JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Having JP1 amnesia
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible that I wired up the adapter in such a way that reads work and writes fail? Downloading from the remote works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. But it is odd you've only mentioned seeing green lights, never red. You should see both.

To be doubly sure, with the connector oriented so pin 1 is top right, you should have only 4 wires connected - top row, middle pin 3 black; bottom row right pin 2 yellow; bottom row middle pin 4 green; bottom row left pin 6 white.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
I don't think so. But it is odd you've only mentioned seeing green lights, never red. You should see both.

To be doubly sure, with the connector oriented so pin 1 is top right, you should have only 4 wires connected - top row, middle pin 3 black; bottom row right pin 2 yellow; bottom row middle pin 4 green; bottom row left pin 6 white.


That sounds right. The only thing I'm questioning (from memory) is whether white and yellow are swapped (RTS and RXD). I will definitely check that first thing when I get home.

I did see green and red on the USB end of the cable. I think the red was solid and the green was blinking, something like that. Or maybe the red was blinking so fast it appeared solid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My wires are configured exactly as you described.

When I upload, the red LED is always solid. At first the green LED flickers rapidly for about a second and a half, and then blinks rapidly (not as fast as a flicker) for a second and a half.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See if DIY will send you a replacement adapter. Have you confirmed that of all possible orientation combinations, only your current one downloads successfully?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
See if DIY will send you a replacement adapter. Have you confirmed that of all possible orientation combinations, only your current one downloads successfully?


Yeah, I assumed that 1 and 2 were across from each other, 3 and 4, and 5 and 6, just like the pins on the remote, so I tried all of the following

XBX
WGY

XBX
YGW

YGW
XBX

WGY
XBX

I think I even tried assuming each corner was pin 1 and going counter-clockwise! The permutation I have now is the only one where I could actually download and even get the popup about proceeding to upload.

I'll contact DIY and report back here.

Thanks again for all the time you've spent helping me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They replied with this, which for some reason I couldn't find before when looking for this info!

http://www.tiaowiki.com/w/JP1,_JP1.1,_JP1.2_and_JP1.3_Frequently_Asked_Questions

I am pretty sure I have it wired correctly, but I'll check (again) when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're certain it's wired correctly, then yours is defective.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I double checked my wiring, and it's exactly like their diagram and as you described. Now I have a new symptom. When I plug in the- adapter to the remote, my remote freezes. When I remove the plug, it resets.

If I turn the adapter 180 degrees, RMIR doesn't recognize that a remote is present.

I told them all of this in the ticket I opened. Hopefully a new adapter will resolve this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Freezing sounds like you have some wires crossed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, but I wired it exactly like their diagram. I am not even plugging the other end of the cable into my laptop, and just plugging in the socket end of the adapter to the remote causes it to freeze. Maybe I've damaged the cable from playing with it so much? It looks fine visibly.

I'm afraid I'm a lost cause. Maybe I just need to use an older computer with my old cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a challenge getting a 15 year old remote and cable working on Windows 10. Microsoft seems to go out of their way to break old hardware compatibility. Sticking with an old PC would certainly be the easiest option as long as you have those old remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having trouble with the old cable on Vista too.

Do you think I'd have better luck with a newer remote? What are good candidates these days? Maybe I'll just browse the threads to see what people are going with. I had a good run with these old 8910/9910s (12 years?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3693

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevo C2 is the best value these days, in my opinion. It will be much easier to program than your 9910 was. For RF, you'd need the more expensive Nevo C3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floyd1977



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Montgomery, IL

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Nevo C2 is the best value these days, in my opinion. It will be much easier to program than your 9910 was. For RF, you'd need the more expensive Nevo C3.


Thanks for the Nevo C2/C3 recommendation. I picked up a C3 on eBay for $70. The OFA software isn't too bad, but I was able to also tweak some stuff with RMIR, so it's nice to know I'll still be able to program it if the EZ-RC site ever goes away.

It's really easy to use, the display is great, and it has some features I didn't have before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central