JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Programming for Panasonic 6UY Plasma on URC-8080

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Islanti



Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Orange County, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Programming for Panasonic 6UY Plasma on URC-8080 Reply with quote

I've been doing a lot of reading on these and other forums trying to figure out how to setup an old OFA to do discrete aspect ratio settings on my Panasonic TH-42PHD6UY plasma display. I understand the 6UY uses the same discrete aspect and power codes as the HD4 and 5UY models. I'm looking for the appropriate "push button" codes.

Here's why... I am using the URC to program my Sony RMAV3000 with discrete codes. I am trying to use the URC-8080 because I have one. I'd rather not buy a new OFA/RS remote, but I will if I must. I'd really rather not get into JP1 programming via PC.

I've been able to program discretes for power on all my Panasonic components, so I'm not a complete newbie. My understanding is that the 6UY display uses the following:

128.0 Device Code 250 for my TV
022 Discrete Power On
026 Discrete Power Off

128.4 Device Code xxx for my TV
178 Discrete Aspect - Normal
049 Discrete Aspect - Zoom
051 Discrete Aspect - Just
044 Discrete Aspect - Auto
113 Discrete Aspect - Full

I guess I just need to know the correct device code for Panasonic 128.4? I got the EFC values from one of the programming files posted to the Yahoo Groups file section for the HD4.
_________________
-Islanti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Programming for Panasonic 6UY Plasma on URC-8080 Reply with quote

Islanti wrote:
I am trying to use the URC-8080 because I have one. I'd rather not buy a new OFA/RS remote, but I will if I must. I'd really rather not get into JP1 programming via PC.

I guess I just need to know the correct device code for Panasonic 128.4? I got the EFC values from one of the programming files posted to the Yahoo Groups file section for the HD4.

There's no setup code that produces the Panasonic 128.4 device code, so without JP1 you are SOL I'm afraid. Buying a new OFA/RS remote won't help.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Islanti



Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Orange County, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a post here that suggests 637 or 650 would work on a newer remote. I suspect the URC-8080 doesn't fall into that category, though. Very Happy

Are you sure none of the current OFA/RS remotes will handle 128.4?

Thanks!
_________________
-Islanti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18312
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URC-8080 is definitely WAY too old to count. TV/0650 uses a 2-byte protocol, so it doesn't support advanced codes, and none of the 0637 codes that I know about use the Panasonic protocol, so unless James Gammel knows something that I don't, there aren't any remotes out there that can help you.

If you really don't want to get into JP1, I could program the codes into a new OFA remote for you. I sell modified URC_6131 remotes that I could add the code to for you.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Islanti



Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Orange County, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the information. I started looking into all of this to work around a problem on the Sony RMAV3000 side. I think I may have a solution to fix the problem there.

If that doesn't work out, I'll probably break down and buy a JP1 programming cable. I'm sure I can do the programming, it just seemed like a hassle for a few buttons. Smile
_________________
-Islanti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central