JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-6440 Assign EFC Code to Key ?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 670
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you first save the current settings.bin file on PC, I believe that, after using 9xx command 980/981, the same 'settings.bin' can be copied back to 6440 to restore the old configuration.

PS I might have remembered that the file needs to be copied by dragging it into the window for 6440, rather than cut and paste, but am not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3724

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranx wrote:
TomT, right, thanks. So the device (72) and subdevice (119) are different to mdavj's upgrade (0) and (16), but does that upgrade work too?

mdavej, if it does, is that because the 'fixed data' are also different?
4031 from Tom's file and the 4031 I got from OFA are both 0.16, not 72.119. I don't know where Tom's numbers are coming from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomT



Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Sorry if I've confused matters.

I got the values from selecting PVR, Edit Device and then reading the values from Setup - Protocol Parameters:

Device: 72
Sub Device: 119



I've only just realised the setup code shown on that page is different to the one I'm actually using..

What should I be looking at ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranx



Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 670
Location: Hants, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha, which illustrates that in RMIR the Devices tab shows devices for all the codes 'in' the remote, some of which may not have been assigned to any Device Button (those assignments being shown in the General tab).

On the same home page of RMIR, also look at the tabs for Keymoves, Macros, and Special Functions.
In each case you can set up a new function by clicking on the New button at the bottom of its page.
In the new special functions page, there is a drop down for 'Type', while unextended 6440 only offers DSM (Device Specific Macro).

With RMIR I think you can put macros and DSMs on more buttons than with 9xx. The 6440 Extender can be installed with or without using RMIR, although a more complicated setup really needs it.
The great advantages of JP1 with RMIR are that the experts can help and that you can see and edit everything on screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomT



Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the help and advice.
It's doing what I want at the moment so I'm going to leave it alone 😀
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central