JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Mark Levinson IR decodes
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using RM 2.02 Alpha 10 and IR 8.03 and when I copy this upgrade into the 8820 the protocol number doesn't come in right. I was having the same problem with my attempt where I was using 01FF for the protocol number. I don't know enough about the upgrade format but I do know that in IR its showing the first 2 numbers of the protocol id as the protcol AND that is the number that is being shown. In IR the protocol for this is being shown as 00 instead of 01, and its shooting Panasonic (old) which is pid 0000.

Is anybody not seeing this? If so what version of RM are you using?

Edit:

DOH!

I had my 8820 and thought I had my 8820N. The upgrade format changed between the two models, and I wasn't paying attention to the signature.

Doh and double Doh!
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.


Last edited by vickyg2003 on Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19463
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
looks like Rob has the zero's and one's reversed.

Good catch Vicky, I did indeed have them reversed, so I just fixed it.

I also have the same issue in RM where it changes the PID from $01FF to $0001 for no apparent reason and I can't see a way to force it back, but it looks like it should work anyway.

But just in case, I have also loaded the KM file that I used to create this upgrade. Just be aware that it doesn't import properly into RM, as RM drops the byte2 data.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13455
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks to both of you. I'll use the KM file, load it into IR, then to the remote. That should work, right? Then I'll see if IRScope's reads match the learned codes, and ship it off for testing.

You are geniuses.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19463
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but don't call us geniuses until you test it and it works! Smile
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ellen



Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 100
Location: East of the Rock, West of the Hard Place

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Thanks, but don't call us geniuses until you test it and it works! Smile


I think you guys are geniuses, even if jet has to come back for more help.

I don't need to change my remotes as I haven't had an equipment upgrade in ages. But I still read the forum most days. You guys never cease to amaze me with your prompt and expert help. So you'll always wear the genius badge in my eyes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, I think you meant to include this link in your post about the KM file:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9925

(I still think you are a genius.)
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The RM file was no good, but the KM file was good enough to fool IRScope. So I'll send this off to the Fortress of Amplitude for further testing. Thanks again. I'll know in about a week how well it works.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it:

HCS08 = 10820N
and
S3C8+ = RCP05B ?
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7055
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is correct. When you change remotes in KM, the protocol will mention which processor it is using.

In IR on the RAW page it will show you the processsor too.

The 10820n is the motorola (hcs08) processor.

When you get into the samsung processors it gets more confusing. There is the Samsung S3C8 (OLD EEPROM) then the newer versions used S3C8+ (LATER EEPROM) and now we have S3F8 (flash). The S3F8 (FLASH) and the S3C8+ use the same protocols. KM will put the S3C8+ in the protocol text for both S3C8+ AND S3F8 . RM will put the S3F80 in the protocol text for the S3F80.

I bet you didn't want this much information. haha. Wink
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19463
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jetstar52 wrote:
Is it:

HCS08 = 10820N
and
S3C8+ = RCP05B ?

Why do you need to know, or are you just curious? I ask because both KM and RM will chose the right protocol executor for you. So, don't copy the protocol code from the Notes box, copy it from the protocol executor box.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jetstar52



Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curiosity.
_________________
I used to have 5 remotes that controlled one thing each. Now I have 6 remotes that each control everything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central