves a new segment type.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central