JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Popbox - Slingbox

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bunklung



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:22 am    Post subject: Popbox - Slingbox Reply with quote

I would like to get a remote up and working for the Popbox. I was looking for a little help on this.

The Popcorn Hour is a similar device made by the same company as the Popbox.

This remote file exist and works partly for the Popbox:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=8445


Things that work for the Popbox:

RED
GREEN
YELLOW
BLUE
REW
FWD
PREV (known as instant replay)
NEXT (known as quick skip)
HOME (known as WHITE)
UP
DOWN
LEFT
RIGHT
OK
BACK (known as exit)
INFO
STOP
PAUSE
PLAY
VOLUME_UP (known as page up)
VOLUME_DOWN (known as page down)
MUTE
POWER

Things that do NOT work for the Popbox OR are not available as a button:
SEARCH (not shown or available)
PAGE_UP (controls volume)
PAGE_DOWN (controls volume)

Things that do NOT work, but are part of the Popcorn Hour remote (for information only):

Custom 10: Repeat
Custom 11: Source
Custom 13: Suspend
Custom 14: Standby
Custom 15: SubTitle
Custom 16: Timersee
Custom 17: TV Mode
Custom 18: Zoom
Custom 19: Caps
Custom 20: Filemode
Custom 21: Angle
Custom 27: Audio
Custom 28: Reboot
GUIDE
Channel +
Channel -
Last Channel
0-9 digits
Record
Seek forwards
Seek backwards
SETUP
Volume Up
Volume Down
Slow
Eject
Menu

Things that should be removed, because they are problematic for the Popbox if they were to stay:

Custom 12: Shutdown (this shuts down the Popbox and requires a power cycle. This is bad in remote situations)



http://forum.popbox.com/showthread.php?tid=364 (this info is posted by the manufacturer. I don't know if it will help)
RED 0xa05fcb04
GREEN 0xe11ecb04
YELLOW 0xa35ccb04
BLUE 0xe21dcb04
REW 0xf10ecb04
FWD 0xf20dcb04
PREV 0xed12cb04
NEXT 0xee11cb04
SEARCH 0xa45bcb04
HOME 0xf609cb04
UP 0xf906cb04
DOWN 0xf50acb04
LEFT 0xbc43cb04
RIGHT 0xfe01cb04
OK 0xfd02cb04
BACK 0xb847cb04
INFO 0xb44bcb04
STOP 0xb34ccb04
PAUSE 0xab54cb04
PLAY 0xaf50cb04
VOLUME_UP 0xb14ecb04
VOLUME_DOWN 0xad52cb04
MUTE 0xae51cb04
PAGE_UP 0xf30ccb04
PAGE_DOWN 0xf40bcb04
POWER 0xb54acb04

Can someone please help me with the creation of a remote file for the Popbox? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6562
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alan,
From the information the user posted it appears that this popbox needs

SEARCH OBC 91
PAGE_UP OBC 12
PAGE_DOWN OBC 11
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17669
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9806
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bunklung



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Try this file...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9806


Looks like everything is working. Menu key is working, and volume up and down is working from the menu. Search is working, but listed as "favorite" from the misc menu.


Just needs a bit of polish such as:

Black out on the controller, remove from the menu, and disable:
enter key (duplicate of HOME function)
channel down (duplicate of page up)
channel up (duplicate of page down)
last channel (no effect)

remove from the menu and disable:
clear (no effect)
setup (duplicate of HOME/MENU function)
external (No effect)

Can you change "favorite" to the white key?

Thanks again! You rock.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17669
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of the button duplication was deliberate, normally on a remote you don't care if there is more than one button that does the same thing, as the "intuitive" button might be different for different users. But it sounds like you would like each function to exist on one button, and one button only.

I assume you like having the HOME function on the MENU key, rather than the External or Setup keys. And I assume you want the SEARCH function on the WHITE key (as there isn't a "favorite" function for this device).

I have updated the file, same link as before.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bunklung



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thanks again. That new file works great. However, I took it one step further and eliminated the clear function/button and the last key function button:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9810

I updated the readme file too to include a bit more description and recognition to both you and Al.

I uploaded it as Popbox-3D-Alt.zip, but feel free to do with it as you may since it's so similar to your modified work an essentially a double post in the file section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aurrak



Joined: 24 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 5:20 am    Post subject: double click issue Reply with quote

Hi guys,

Thanks for uploading the remote files. It's working fine except for one major issue. The directional arrows are exhibiting the "double click" behavior. Each up/down arrow somehow triggers a double up or double down action.

I tried downloading the RemoteMaster app and messing around with the rmdu files, but I am not sure what setting to edit.

Any help please? Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've updated the BIN files now to set the repeat value to zero. Should be better ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17669
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=9810
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aurrak



Joined: 24 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:09 pm    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote

Thanks Alan!! The updated files work perfectly!

If you don't mind or if it's not too difficult, could you explain a little bit of which setting (in the RemoteMaster) represent the repeat count?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aurrak



Joined: 24 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried doing a binary diff on the files before and after and noticed a lot of bytes have changed.

RemoteMaster doesn't even load the new .rmdu with error 'No protocol found with name="NEC1 (No Repeats)", ID=01 FF, and variantName=""'

Anyway, it's probably out of my league. I was just curious how you came up with this magic!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6562
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Thanks! Reply with quote

aurrak wrote:
If you don't mind or if it's not too difficult, could you explain a little bit of which setting (in the RemoteMaster) represent the repeat count?

RemoteMaster doesn't even load the new .rmdu with error 'No protocol found with name="NEC1 (No Repeats)", ID=01 FF, and variantName=""'

Anyway, it's probably out of my league. I was just curious how you came up with this magic!


Many of our JP1 protocols needed to be adapted to clear up repeating problems for the slingboxes.

Remotemaster has a file called "protocols.ini" that can be customized to handle new protocols, or in this case variations that do not repeat. Alan has changed his ini file to have many of these non-repeating needed for the slingbox. Alan has posted the non repeating protocols in the slingbox workfiles folder.

If you modify your protocols.ini file you can inspect the differences more easily.

Its all really cool!

(oh sorry for butting in alan Smile )
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couldn't have put it better myself Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central